Return to Home
You can find books in other libraries that may be helpful with your research.
Books to check out are on the second floor of the library.
Battlegrounds by
An analysis of the way in which terrain affects how battles are fought and ultimately how it impacts history provides essays on historical conflicts complemented by vintage and modern maps.
Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds by
A singular atlas of 100 infographic maps from thought-provoking to flat-out fun Publisher's note: Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds was published in the UK under the title Brilliant Maps. Which countries don't have rivers? Which ones have North Korean embassies? Who drives on the "wrong" side of the road? How many national economies are bigger than California's? And where can you still find lions in the wild? You'll learn answers to these questions and many more in Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds. This one-of-a-kind atlas is packed with eye-opening analysis (Which nations have had female leaders?), whimsical insight (Where can't you find a McDonald's?), and surprising connections that illuminate the contours of culture, history, and politics. Each of these 100 maps will change the way you see the world--and your place in it.
The Fabric of America by
With the same mix of compelling narrative history and captivating historical argument that made his previous book, Measuring America, such a success, Andro Linklater relates in fascinating detail how, the borders and boundaries that formed states and a nation inspired the sense of identity that has have ever since been central to the American experiment. Linklater opens with America's greatest surveyor, Andrew Ellicott, measuring the contentious boundary between Pennsylvania and Virginia in the summer of 1784; and he ends standing at the yellow line dividing the United States and Mexico at Tijuana. In between, he chronicles the evolving shape of the nation, physically and psychologically. As Americans pushed westward in the course of the nineteenth century, the borders and boundaries established by surveyors like Ellicott created property, uniting people in a desire for the government and laws that would protect it. Challenging Frederick Jackson Turner's famed frontier thesis, Linklater argues that we are , thus, defined not by open spaces but by boundaries. "What Americanized the immigrants was not the frontier experience" Linklater writes, "but the fact that it took place inside the United States frontier." Those same borders had the ability to divide as well as unite, as the great battle over internal boundaries during the Civil War would show. By century's end, however, we were spreading U.S. power beyond our borders, an act that, seen through Linklater's eyes, offers an intriguing perspective on our role in the world today. Linklater's great achievement is to weave these provocative arguments into a dramatic storyline, wherein the actions of Ellicott, Thomas Jefferson, the treasonous general James Wilkinson, Abraham Lincoln and Stephen Douglas, and numerous hitherto invisible settlers, all illuminate the shaping of the nation. This brilliant book will alter forever readers' perception of America and what it means to be an American.
Geography Today by
Geography Today provides a thoughtful and thorough introduction to the study of geography--from maps and technology to the study of different cultures, political systems, and economies, and an investigation of plate tectonics and climate systems. Geography Today: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology approaches the study of geography by concept, in contrast to most other works, which are organized by world region. Geography curriculums have been moving away from teaching the topic on a regional basis and toward teaching it through broader concepts. This is modeled by the National Geography Standards, the National Council for Geographic Education's Roadmap for 21st Century Geography Education, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Resource System, and ABC-CLIO's own geography advisory board, comprised of high school geography teachers from across the United States. By introducing geography concepts, Geography Today sets the foundation for readers to understand why certain geographies may be the way they are. It further helps high school geography students to apply concepts to different contexts with 101 geography terms, themes, and concepts for quick-reference research and study. Provides readers with a concise explanation of geography concepts as laid out in the U.S. National Geography Standards Provides real-world examples of geography in action Contains numerous resources to help readers fully understand the study of geography in the 21st century. Includes an A-to-Z quick reference section that enables students to dive deeper into specific terms, themes, and concepts
Medieval Islamic Maps by
Hundreds of exceptional cartographic images are scattered throughout medieval and early modern Arabic, Persian, and Turkish manuscript collections. The plethora of copies created around the Islamic world over the course of eight centuries testifies to the enduring importance of these medieval visions for the Muslim cartographic imagination. With Medieval Islamic Maps, historian Karen C. Pinto brings us the first in-depth exploration of medieval Islamic cartography from the mid-tenth to the nineteenth century. Pinto focuses on the distinct tradition of maps known collectively as the Book of Roads and Kingdoms (Kitab al-Masalik wa al-Mamalik, or KMMS), examining them from three distinct angles--iconography, context, and patronage. She untangles the history of the KMMS maps, traces their inception and evolution, and analyzes them to reveal the identities of their creators, painters, and patrons, as well as the vivid realities of the social and physical world they depicted. In doing so, Pinto develops innovative techniques for approaching the visual record of Islamic history, explores how medieval Muslims perceived themselves and their world, and brings Middle Eastern maps into the forefront of the study of the history of cartography.
