services/students/undergraduates

services/students/undergraduates: Home

Home arrow icon Services for Students

Click on a service to learn more about it.
Audio Lab
The Audio Lab is open to current ATU students where they can record their voice for podcasts or film narrations, record their piano or guitar playing, mix beats and pop songs, and post-produce pre-recorded audio files with high quality mastering software. Learn more.
Book It!
Reserve a study room for up to two hours per day. You can also reserve the Audio Lab or the Video Lab. Select the appropriate location in the "Location" dropdown. The system has a 24 hour wait between bookings. The study rooms are equipped with a PC and a white board. Dry erase markers, webcams, and headsets are available at circulation for check out. Book it!
Book Scanner
The book scanner allows you to scan book pages and send them to your email as PDF. It is located in RPL129, next to the Tech Learning Center.
Calculators
The Circulation Desk holds TI-30XS, TI-82, TI-83, TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-84 Plus CE, TI-84 Plus Silver, and TI-86 calculators. Check them out for a 24-hour period.
Circulation Desk
The Circulation Desk is staffed from opening to closing time. Someone can help you with checking out, returning, or renewing materials, but also with finding a book or other item. They also can assist you with basic issues related to printing and network access, or adding money to your card.
Computer Stations
There are computer stations available on all three floors of the library. The first and second floors offer virtual stations which offer access to all generic software such as Microsoft suite and Adobe applications. The third floor offers real PCs and Mac computers. The PCs include specific programs not available on the virtual stations.
Course Reserves
Course Reserves (books, magazines, DVDs) are class materials held at the Circulation Desk. Books and magazines can be chaecked out for a period of 2 hours with use only in the library. DVDs can be checked out for a period of 4 hours and can be used in or outside the library. Professors have selected those materials to allow all their students to have access to them.
Faculty must go to the Circulation Desk to place those physical items in the Course Reserves.
Students can check them out for a period of 2 hours. These items can only be used within the library.
Curriculum Work Center
The Curriculum Work Center includes die cut shapes that can be used on colored paper or light cardboard. Letters and numbers are just a few of the collection of shapes offered. It also offers a laminator that is two feet wide. A laminating job costs $1.00 per linear foot.
Document Copier / Scanner
There is a Document Copier / Scanner in RPL 129 (next to the Tech Learning Center) and one on the second floor, by the Compact Shelving, the Audio Lab, and the Video Lab. It allows you to copy anything. Better yet, you can scan some document and either print it or send it to your email in PDF format.
Dry Erase Markers
Dry erase markers are available at the Circulation Desk. They can be borrowed along a dry erase board on wheels or to be used in a study room. All study rooms include a dry erase board. Check-out for 2 hours for in-library use.
Find it...
Start your research with Find it..., the library scholarly search engine accessible from the library homepage.
Headphones
Headphones are available at the Circulation Desk. They can be borrowed for a 4-hour period and used within the library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan allows Tech students and faculty to borrow a book or to get an article from another library if the Tech library does not have direct access to it. One will be notified when the item arrives and will be able to pick it up at the Reference Desk. No need to travel! Learn more.
Lactation Room
The library offers a lactation room. It is located on the first floor by the study rooms (north-east corner of the library).
Laminator
The laminator can laminate surfaces up to two feet wide and costs $1.00 per linear foot. Ask the Reference Desk for assistance.
Laptops
From Monday to Friday, students can borrow a laptop from the Circulation Desk for a 1-week period (renewable). The student must sign a contract before they borrow the laptop.
Media Lab
In the Media Lab, students can compose, print, playback, and record original music electronically; digitize analog recordings; develop aural skills through interactive programs; create marching band drills; edit and burn existing digital music; as well as listen to and watch multimedia titles. Learn more.
Media Production Labs Website
The Media Production Labs website is the virtual portal to three physical labs managed by Dr. Lowell Lybarger, Multimedia librarian. Learn more about the Audio Lab (located on the second floor in RPL 204), the Video Lab (located on the second floor in RPL 203), and the Media Lab (located on the second floor in RPL 210) by visiting the MPL website.
Office Supplies
Office supplies, such as three-hole punchers, scissors, stapplers, paper cutters are available on the first floor at the Reference Desk, on the second floor by the scanner / copier machine (near the service desk), and on the third floor at the Technology Center desk.
Printers
There are two black and white printers on each floor of the library. In addition, there is a color printer on the first floor and one on the third floor.
A print job must be sent to the printer named Universal Print Queue from any computer in the library. One can then log in into the printer release station of their choice and print the job.
$20.00 are placed on every student account at the start of every semester for printing. Black and white print jobs are charged $0.10 per page. Color print jobs are charged $0.30 per page.
When you run out of money, you can add funds to your Tech ID. Use the PHIL Station found at the south end of the Circulation Desk. This machine only accepts bills.
Public Study Areas
There are public study areas (tables and chairs, no computer stations) on each floor of the library. Most are located on the second floor, which is also the quiet floor. All four-chair tables have an electric outlet located in the table lamp's foot.
On the first floor, the Tech Learning Center (located near the south entrance) offers settings for small group cooperative work.
The south area of the third floor also offers small group cooperative work areas.
Reference Desk
The Reference Desk is located on the first floor, near the north entrance. It is where one goes to receive in-person research help, retrieve an item requested through Interlibrary Loan, or get first level help for any issues related to printing or computer access.
On a regular semester weekday, the desk offers its services between 8am and 10pm (Fridays from 8am to 6pm).
For research, you can always visit the Ask Us webpage. And the Reference Desk is reachable by phone at (479) 964-0570, by text at (479) 802-4876, or by email at askus@atu.libanswers.com.
Restrooms (female, male, unisex)
There are restrooms on each floor. On the first floor, they are located near the north entrance. On the second and third floors, they are located behind the elevators.
The unisex restroom is located in the north entrance lobby.
Software
All software available on a library computer or virtual machine located in the library are listed under the title "Common Image" and any title icluding RPL on the OIS Software webpabe. CTRL + F for RPL will retrieve quickly the information.
Streaming Audio
The Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 171,982 CDs with more than 2,689,412 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new titles are being added to the library each month.
The Naxos Spoken Word Library is a collection of Literature and poetry, best sellers and classics from medieval times to the twenty-first century titles. Many original productions supplement a range of non-fiction; a variety of unabridged and skillfully abridged audiobooks.
Streaming Video
Several library databases offer video streaming:
  • Access Engineering offers instructional faculty made videos
  • Digital Theater Plus provides full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, and musicals. There are behind the scenes clips from theatre makers and study guides to help students understand plot, character, language, etc.
  • Kanopy is a video-streaming platform dedicated to thoughtful and thought-provoking films.
  • The PBS Video Collection is an Alexander Street Press collection that provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
  • Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind: over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows.
Video Lab
The Video Lab is a state-of-the-art maker-space for video capture, still photography, post-production, and virtual/mixed reality. Learn more.