Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with green or partially green icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. You must be affiliated with Tech or on the Tech campus to access the article. If you find an article with only a citation provided (no full text), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan for free.
Complete list of Tech Databases
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including, scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. [ProQuest]
ProQuest Help Page
Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. At more than 160 journals and 8 million pages, the collection is JSTOR's largest, spanning more than 340 years of science history and research in the sciences. Disciplines include aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology. [JSTOR]
JSTOR Help Page
Off Campus Electronic Resource Access
Off-campus access to the library's databases and ebooks are limited to Tech students, faculty, and staff. Login with your Tech username and password when prompted. Some of our databases request that you create an account (RefWorks, LearningExpress, etc). Please do not use your Tech username/password to use these resources.
Using high quality, credible sources is important for getting good grades. Most professors will not accept Wikipedia articles, opinion blogs, or non-credible websites in your cited resources page. There are many ways to evaluate your sources.
Apply the CRAAP Test to your information (Meriam Library, California State University, Chico)
Evaluating Print Sources ...The Writing Center at UNC.
ProQuest Research Companion - Source Evaluation Aid (you must login with your Tech username/password if you off campus). Under Evaluate Information, select Source Evaluation Aid, the Periodical tab, and add in the journal title (or ISSN) of a periodical or the URL of an article. If it is a scholarly journal (according to Ulrich's) you will get a thumbs up sign. You will still need to evaluate the article you are using, but Ulrich's is a good source for information on academic journals.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. [ProQuest]
ProQuest RefWorks Help Page
Zotero is an easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and an academic social network. Manage your research, showcase your work, connect and collaborate with over five million researchers worldwide.
The Library has created a webpage with links to online style guides to help you cite your work.