Physics

Advanced Electromagnetic Theory by Arnab Rai Choudhuri

Classical Electrodynamics by Francesco Lacava

Differential Geometry and Mathematical Physics pt. 1: Manifolds, Lie Groups and Hamiltonian Systems by Gerd Rudolph; Matthias Schmidt

Differential Geometry and Mathematical Physics pt. 2: Fibre Bundles, Topology and Guage Fields by Gerd Rudolph; Matthias Schmidt

Electromagnetism by Hiqmet Kamberaj

Feynman Integrals by Stefan Weinzierl

Field Theoretic Method in Phase Transformations by Alexander Umantsev

Introduction to Quantum Computing with Q# and QDK by Filip Wojcieszyn

Physical Optics by Giovanni Giusfredi

Probability and Random Variables for Electrical Engineering by Muammer Catak; Tofigh Allahviranloo; Witold Pedrycz

Special Relativity in General Frames by Éric Gourgoulhon

String Theory in a Nutshell by Elias Kiritsis The essential introduction to modern string theory--now fully expanded and revised String Theory in a Nutshell is the definitive introduction to modern string theory. Written by one of the world's leading authorities on the subject, this concise and accessible book starts with basic definitions and guides readers from classic topics to the most exciting frontiers of research today. It covers perturbative string theory, the unity of string interactions, black holes and their microscopic entropy, the AdS/CFT correspondence and its applications, matrix model tools for string theory, and more. It also includes 600 exercises and serves as a self-contained guide to the literature. This fully updated edition features an entirely new chapter on flux compactifications in string theory, and the chapter on AdS/CFT has been substantially expanded by adding many applications to diverse topics. In addition, the discussion of conformal field theory has been extensively revised to make it more student-friendly. The essential one-volume reference for students and researchers in theoretical high-energy physics Now fully expanded and revised Provides expanded coverage of AdS/CFT and its applications, namely the holographic renormalization group, holographic theories for Yang-Mills and QCD, nonequilibrium thermal physics, finite density physics, and entanglement entropy Ideal for mathematicians and physicists specializing in theoretical cosmology, QCD, and novel approaches to condensed matter systems An online illustration package is available to professors

Advances in Thermodynamics Research by Joseph A. Cobb (Editor) This book consists of three chapters that each describe recent advancements in the field of thermodynamics, which is a branch of physics that deals with heat, work, and temperature. Chapter One provides a calculated confirmation of the theoretical positions of the concept of non-equilibrium and its mathematical apparatus using examples of determining the loss of non-equilibrium of adiabatic and isolated systems. Chapter Two focuses on the thermodynamic behavior of hydrophobic non-electrolyte tetramethylurea (TMU) and well-established hydrophilic non-electrolyte urea (U) in three solvents forming a three-dimensional H-bond network on a supramolecular level viz. water, ethylene glycol (EG) and formamide (FA). Chapter Three introduces the concept of generalized entropy and discusses some of its properties.

Age-Dating Stars by Maurizio Salaris The determination of stellar ages has been - and still is - crucial for the development of our understanding of the universe, and to constrain theoretical models for the formation of galaxies and the evolution of planetary systems. Stellar ages provide scientists with timescales, and these timescales allow us to identify the relevant physical processes responsible for the development of cosmic structures. This book describes in a simple, yet rigorous, manner the vast array of techniques that have been developed and are currently being used to determine the ages of stars. It also explores how stellar ages inform our knowledge about planets, star clusters, galaxies, even distant galaxies that we cannot resolve into individual stars. Up-to-date with the latest research and technologies in the field, it includes the cutting-edge methods being used based on asteroseismology and discusses open problems that remain to be pondered in future research.

