Video Production: Books

For the first time in full-color, the 7th Edition of The Digital Filmmaking Handbook is a major update. Filmmaking involves much more than just buying a camera and a computer and The Digital Filmmaking Handbook covers everything you need to know, whether you're making a feature-length movie, a series of webisodes, a VR project, or even your first short film. This one-stop digital filmmaking resource will guide you from your initial idea to getting your project finished. It will show you how to create shots and effects that are rarely associated with low-budget productions. What's New? Web-based distribution has finally cracked open the field and there are really no limits to the type of films you can make. From long-arc television to webisodic content to traditional feature films, it's easier than ever to find an audience for your movie. Virtual reality is making serious headway into the entertainment industry, so we've added special sections about VR productions throughout the book. The rate of technological innovation in digital filmmaking is astounding: more and better digital cinema cameras, accessible 4K (and higher) production and post, lots of new lenses, and computer-controlled camera rigging from sliders to robotic jib arms to drones. It's a brave new world out there and we're here to help you navigate it.Digital video has come to mean all things to all people and the types of projects that are being made by indie filmmakers are more varied than ever. So why stop at a single film? The Digital Filmmaking Handbook is a top-rated bestseller. It's been in print for 21 years. It offers 450 pages of regularly-updated information on all aspects of filmmaking. (Some people buy this book for the glossary alone.)

Film on Video: A Practical Guide to Making Video Look like Film is an accessible guide to making video captured on a camcorder, DSLR camera, smartphone, action camera or cinema camera look like it was shot on motion-picture celluloid film. Chapter by chapter, Jonathan Kemp introduces the reader to a key characteristic of celluloid film, explains the historical and practical reasons why it exists, before providing a simplified method for best replicating that characteristic on a digital camera. The book includes various practical exercises throughout that are designed to underline the takeaway principles of each chapter and features case studies on specific cameras including the Sony NX5 Camcorder, Canon 5D Mk IV, Canon 4000D, iPhone X, GoPro Hero 6, Blackmagic URSA Mini Pro 4.6K and Canon C200. Ideal for students studying film and media production and filmmaking newcomers who want to get up to speed quickly, this is an indispensable guide to how the numerous settings on a digital camera can be used to create footage that more closely resembles the film 'look'.

A friendly, hands-on training manual and reference for lighting technicians in motion picture and television production, this handbook is the most comprehensive guide to set lighting available. It provides a unique combination of practical detail with a big-picture understanding of lighting, technology, safety, and professionalism, essential to anyone doing motion picture lighting. The fifth edition delves into every aspect of lighting and features vastly expanded sections on controlling LED lights, color science, lighting control systems, wireless systems, Ethernet-based control systems, battery power, and modern set protocol for productions small and large. With a generous number of original images, the book illustrates the use of soft light, the effect of lighting angles, and how the gaffer and DP build an effective lighting plan around the blocking of the actors. This encyclopedic volume of technical knowhow is tempered with years of practical experience and a much-needed sense of humor. This is the ideal text for professional lighting technicians across film and television including lighting directors, gaffers, DOPs, and rigging crews, as well as film and television production students studying lighting, camera techniques, film production, and cinematography. It includes a revamped companion website with supplementary resources, forms, checklists, and images.

A friendly, hands-on training manual and reference for lighting technicians in motion picture and television production, this handbook is the most comprehensive guide to set lighting available. It provides a unique combination of practical detail with a big-picture understanding of lighting, technology, safety, and professionalism, essential to anyone doing motion picture lighting.

