It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A well-informed citizen should seek to analyze and understand the many sides of a controversial issue. While debates about controversial issues can be found across many social media platforms and websites, fact-based opinions by experts can be more difficult to find. Use the resources below to find viewpoints from experts, policy-makers, and professionals with fact-based opinions about controversial topics.
Using Opposing Viewpoints to find Viewpoints
Liberal and Conservative Publications
Need a counter-argument to your argument? Try searching for editorials in these popular magazines and newspapers who, according to AllSides.com, have a liberal or conservative bias. The bias within each publication is not a reflection of their accuracy or credibility. Additionally, the news stories themselves may or may not be written with a specific bias. However, look for editorials or opinion columns for the conservative or liberal opinions on issues and news.
Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. [ProQuest] SIRS Issues Researcher Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. [HeinOnline] U.S. Academic Core+ Help Page
Provides full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. [EBSCO] EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
How to Find Editorials and Opinions
Once you have found a news source or publication, use the "Search Within" features which appear in the library databases for your keyword terms. Pair these terms with the words, "Opinion", "Editorial", or "Perspective" to find opinion articles.
You can also look for Advanced Search option to limit results to Document Type "Editorials":
Depending on the database, you may see different options to browse or search. Within Ebsco branded databases, you'll need to click "Search Within This Publication" to find editorials and opinions.
You can also try searching for the words "Pros and Cons" or "Pro and Con" for opposing viewpoints, particularly within publications like the Congressional Digest:
Created by the International Debate Education Associates, this website features the 'debatabase' which includes hundreds of debates on a variety of topics. Each debate includes a section "Points For" and "Points Against" along with a list of cited sources.
These government publications are found in Academic Search Complete as individual periodicals. You can search within each publication for information related to congress, legislation, and the arguments on both sides of the issues.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
An educational and research facility whose mission includes, "to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world."
Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than a dozen states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.
A non-partison, non-profit organization that uses research and public engagement to foster progress on the issues people care about most. They issue surveys and reports on topics like healthcare, police reform, economic issues, and more.