Astronomical: From Quarks to Quasars: The Science of Space at its Strangest by Tim James Does the Big Bang prove the existence of God? What's the Universe expanding into? Is Earth the only planet which supports life? Space is the biggest, oldest, hottest, coldest, strangest thing a human can study. It's no surprise then, that the weirdest facts in science (not to mention the weirdest scientists themselves) are found in astrophysics and cosmology. If you're looking for instructions on how to set up your grandad's telescope this book probably isn't for you. In Astronomical, Tim James takes us on a tour of the known (and unknown) universe, focusing on the most-mind boggling stuff we've come across, as well as unpacking the latest theories about what's really going on out there. Guiding us through Einstein's relativity, quantum mechanics and string theory, Astronomical delves into the baffling corners of the cosmos and tackles the biggest mysteries we face: from alien life to the zodiac; from white holes to wormholes; from quasars to quark stars. This is the science of space at its absolute strangest.

Chemical Demonstrations, Volume One-Five by Bassam Z. Shakhashiri The demonstrations capture interest, teach, inform, fascinate, amaze, and perhaps, most importantly, involve students in chemistry. Nowhere else will you find books that answer, "How come it happens? . . . Is it safe? . . . What do I do with all the stuff when the demo is over?" Shakhashiri and his collaborators offer 282 chemical demonstrations arranged in 11 chapters. Each demonstration includes seven sections: a brief summary, a materials list, a step-by-step account of procedures to be used, an explanation of the hazards involved, information on how to store or dispose of the chemicals used, a discussion of the phenomena displayed and principles illustrated by the demonstration, and a list of references.

Essentials of computational chemistry : theories and models by Christopher J. Cramer Essentials of Computational Chemistry provides a balanced introduction to this dynamic subject. Suitable for both experimentalists and theorists, a wide range of samples and applications are included drawn from all key areas. The book carefully leads the reader thorough the necessary equations providing information explanations and reasoning where necessary and firmly placing each equation in context.

Everyday Physics: Colors, Light And Optical Illusions by Michel A. Van Hove This book aims to popularize physics by emphasizing conceptual ideas of physics and their interconnections, while avoiding mathematics entirely. The approach is to explore intriguing topics by asking and discussing questions, thereby the reader can participate in developing answers, which enables a deeper understanding than is achievable with memorization. The topic of this volume, "Colors, light and Optical Illusions", is chosen because we face colors and light every waking minute of our lives, and we experience optical illusions much more often than we realize. This book will attract all those with a curious mind about nature and with a desire to understand how nature works, especially the younger generation of secondary-school children and their teachers.

Green Chemistry and Computational Chemistry: Shared Lessons in Sustainability by Liliana L. Mammino (Editor) Green chemistry already draws on many techniques and approaches developed by theoretical chemists, whilst simultaneously revealing a whole range of interesting new challenges for theoretical chemists to explore. Highlighting how work at the intersection of these fields has already produced beneficial results, Green Chemistry and Computational Chemistry: Shared Lessons in Sustainability is a practical, informative guide to combining green and theoretical chemistry principles and approaches in the development of more sustainable practices. Beginning with an introduction to both theoretical chemistry and green chemistry, the book goes on to explore current approaches being taken by theoretical chemists to address green and sustainable chemistry issues, before moving on to highlight ways in which green chemists are employing the knowledge and techniques of theoretical chemistry to help in developing greener processes. The future possibilities for theoretical chemistry in addressing sustainability issues are discussed, before a selection of case studies provides good insight into how these interactions and approaches have been successfully used in practice.

Hidden in Plain Sight: The History, Science, and Engineering of Microfluidic Technology by Albert Folch Hidden from view, microfluidics underlies a variety of devices that are essential to our lives, from inkjet printers to glucometers for the monitoring of diabetes. Microfluidics—which refers to the technology of miniature fluidic devices and the study of fluids at submillimeter levels—is invisible to most of us because it is hidden beneath ingenious user interfaces. In this book, Albert Folch, a leading researcher in microfluidics, describes the development and use of key microfluidic devices. He explains not only the technology but also the efforts, teams, places, and circumstances that enabled these inventions.

