Wildlife habitat management : concepts and applications in forestry by
In recent years, conflicts between ecological conservation and economic growth forced a reassessment of the motivations and goals of wildlife and forestry management. Focus shifted from game and commodity management to biodiversity conservation and ecological forestry. Previously separate fields such as forestry, biology, botany, and zoology merged into a common framework known as conservation biology and resource professionals began to approach natural resource problems in an interdisciplinary light. Wildlife Habitat Management: Concepts and Applications in Forestry presents an integrated reference combining silvicultural and forest planning principles with principles of habitat ecology and conservation biology. With extensive references and case studies drawn from real situations, this book begins with general concepts such as habitat selection, forest composition, influences on habitat patterns, and the dynamics of disturbance ecology. It considers management approaches for specific habitats including even-aged and uneven-aged systems, riparian areas, and dead wood and highlights those approaches that will conserve and manage biodiversity. The author discusses assessment and prioritization policies, monitoring techniques, and ethical and legal issues that can have worldwide impact. Detailed appendices provide a glossary, scientific names, and tools for measuring and interpreting habitat elements. Writing in a species-specific manner, the author emphasizes the need to consider the potential effects of management decisions on biodiversity conservation and maintains a holistic approach throughout the book. Drawing from the author#65533;s more than 30 years working and teaching in natural resources conservation, Wildlife Habitat Management: Concepts and Applications in Forestry provides a synopsis of current preservation techniques and establishes a common body of knowledge from which to approach the conservation of biodiversity in the future.
Biology and Mangement of White-Tailed Deer by
Winner of the Wildlife Society Outstanding Edited Book Award for 2013! Winner of the Texas Chapter of The Wildlife Society Outstanding Book Award for 2011! Winner of a CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title Award for 2011! Biology and Management of White-tailed Deerorganizes and presents information on the most studied large mammal species in the world. The book covers the evolutionary history of the species, its anatomy, physiology, and nutrition, population dynamics, and ecology across its vast range (from central Canada through northern South America). The book then discusses the history of management of white-tailed deer, beginning with early Native Americans and progressing through management by Europeans and examining population lows in the early 1900s, restocking efforts through the mid 1900s, and recent, overabundant populations that are becoming difficult to manage in many areas. Features: Co-published with the Quality Deer Management Association Compiles valuable information for white-tailed deer enthusiasts, managers, and biologists Written by an authoritative author team from diverse backgrounds Integrates white-tailed deer biology and management into a single volume Provides a thorough treatment of white-tailed deer antler biology Includes a CD-ROM with color images The backbone of many state wildlife management agencies' policies and a featured hunting species through much of their range, white-tailed deer are an important species ecologically, socially, and scientifically in most areas of North America. Highly adaptable and now living in close proximity to humans in many areas, white-tailed deer are both the face of nature and the source of conflict with motorists, home-owners, and agricultural producers. Capturing the diverse aspects of white-tailed deer research,Biology and Management of White-tailed Deeris a reflection of the resources invested in the study of the species' effects on ecosystems, predator-prey dynamics, population regulation, foraging behavior, and browser physiology.
Resolving human-wildlife conflicts : the science of wildlife damage management by
As more and more people crowd onto less and less land, incidences of human-wildlife conflicts will only increase. A comprehensive overview of this emerging field, Resolving Human-Wildlife Conflicts: The Science of Wildlife Damage Management discusses the issues facing wildlife managers and anyone else dealing with interactions between wildlife and humans. By defining the discipline of wildlife damage management, this book fills a void in the fields of wildlife management and ecology. The director of the Jack H. Berryman Institute, the only academic institute devoted to wildlife damage management, author Michael Conover is the leader in this field. In this book, he stresses the inter-relatedness of wildlife damage management within the larger discipline of wildlife conservation and provides an extensive review of the scientific literature. He includes case-studies that document how an integrated approach to wildlife management can resolve wildlife-human conflicts. Nowhere else will you find the authoritative coverage and depth of theoretical information available in Resolving Human-Wildlife Conflicts: The Science of Wildlife Damage Management. The combination of descriptive prose, historical details, and liberal use of informative sidebars add to its appeal as a textbook, while the organization and scope make it the ideal reference for professionals.
