It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click on the for more informaition about the website.
Free Internet Websites
Animal Diversity Web (ADW)Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
BEN (BioSciEdNet) PortalMore than 18,000 reviewed resources that cover vast and specialized topical areas within the life sciences.
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryMakes biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
CELLS aliveA highly visual site, you will find movies and animated illustrations on cell processes, parasites, etc.
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical DatabasesDr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical databases facilitate in-depth plant, chemical, bioactivity, and ethnobotany searches using scientific or common names. Search results can be downloaded in PDF or spreadsheet form. Of interest to pharmaceutical, nutritional, and biomedical research, as well alternative therapies and herbal products.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human BodyThe Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Horticulture CompendiumComprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on horticultural food crops
Invasive Species CompendiumDetailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and the environment worldwide
National Science Digital Library - Life SciencesThe National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
Nature - Online Video Streaming ArchiveNature Magazine presents streaming videos featuring interviews with scientists behind the research and analysis from Nature editors.
NIH 3D Print ExchangeThe NIH 3D Print Exchange provides models compatible with 3D printers related to biomedical science.
Endangered SpeciesU.S. Fish & Wildlife Service -- Endangered Species Program (U.S. Department of the Interior)
National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
National Science Foundation, Biological Sciences (BIO)BIO-supported research advances the frontiers of biological knowledge, increases our understanding of complex systems, and provides a theoretical basis for original research in many other scientific disciplines.
PLANTS DatabaseThe PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
Open Access Journals
Oceanus MagazineOceanus explores the oceans in depth, highlighting the research and researchers at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution in news, features, and interviews written by magazine staff, with full-color photographs and illustrations. Each issue covers a wide spectrum of oceanography, spanning coastal research, marine life, deep-ocean exploration, and the ocean's role in climate, as well as ocean technology and policy.
Professional Websites
American Institute of Biological SciencesThe American Institute of Biological Sciences is the national scientific organization that promotes the use of science to inform decision-making that advances biology for the benefit of science and society.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)he Society's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through publication of scientific and educational journals: the Journal of Biological Chemistry, Molecular & Cellular Proteomics, and the Journal of Lipid Research, organization of scientific meetings, advocacy for funding of basic research and education, support of science education at all levels, and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce.
Ecological Society of AmericaESA seeks to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public's level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; and increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science.
Society for Conservation BiologyThe Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is an international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity.
for more informaition about the website.