Physical Chemistry: Multidisciplinary Applications in Society by Kenneth S. Schmitz The advancements in society are intertwined with the advancements in science. To understand how changes in society occurred, and will continue to change, one has to have a basic understanding of the laws of physics and chemistry. Physical Chemistry: Multidisciplinary Applications in Society examines how the laws of physics and chemistry (physical chemistry) explain the dynamic nature of the Universe and events on Earth, and how these events affect the evolution of society (multidisciplinary applications). The ordering of the chapters reflects the natural flow of events in an evolving Universe: Philosophy of Science, the basis of the view that natural events have natural causes - Cosmology, the origin of everything from the Big Bang to the current state of the Universe - Geoscience, the physics and chemistry behind the evolution of the planet Earth from its birth to the present - Life Science, the molecules and mechanisms of life on Earth - Ecology, the interdependence of all components within the Ecosphere and the Universe - Information Content, emphasis on how words and phrases and framing of issues affect opinions, reliability of sources, and the limitations of knowledge.

Principles of Energy by Salem Press Energy, the capacity of an object to do work, is one of the most fundamental principles, affecting nearly every aspect of life on this planet. Numerous issues surrounding energy have wide-ranging implications for the world we live in today, significantly economics, politics, and climate science, in addition to many other fields. This new volume in Salem's Principles of Science series provides readers with a comprehensive introduction to energy, covering basic concepts, possibilities, ethical issues, and potential consequences of energy.

Relativity Principles and Theories from Galileo to Einstein by Olivier Darrigol Motion is always relative to some thing. Is this thing a concrete body like the earth, is it an abstract space, or is it an imagined frame? Do the laws of physics depend on the choice of reference? It there a choice for which the laws are simplest? Is this choice unique? Is there a physical cause for the choice made? These questions traverse the history of modern physics from Galileo to Einstein. The answers involved Galilean relativity, Newton's absolute space, the purely relational concepts of Descartes, Leibniz, and Mach, and many forgotten uses of relativity principles in mechanics, optics, and electrodynamics - until the relativity theories of Poincare, Einstein, Minkowksi, and Laue radically redefined space and time to satisfy universal kinds of relativity. Accordingly, this book retraces the emergence of relativity principles in early modern mechanics, documents their constructive use in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century mechanics, optics, and electrodynamics, and gives a well-rooted account of the genesis of special and general relativity in the early twentieth century. As an exercise in long-term history, it demonstrates the connectivity of issues and approaches across several centuries, despite enormous changes in context and culture. As an account of the genesis of relativity theories, it brings unprecedented clarity and fullness by broadening the spectrum of resources on which the principal actors drew.

Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences by Nicolas R. Dalezios Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences is a contemporary, multi-disciplinary, multi-scaling, updated, and upgraded approach of applied remote sensing in the environment. The book begins with an overview of remote sensing technology, and then explains the types of data that can be used as well as the image processing and analysis methods that can be applied to each type of application through the use of case studies throughout

Teaching STEM in the Secondary School: Helping Teachers Meet The Challenge by Frank Banks; David Barlex This book looks at the purpose and pedagogy of STEM teaching and explores the ways in which STEM subjects can interact in the curriculum to enhance student understanding, achievement and motivation. By reaching outside their own classroom, teachers can collaborate across STEM subjects to enrich learning and help students relate school science, technology and maths to the wider world. This new revised edition is essential reading for trainee and practising teachers, those engaged in further professional development and all who wish to make the learning of science, technology, engineering and mathematics an interesting, motivating and exciting experience for their students.