The Wildlife Techniques Manual by
Since its original publication in 1960, The Wildlife Techniques Manual has remained the cornerstone text for the professional wildlife biologist. Now fully revised and updated, this seventh edition promises to be the most comprehensive resource on wildlife biology, conservation, and management for years to come. Superbly edited by Nova J. Silvy, the thirty-seven authoritative chapters included in this work provide a full synthesis of methods used in the field and laboratory. Chapter authors, all leading wildlife professionals, explain and critique traditional and new methodologies and offer thorough discussions of a wide range of relevant topics, including: * experimental design * wildlife health and disease * capture techniques * population estimation * telemetry * vegetation analysis * conservation genetics * wildlife damage management * urban wildlife management * habitat conservation planning A standard text in a variety of courses, the Techniques Manual, as it is commonly called, covers every aspect of modern wildlife management and provides practical information for applying the hundreds of methods described in its pages. To effectively incorporate the explosion of new information in the wildlife profession, this latest edition is logically organized into a two-volume set: Volume 1 is devoted to research techniques and Volume 2 focuses on management methodologies. The Wildlife Techniques Manual is a resource that professionals and students in wildlife biology, conservation, and management simply cannot do without. Published in association with The Wildlife Society
Wildlife and society : the science of human dimensions by
Winner of The Wildlife Society's 2009 Wildlife Publication Award for outstanding edited book As human populations around the world continue to expand, reconciling nature conservation with human needs and aspirations is imperative. The emergence in recent decades of the academic field of human dimensions of fish and wildlife management is a proactive response to this complex problem. Wildlife and Society brings together leading researchers in the range of specialties that are relevant to the study of human dimensions of fish and wildlife work around the globe to provide theoretical and historical context as well as a demonstration of tools, methodologies, and idea-sharing for practical implementation and integration of practices. Chapters document the progress on key issues and offer a multifaceted presentation of this truly interdisciplinary field. The book * presents an overview of the changing culture of fish and wildlife management; * considers social factors creating change in fish and wildlife conservation; * explores how to build the social component into the philosophy of wildlife management; * discusses legal and institutional factors; * examines social perspectives on contemporary fish and wildlife management issues. Wildlife and Society is uniquely comprehensive in its approach to presenting the past, present, and future of human dimensions of fish and wildlife research and application. It offers perspectives from a wide variety of academic disciplines as well as presenting the views of practitioners from the United States, Europe, Africa, and Latin America. It is an important new reference for anyone concerned with fish and wildlife management or environmental conservation and protection.
The Philosophy and Practice of Wildlife Management by
Systems and examples from both the United States and Canada share the page in a text that presents an approach that is truly North American. Native American land claims and rights to wildlife resources, the wildlife problems associated with less developed countries, and the role parasites and diseases have on wildlife populations are discussed. Included are sections on endangered species, species management, environmental impact assessment, socioeconomic issues, management approaches and legislation and jurisdiction. This third edition emphasizes the social context of wildlife management. It addresses difficult issues with fact and case studies that should be useful to professionals as well as help prepare students intending to enter natural resource professions.
Transforming the Fisheries by
There is now widespread agreement that fish stocks are severely depleted and fishing activity must be limited. At the same time, the promise of the green economy appears to offer profitable new opportunities for a sustainable seafood industry. What do these seemingly contradictory ideas of natural limits and green growth mean in practice? What do they tell us more generally about current transformations to the way nature is valued and managed? And who suffers and who benefits from these new ecological arrangements? Far from abstract policy considerations, Patrick Bresnihan shows how new approaches to environmental management are transforming the fisheries and generating novel forms of exclusion in the process. Transforming the Fisheries examines how scientific, economic, and regulatory responses to the problem of overfishing have changed over the past twenty years. Based on fieldwork in a commercial fishing port in Ireland, Bresnihan weaves together ethnography, science, history, and social theory to explore the changing relationships between knowledge, nature, and the market. For Bresnihan, many of the key concepts that govern contemporary environmental thinking--such as scarcity, sustainability, the commons, and enclosure--should be reconsidered in light of the collapse of global fish stocks and the different ways this problem is being addressed. Only by considering these concepts anew can we begin to reinvent the ecological commons we need for the future.
