Research Guides Home: Arkansas Governor's School: Home

Welcome to the Arkansas Governor's School Library Guide!

Welcome to this special guide to library resources for Arkansas Governor's School students, faculty, and staff. All of the databases, videos, and ebooks included in this guide are freely available to anyone on campus at Arkansas Tech University. Many of these resources are available thanks to the Arkansas Traveler Project, funded by the Arkansas State Library and the Institute of Museums and Library Services.

Feel free to browse resources by subject:

Drama English / Language Arts Mathematics 

Music Natural Sciences Social Sciences Visual Art

Videos and Films

Controversy and Current Events

Arkansas Governor's School is a place you will discuss, challenge, and debate the social problems of our time. Here are few resources to help you find the facts, get some perspective, and stay updated as events unfold.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today’s social issues. Provides pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistics, articles, and images.

SIRS Issues Researcher
Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
AllSides.org
A clearinghouse of different sources of information on a topic, including right and left media sources. Their mission: Strengthen our democracy by freeing people from filter bubbles so they can better understand the world — and each other. If you find a topic, it offers reliable background information, opinion pieces from news sources, and rolling newsfeed about different topics on the right, left, and center. Their site is free (funded by donations), but the content may link to resources behind a paywall (like The Nation, or Washington Post).
ProCon.org
Non-profit organization that organizes statements and resources on controversial issues into "pro/con" style content.
ProCon.org Videos
Video analysis and debates on controversial topics. Created by ProCon.org, a non-profit, non-partisan organization that organizes statements and resources on controversial issues into "pro/con" style content.
Politifact
A non-profit, independent fact-checking service evaluating a variety of media content including political statements, viral social media images, Tweets from politicians, and more.
U.S. Newsstream
Don't let paywalls stop you! This database provides the most recent premium U.S. news content, including archives as far back as the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada. Collection includes African Newsstream, Asian Newsstream, Australia & New Zealand Newsstream, European Newsstream, Latin American Newsstream, Middle East Newstream.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Bilingual, English and Spanish, comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Supreme Court Debates
Spotlights a current case before the U.S. Supreme Court. Follows, analyzes & reports what's going on in our highest courts.
International Debates
Pro & Con analysis of current issues before the United Nations & other international forums.
The Conversation
Providing in-depth analysis written by academic experts on a variety of current even topics.
RAND Reports
A partially government funded think tank responsible for in-depth reports and studies in order to help guide effective policy-making. Explore more than 25,000 RAND publications, most of which are available as free eBook downloads, dating back to 1946.
EveryCRSReport
Every report from Congress’s think tank, the Congressional Research Service. These reports provide valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate.
Intelligence Squared Debates [Youtube channel]
A series of video debates between experts on a variety of topics. It seeks to raise the level of public discourse in an environment where meaningful conversations (and disagreements) can occur.

General Databases

Google got you down? Do you find Wikipedia weak? Try these sources for scholarly, reputable information to help you feel and sound smart in virtual chatrooms or physical classrooms.

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Biographies of influential people around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, indexing /abstracts, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
JSTOR Journals and Primary Sources collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Proquest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 39 databases that can be searched together or individually. Find millions of articles on just about anything.
eLibrary: Guided Research Interface
Provides access to eLibrary's periodical and digital media collection through a user interface specifically designed for student researchers. Organized by research topic.
Google Scholar
One of the largest sources for scholarly citations in the world. Includes academic article, dissertations, master's theses, and other scholarly sources of information. Not everything is free--do not pay for articles until you have talked to your librarian!

Sources for Public Opinion

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
An educational and research facility whose mission includes, "to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world."
The Quinnipiac University Poll
Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than a dozen states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.
The Public Agenda
A non-partison, non-profit organization that uses research and public engagement to foster progress on the issues people care about most. They issue surveys and reports on topics like healthcare, police reform, economic issues, and more.

Looking for a good book?

Here are some free sources of ebooks and audiobooks to help get you started on your summer reading.

Worldcat
One of the largest databases in the world for published books. Search for a book and then find the library near you who owns it. Use this international database of books, videos, ebooks, and more to find out which library in your neighborhood can lend you a copy.
eBook Central
Collection from ProQuest providing access to authoritative ebooks from the world's top publishers on a range of subjects: arts, business management, education, general knowledge, health & medicine, history & political science, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology, and social science.
more...less...
Database provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Project Gutenberg
This is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Open Library
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Most books also be listened to as an audiobook.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Includes millions of freely accessible ebooks.

Arkansas Governor's School

Subject Liaison

Do you need to study for the ACT?

Have you met Research Companion?

Using Opposing Viewpoints to find Viewpoints

Liberal and Conservative Publications

Conservative Point-of-View Publications

Liberal Point-of-View Publications

Welcome to the Arkansas Governor's School Library Guide!

Controversy and Current Events

General Databases

Sources for Public Opinion

Looking for a good book?