Toxic Legacy: How the Weedkiller Glyphosate Is Destroying Our Health and the Environment by Stephanie Seneff Glyphosate is the active ingredient in Roundup, the most commonly used weedkiller in the world. Nearly 300 million pounds of glyphosate-based herbicide are sprayed on farms - and food - every year. Agrochemical companies claim that glyphosate is safe for humans, animals, and the environment. But emerging scientific research on glyphosate’s deadly disruption of the gut microbiome, its crippling effect on protein synthesis, and its impact on the body’s ability to use and transport sulfur - not to mention several landmark legal cases - tells a very different story. In Toxic Legacy, senior research scientist Stephanie Seneff, PhD, delivers compelling evidence based on countless published, peer-reviewed studies - all in frank, illuminating, and always accessible language.

The beauty of chemistry : art, wonder, and science by Philip Ball; Wenting Zhu (Photographer); Yan Liang (Photographer) "This book will combine photographs with evocative text to show how chemistry underpins the formation of snowflakes, the patterns of animal markings, and much more"-- Provided by publisher.

Drought, flood, fire : how climate change contributes to catastrophes by Chris C. Funk "Every year, droughts, floods, and fires impact hundreds of millions of people and cause massive economic losses. Climate change is making these catastrophes more dangerous. Now. Not in the future: NOW. This book describes how and why climate change is already fomenting dire consequences, and will certainly make climate disasters worse in the near future. Chris Funk combines the latest science with compelling stories, providing a timely, accessible, and beautifully-written synopsis of this critical topic. The book describes our unique and fragile Earth system, and the negative impacts humans are having on our support systems. It then examines recent disasters, including heat waves, extreme precipitation, hurricanes, fires, El Niños and La Niñas, and their human consequences. By clearly describing the dangerous impacts that are already occurring, Funk provides a clarion call for social change, yet also conveys the beauty and wonder of our planet, and hope for our collective future"-- Provided by publisher.

Ethics of Artificial Intelligence by S. Matthew Liao (Editor) Featuring seventeen original essays on the ethics of Artificial Intelligence (AI) by some of the most prominent AI scientists and academic philosophers today, this volume represents the state-of-the-art thinking in this fast-growing field and highlights some of the central themes in AI and morality such as how to build ethics into AI, how to address mass unemployment as a result of automation, how to avoiding designing AI systems that perpetuate existing biases, and how to determine whether an AI is conscious. As AI technologies progress, questions about the ethics of AI, in both the near-future and the long-term, become more pressing than ever. Should a self-driving car prioritize the lives of the passengers over the lives of pedestrians? Should we as a society develop autonomous weapon systems that are capable of identifying and attacking a target without human intervention? What happens when AIs become smarter and more capable than us? Could they have greater than human moral status? Can we prevent superintelligent AIs from harming us or causing our extinction?

Fear of a black universe : an outsider's guide to the future of physics by Stephon Alexander "Where does great physics come from? As a young graduate student, cosmologist Stephon Alexander had a life-changing lesson in the subject. When asked by the legendary theoretical physicist Christopher Isham why he had attended graduate school, Alexander answered: "To become a better physicist." He could hardly have anticipated Isham's response: "Then stop reading those physics books." Instead, Isham said, Alexander should start listening to his dreams. This is only the first of a great many surprising and even shocking lessons in Fear of a Black Universe. As Alexander explains, greatness in physics requires transgression, a willingness to reject conventional expectations. He shows why progress happens when some physicists come to think outside the mainstream, and both the outsiders and insiders respond to the resulting tensions. He also shows why, as in great jazz, great physics requires a willingness to make things up as one goes along, and a willingness to rely on intuition when the path forward isn't clear. Unfortunately, most physicists are too afraid of being wrong -- and jeopardizing their careers -- to embrace this sort of improvisation. Indeed, for a long time Alexander was, too. Of course, Alexander doesn't mean that physics should be lawless. After all, even jazz musicians must respect the key and tempo of the music their fellow musicians are playing. But it does mean that not all the answers can be found, as Isham argued, as equations in a book. Drawing on Einstein's notion of principle theories -- ideas that constrain the shape that other theories take -- Alexander shows that from general relativity to quantum theory, three principles underlie everything we know about the Universe: the principle of invariance, the quantum principle, and the principle of emergence. Using these three principles as a guide, Alexander takes a stab at some of the greatest mysteries of the Universe, including what happened before the Big Bang; the quantum theory of gravity; the nature of dark energy and dark matter; and the quantum physics of consciousness. Along the way, he explains where our understanding of the universe and those principles don't jibe, as in the nature of the Big Bang, and asks what such discrepancies mean. He shows us what discoveries lie on the horizon, and crucially, calls on us not just to embrace improvisation and knowledge outside of physics but to diversify our scientific communities by reaching out to people of color. As compelling as it is necessary, Fear of a Black Universe offers us remarkable insight into the art of physics and empowers us all to theorize"-- Provided by publisher.