Fishery Management by
Fisheries management draws on fisheries science in order to find ways to protect fishery resources so sustainable exploitation is possible. This book presents topical research in the study of fishery management including coral reef fisheries under threat from overfishing; implementing population viability analysis into fisheries management; machine learning analysis for fisheries research; the marine fisheries policy in Nigeria and evaluating the recovery plan for European hake fishery.
Improving GIS-Based Wildlife - Habitat Analysis by
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) provide a powerful tool for the investigation of species-habitat relationships and the development of wildlife management and conservation programs. However, the relative ease of data manipulation and analysis using GIS, associated landscape metrics packages, and sophisticated statistical tests may sometimes cause investigators to overlook important species-habitat functional relationships. Additionally, underlying assumptions of the study design or technology may have unrecognized consequences. This volume examines how initial researcher choices of image resolution, scale(s) of analysis, response and explanatory variables, and location and area of samples can influence analysis results, interpretation, predictive capability, and study-derived management prescriptions. Overall, most studies in this realm employ relatively low resolution imagery that allows neither identification nor accurate classification of habitat components. Additionally, the landscape metrics typically employed do not adequately quantify component spatial arrangement associated with species occupation. To address this latter issue, the authors introduce two novel landscape metrics that measure the functional size and location in the landscape of taxon-specific 'solid' and 'edge' habitat types. Keller and Smith conclude that investigators conducting GIS-based analyses of species-habitat relationships should more carefully 1) match the resolution of remotely sensed imagery to the scale of habitat functional relationships of the focal taxon, 2) identify attributes (explanatory variables) of habitat architecture, size, configuration, quality, and context that reflect the way the focal taxon uses the subset of the landscape it occupies, and 3) match the location and scale of habitat samples, whether GIS- or ground-based, to corresponding species' detection locations and scales of habitat use.
Restoring Wildlife : Ecological Concepts and Practical Applications by
Restoration plans must take into account the needs of current or desired wildlife species in project areas. Restoring Wildlife gives ecologists, restorationists, administrators, and other professionals involved with restoration projects the tools they need to understand essential ecological concepts, helping them to design restoration projects that can improve conditions for native species of wildlife. It also offers specific guidance and examples on how various projects have been designed and implemented. The book interweaves theoretical and practical aspects of wildlife biology that are directly applicable to the restoration and conservation of animals. It provides an understanding of the fundamentals of wildlife populations and wildlife-habitat relationships as it explores the concept of habitat, its historic development, components, spatialtemporal relationships, and role in land management. It applies these concepts in developing practical tools for professionals. Restoring Wildlife builds on the foundation of material presented in Wildlife Restoration, published by Island Press in 2002, offering the basic information from that book along with much updated material in a reorganized and expanded format. Restoring Wildlife is the only single source that deals with wildlife and restoration, and is an important resource for practicing restorationists and biologists as well as undergraduate and graduate students in wildlife management, ecological restoration, environmental science, and related fields.
International Fisheries Management by
In 2006 Congress recognised the need for international cooperation to address some of the most significant issues affecting international fisheries today: illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing and fishing practices that may undermine the sustainability of living marine resources. In 2010, Congress focused on the need for enhanced international action to conserve and protect sharks in passing the Shark Conservation Act. By requirement, the Secretary of Commerce, in biennial reports, is to identify nations whose fishing vessels are engaged in certain IUU fishing, bycatch, and shark fishing practices; describe U.S. consultations with the identified countries to urge appropriate actions; and certify whether such actions subsequent to identification have adequately addressed the offending activities. The Secretary of Commerce has delegated authority to identify and certify countries under the Moratorium Protection Act to the NOAA Assistant Administrator for Fisheries. The Secretary of Commerce is also directed, in consultation with the Secretary of State and in cooperation with relevant regional fishery management councils and any relevant advisory committees, to take certain actions to improve the effectiveness of international fishery management organizations in conserving and managing stocks under their jurisdiction. This book surveys efforts by the United States to strengthen its leadership toward improving international fisheries management and enforcement, particularly with regard to IUU fishing, bycatch of protected living marine resources (PLMRs), and certain shark fishing practices. Furthermore, this book covers issues that have been identified during congressional hearings and in legislation introduced during the last three Congresses, some of which include the flexibility in rebuilding overfished fisheries; annual catch limits; uncertainty and data needs; catch shares (limited access privilege programs); management process and decision making; bycatch; and environmental quality.