The Green Screen Handbook, Second Edition is a comprehensive how-to manual that walks you through the many integral techniques required in preproduction, production, and postproduction to use green screen effectively. Step-by-step instruction and time-saving tips cover matting and keying basics; lighting and digital camera essentials; setups using fabric, portable background panels, and paint; broadcast TV hardware switchers; professional HD and major motion picture compositing; multi-colored screen composites; directing storyboards and talent; working with virtual sets; motion tracking; and much more. Additionally, this new edition has been updated to include: Coverage of the latest digital camera technologies, lighting gear, and compositing and editing software Advice on using apps for portable devices that will help you light and shoot better green screen Examples and case studies of real-world green screen and compositing projects in film and television productions An extensive companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/foster) featuring downloadadble project files and streaming video tutorials You can't afford to miss out! The Green Screen Handbook, Second Edition is a one-stop shop for all of your green screen solutions.

Bring new visibility to your school library media program and promote its strengths to all its constituencies. Learn how to teach video production as a communications tool. Use video-making to encourage reading, writing, and research and for school news shows. Video production is not only a great way to communicate, it's also a great way to teach communication skills to students and teachers. Set up in a checklist format to save you time, this book is easy to apply to a particular need. Teaching lighting? Make copies of "The Lighting Checklist"--and if you need to learn about an item on the list first, there's a section on it in that chapter. All terms are defined in the glossary.

H.264 Advanced Video Coding or MPEG-4 Part 10 is fundamental to a growing range of markets such as high definition broadcasting, internet video sharing, mobile video and digital surveillance. This book reflects the growing importance and implementation of H.264 video technology. Offering a detailed overview of the system, it explains the syntax, tools and features of H.264 and equips readers with practical advice on how to get the most out of the standard. Packed with clear examples and illustrations to explain H.264 technology in an accessible and practical way. Covers basic video coding concepts, video formats and visual quality. Explains how to measure and optimise the performance of H.264 and how to balance bitrate, computation and video quality. Analyses recent work on scalable and multi-view versions of H.264, case studies of H.264 codecs and new technological developments such as the popular High Profile extensions. An invaluable companion for developers, broadcasters, system integrators, academics and students who want to master this burgeoning state-of-the-art technology. "[This book] unravels the mysteries behind the latest H.264 standard and delves deeper into each of the operations in the codec. The reader can implement (simulate, design, evaluate, optimize) the codec with all profiles and levels. The book ends with extensions and directions (such as SVC and MVC) for further research."  Professor K. R. Rao, The University of Texas at Arlington, co-inventor of the Discrete Cosine Transform

Use Blender to edit and produce video for YouTube or any other social media platformsKey FeaturesUse the Blender Video editing toolkit and UIMake 3D info-graphics and interactive video with the latest Blender toolkitPrepare a video production with live markings for trackingBook DescriptionOne of the critical components of any workflow related to video production is a reliable tool to create and edit media such as video and audio. In most cases, you will find video producers using software that can only cut and mount video in a'traditional'way. What if you could use a software that offers not only options to edit and cut video, but also create 3D content and animation? With Blender, you can make use of a fantastic set of tools to edit and cut video, and also produce 3D content that will enable you to take your productions to the next level.Do you want to take footage from a camera and cut or add sound and titles? This book will show you how Blender can do that for you! You will learn to add 3D virtual objects to the same footage that will help you to create a full 3D environment. Using some camera tricks, you can even turn Blender into a powerful 2.5D animation software to create compelling infographics to produce educational, marketing, and instructional videos. You will also learn how to work with motion tracking to mix live-action footage with virtual objects. You will then learn how to use the video editing capabilities of Blender and match 3D content to your project for YouTube or any other media.Toward the end of the book, you will export the project to YouTube using optimal settings for the best performance in the platform.What you will learnImport video and audio footage to BlenderUse the Video Sequencer Editor to manipulate footagePrepare a project related to video in BlenderCut and reorganize video footage in BlenderCreate animations and add voiceover and sound to videoBuild infographics based on 3D contentBlend 3D content with live-action footageExport video for YouTube using optimal settingsWho this book is forAnyone trying to produce content based on video for platforms like YouTube. Those artists will need a software to cut and edit video footage or make small intro clips, animations, or info graphics for video.