The God equation : the quest for a theory of everything by Michio Kaku "Michio Kaku, renowned theoretical physicist and author of Hyperspace and The Future of Humanity, tells the story of the greatest quest in science. When Newton discovered the laws of motion and gravity, he unified the rules of heaven and earth. From then on, physicists have been discovering new forces and incorporating them into ever-greater theories. But the major breakthroughs of the 20th century--relativity and quantum mechanics--are incompatible, and so since then, physicists have been endeavoring to combine these two theories. This would ultimately tie all the forces in the universe together into one beautiful equation that can unlock the deepest mysteries of space and time. That epic journey is the story of this book"-- Provided by publisher.

Particles, fields, space-time : from Thomson's electron to Higgs' boson by Martin Pohl "This book explores the concepts, ideas, and experimental results that brought us from the discovery of the first elementary particle in the end of the 19th century to the completion of the Standard Model of particle physics in the early 21st century. It concentrates on disruptive events and unexpected results that fundamentally changed our view of particles and how they move through space-time. It separates the mathematical and technical details from the narrative into focus boxes, so that it remains accessible to non-scientists, yet interesting for those with a scientific background who wish to further their understanding. It presents and explains experiments and their results wherever appropriate. This book will be of interest to a general audience, but also to students studying particle physics, physics teachers at all levels, and scientists with a recreational curiosity towards the subject. Features: Short, comprehensive overview concentrating on major breakthroughs, disruptive ideas, and unexpected results. Accessible to all interested in subatomic physics with little prior knowledge required. Contains the latest developments in this exciting field"-- Provided by publisher.

Particulate Plastics in Terrestrial and Aquatic Environments by Nanthi Bolan (Editor); etc. "Particulate Plastics in Terrestrial and Aquatic Environments provides a fundamental understanding of the sources of these plastics and the threats they pose to the environment. It demonstrates the ecotoxicity of particulate plastics using case studies and offers management practices to mitigate environmental contamination"-- Provided by publisher.

A Q&a Approach to Organic Chemistry by Michael B. Smith A Q&A Approach to Organic Chemistry is a book of leading questions that begins with atomic orbitals and bonding. All critical topics are covered, including bonding, nomenclature, stereochemistry, conformations, acids and bases, oxidations, reductions, substitution, elimination, acyl addition, acyl substitution, enolate anion reactions, the Diels-Alder reaction and sigmatropic rearrangements, aromatic chemistry, spectroscopy, amino acids and proteins, and carbohydrates and nucleosides. All major reactions are covered. Each chapter includes end-of-chapter homework questions with the answer keys in an Appendix at the end of the book. This book is envisioned to be a supplementary guide to be used with virtually any available undergraduate organic chemistry textbook. This book allows for a "self-guided" approach that is useful as one studies for a coursework exam or as one reviews organic chemistry for postgraduate exams. Key Features: Allows a "self-guided tour" of organic chemistry Discusses all important areas and fundamental reactions of organic chemistry Classroom tested Useful as a study guide that will supplement most organic chemistry textbooks Assists one in study for coursework exams or allows one to review organic chemistry for postgraduate exams Includes 21 chapters of leading questions that covers all major topics and major reactions of organic chemistry