Advances in Aquaculture Hatchery Technology by
Aquaculture is the fastest-growing food production sector in the world. With demand for seafood increasing at astonishing rates, the optimization of production methods is vital. One of the primary restrictions to continued growth is the supply of juveniles from hatcheries. Addressing these constraints, Advances in aquaculture hatchery technology provides a comprehensive, systematic guide to the use of current and emerging technologies in enhancing hatchery production. Part one reviews reproduction and larval rearing. Aquaculture hatchery water supply and treatment systems, principles of finfish broodstock management, genome preservation, and varied aspects of nutrition and feeding are discussed in addition to larval health management and microbial management for bacterial pathogen control. Closing the life-cycle and overcoming challenges in hatchery production for selected invertebrate species are the focus of part two, and advances in hatchery technology for spiny lobsters, shrimp, blue mussel, sea cucumbers and cephalopods are all discussed. Part three concentrates on challenges and successes in closing the life-cycle and hatchery production for selected fish species, including tuna, striped catfish, meagre, and yellowtail kingfish. Finally, part four explores aquaculture hatcheries for conservation and education. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Advances in aquaculture hatchery technology is an authoritative review of the field for hatchery operators, scientists, marine conservators and educators. Provides a comprehensive guide to the use of technologies in enhancing hatchery production Examines reproduction and larval rearing, including genetic improvement and microdiets Discusses challenges in hatchery production of specific species
Freshwater Ecosystems and Aquaculture Research by
Freshwater ecosystems, such as lakes, rivers, ponds and wetlands are a precious and critically important form of natural resource. This book highlights the need for a strong scientific approach to biomonitoring and conservation of fresh waters and identifies key shortcomings in the present approach. Pertinent examples of this come from the rapid advances made recently on the relationship between biodiversity and ecosystem processes and in food web research, neither of which have so far informed monitoring and management practices. This book also reviews and describes the morphology and material translocation of emergent plants under a set of different environmental conditions, namely, seasonal, spatial, sediment, water depth and harvesting. Furthermore, the environmental impact of phosphorus (P) waste from the aquaculture industry is increasingly a matter of concern in Japan and elsewhere around the world. This book provides nutritional approaches for the reduction of phosphorus waste from yellowtail, one of the highest of any farmed fish species. Other chapters in this book include a review of the benefits of fish embryo cryopreservation for aquaculture and conservation purposes, a discussion of the position of life-history strategies in community ecology, a comparison of the top-down and bottom-up control philosophies for the food chain model so that the most effective management can be identified, the role of systems theory in sustainable management of freshwater systems and ecosystems and a discussion of the present problems that are related to water and sanitation in Sudan.
The books in the library are shelved by Dewey Decimal Classification (like what is used in most school and public libraries). Sometimes you can find books you did not know about by browsing the shelves. The books in the biological sciences are shelved under the following numbers:
570 Biology
580 Plants
590 Animals (Zoology)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that locates and obtains books, articles, & audio/visual items that are not part of Tech's collections. Available to currently enrolled students, staff, & faculty whose library account is in good standing.
Sign in with your Tech username and password.
Use WorldCat, a catalog of books available in libraries all over the world, to find books not found at Tech. Use the information to request items.
ARKLink is a group of college and university libraries in Arkansas who share library resources with students of member libraries. Click above for more information and participating libraries.
Cards are available to Tech students, faculty, and staff whose library accounts are in good standing. They are valid for one semester. Go to Circulation Desk with your ID to pick one up OR use the button below and a card will be issued and mailed OR email library@atu.edu.