A Student's Guide to the Schrödinger Equation by Daniel A. Fleisch Quantum mechanics is a hugely important topic in science and engineering, but many students struggle to understand the abstract mathematical techniques used to solve the Schrödinger equation and to analyze the resulting wave functions. Retaining the popular approach used in Fleisch's other Student's Guides, this friendly resource uses plain language to provide detailed explanations of the fundamental concepts and mathematical techniques underlying the Schrödinger equation in quantum mechanics. It addresses in a clear and intuitive way the problems students find most troublesome. Each chapter includes several homework problems with fully worked solutions. A companion website hosts additional resources, including a helpful glossary, Matlab code for creating key simulations, revision quizzes and a series of videos in which the author explains the most important concepts from each section of the book.

After the blast : the ecological recovery of Mount St. Helens by Eric Wagner On May 18, 1980, people all over the world watched with awe and horror as Mount St. Helens erupted. Fifty-seven people were killed and hundreds of square miles of what had been lush forests and wild rivers were to all appearances destroyed. Ecologists thought they would have to wait years, or even decades, for life to return to the mountain, but when forest scientist Jerry Franklin helicoptered into the blast area a couple of weeks after the eruption, he found small plants bursting through the ash and animals skittering over the ground. Stunned, he realized he and his colleagues had been thinking of the volcano in completely the wrong way. Rather than being a dead zone, the mountain was very much alive. Mount St. Helens has been surprising ecologists ever since, and in After the Blast Eric Wagner takes readers on a fascinating journey through the blast area and beyond. From fireweed to elk, the plants and animals Franklin saw would not just change how ecologists approached the eruption and its landscape, but also prompt them to think in new ways about how life responds in the face of seemingly total devastation.

The Alchemy of Us by Ainissa Ramirez In the bestselling tradition of Stuff Matters and The Disappearing Spoon: a clever and engaging look at materials, the innovations they made possible, and how these technologies changed us. In The Alchemy of Us, scientist and science writer Ainissa Ramirez examines eight inventions--clocks, steel rails, copper communication cables, photographic film, light bulbs, hard disks, scientific labware, and silicon chips--and reveals how they shaped the human experience. Ramirez tells the stories of the woman who sold time, the inventor who inspired Edison, and the hotheaded undertaker whose invention pointed the way to the computer. She describes, among other things, how our pursuit of precision in timepieces changed how we sleep; how the railroad helped commercialize Christmas; how the necessary brevity of the telegram influenced Hemingway's writing style; and how a young chemist exposed the use of Polaroid's cameras to create passbooks to track Black citizens in apartheid South Africa. These fascinating and inspiring stories offer new perspectives on our relationships with technologies. Ramirez shows not only how materials were shaped by inventors but also how those materials shaped culture, chronicling each invention and its consequences--intended and unintended. Filling in the gaps left by other books about technology, Ramirez showcases little-known inventors--particularly people of color and women--who had a significant impact but whose accomplishments have been hidden by mythmaking, bias, and convention. Doing so, she shows us the power of telling inclusive stories about technology. She also shows that innovation is universal--whether it's splicing beats with two turntables and a microphone or splicing genes with two test tubes and CRISPR.  

Basic Organic Chemistry by Ramesh Chandra; Snigdha Singh; arushi Singh Basic Organic Chemistry discusses the basic concept of chemistry as well as organic chemistry. It includes detailed description of organic molecules, functional groups and the nomenclature of the organic molecules. This book also discusses the notion of acids and bases and stereochemistry of the organic molecules along with the description of amino acids, proteins, carbohydrates, alcohol and ethers. It provides the reader with the insights of basic organic chemistry so as to understand the basic organic reactions and the application of spectroscopy to study organic molecules.

Breakthroughs in Geology by Park Graham Geological research does not flow steadily onwards by means of small incremental advances but can be better understood as a series of significant discoveries or changes in interpretation that transformed the way we understand the Earth. Each of these changes or new ideas encouraged a burst of activity as researchers attempted to apply them more widely in order to test their universality, and thereby their validity as a scientific theory.   Probably the best example of such a transformative idea is Plate Tectonics, which, although questioned at the time it was introduced, is now universally accepted as a general principleA large number of the subsequent advances in geological understanding have been based upon this breakthrough.  Each of the 12 chapters in this book represents a new idea or discovery, which is discussed in its historical context. In each case the salient features of these ideas are described, together with some biographical details of the individual scientists credited with them - but also mentioning others whose role in the generation of the idea is perhaps not so obvious. Of instant appeal to geologists and other earth scientists interested in how their science evolved over time by means of a number of revolutionary ideas, this book also serves as a paradigm for the history of science across many disciplines.

The ethical chemist : professionalism and ethics in science by Jeffrey Kovac This book is an introduction to professional ethics in chemistry. After a brief overview of ethical theory, it provides a detailed discussion of professional ethic for chemists based on the view that the specific codes of conduct derive from a moral ideal. The moral ideal presented here has three parts. The first refers to the practice of science, the second to relationships within the scientific community and the third to the relationship between science and society, particularly the uses of science. The question of why a scientist should obey the professional code is discussed in terms of the virtue of reverence, after which the ethical issues unique to chemistry are identified. A method for approaching ethical problems is presented. Finally, there is a large collection of specific ethical problems, or cases, each followed by a commentary where the issues raised by that case are discussed.

Sweet Biochemistry : Remembering Structures, Cycles, and Pathways by Mnemonics by Asha Kumari Sweet Biochemistry: Remembering Structures, Cycles, and Pathways by Mnemonics makes biochemistry lively, interesting and memorable. by connecting objects, images and stories. Dr. Kumari has converted cycles and difficult pathways into very simple formula, very short stories and images which will help readers see familiar things in complicated cycles and better visualize biochemistry. Provides quick, indigenous formulas, mnemonics, figures and short stories to help users simply recollect the study of biochemistry Gives unique descriptions of the difficult areas in biochemistry and new ways of remembering a pathway or structure Presents original diagrams that resonate and are easy to recall

The Wind Power Story by Brandon N. Owens Helps readers understand and appreciate what the history of wind power can teach us about technology innovation and provides the implications for both wind power today and its future This book takes readers on a journey through the history of wind power in order to show how the technology evolved over the course of the twentieth century and where it may be headed in the twenty-first century. It introduces and examines broad themes such as government funding of wind power, the role of fossil fuels in wind power development, and the importance of entrepreneurs in wind power development. It also discusses the lessons learned from wind power technology innovation and makes them relevant to the understanding of wind power today and in the future. Spanning the entire history of wind power (1888-2018), The Wind Power Story: A Century of Innovation that Reshaped the Global Energy Landscape provides balanced coverage of each decade as well as the important wind power technology innovations that occurred during that time. Compelling from the first page to the last, it offers chapters covering the pioneers of wind power; the age of small wind; wind power in the wake of war; wind power's use across Europe; government-funded research programs; how Denmark reinvented wind power in the 1970s; the California Wind Rush of the 1980s; wind power's rise in Spain; America's wind power starting in the 1990s; India's wind power path; the wind power surge in China; the globalization of wind power; and much more.  In addition, this text:  Spans the entire global history of wind power, while weaving together both the historical context and the technical details of wind power innovation Provides historical context for wind power developments and explains the evolution of wind turbine technology in an easy-to-understand manner Discusses the policy, technology, and market evolution of wind power in commonly understood language Offers a review of the surrounding power technology, policy, and market environment throughout the history of wind power A book that both specialists and non-specialists can read in order to understand and appreciate the past, present, and future of wind power technology, The Wind Power Story: A Century of Innovation that Reshaped the Global Energy Landscape will be of great interest to any engineer and any interested readers looking to understand wind power technologies, markets, and policies in one book.