Past Time, Past Place by
Encompassing a broad range of history -- from the Greek and Roman eras to the Salem witch trials and the Dust Bowl of the early 20th century, leading scholars from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain analyze history with the tools of GIS. Through the use of modern GIS technology the past is revealed in new ways, in re-creating Civil War battlefields, by bringing ancient landscapes back to life, and in re-examining long-held assumptions about historical events. Combining a deep appreciation of the strengths of traditional history with the technology of GIS, this book provides a new perspective for historical researchers and GIS experts.
Portraits of the Earth by
"A textbook for an interdisciplinary undergraduate course in mathematics and cartography examining the mathematics that are used and have been used in the past to map the surface of the planet." -- Publisher.
Renaissance Ethnography and the Invention of the Human by
Giants, cannibals and other monsters were a regular feature of Renaissance illustrated maps, inhabiting the Americas alongside other indigenous peoples. In a new approach to views of distant peoples, Surekha Davies analyzes this archive alongside prints, costume books and geographical writing. Using sources from Iberia, France, the German lands, the Low Countries, Italy and England, Davies argues that mapmakers and viewers saw these maps as careful syntheses that enabled viewers to compare different peoples. In an age when scholars, missionaries, native peoples and colonial officials debated whether New World inhabitants could - or should - be converted or enslaved, maps were uniquely suited for assessing the impact of environment on bodies and temperaments. Through innovative interdisciplinary methods connecting the European Renaissance to the Atlantic world, Davies uses new sources and questions to explore science as a visual pursuit, revealing how debates about the relationship between humans and monstrous peoples challenged colonial expansion.
The World Today by
In the 8th edition of this market-leading title, The World Today continues to break new ground in the interpretation and teaching of world regional geography. The text explains the contemporary world's geographic realms in terms of their natural environments and human dimensions in a clear and concise fashion. The authors look at the ways people have organized their living space, adapted to changing social as well as environmental circumstances, and continue to confront forces largely beyond their control ranging from globalization to climate change. This book offers an approach to Geography that meshes theoretical concepts with regional realities. The evolving regional content of the chapters in the 8th edition of The World Today reflects the dynamic nature of the world's geography; the changing and growing number of concepts mirror the progress of the discipline; and the ongoing introduction of new digital features reflects the instructional possibilities of new technologies.
Books are accessible from the library's catalog.
The Dictionary of Human Geography by
With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, this fifth edition remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography. A consolidated bibliography provides convenient access to key works by major figures in the field.
The First Mapping of America by
The First Mapping of America tells the story of the General Survey. At the heart of the story lie the remarkable maps and the men who made them - the commanding and highly professional Samuel Holland, Surveyor-General in the North, and the brilliant but mercurial William Gerard De Brahm, Surveyor-General in the South. Battling both physical and political obstacles, Holland and De Brahm sought to establish their place in the firmament of the British hierarchy. Yet the reality in which they had to operate was largely controlled from afar, by Crown administrators in London and the colonies and by wealthy speculators, whose approval or opposition could make or break the best laid plans as they sought to use the Survey for their own ends.
Geography: Ideas in Profile by
Copyright Page; Dedication; Contents; Acknowledgements; List of maps; Introduction; 1: Tradition; 2: Globalisation; 3: Equality; 4: Sustainability; 5: Mapping the Future; Further Exploration; Endnote; Index
Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography by
Provides capsule histories, descriptions of physical geography, population figures, and entries for peoples and languages.
Making Mesopotamia - Geography and Empire in a Romano-Iranian Borderland by
In Making Mesopotamia: Geography and Empire in a Romano-Iranian Borderland , Hamish Cameron examines the representation of the Mesopotamian Borderland in the geographical writing of Strabo, Pliny the Elder, Claudius Ptolemy, the anonymous Expositio Totius Mundi, and Ammianus Marcellinus. This inter-imperial borderland between the Roman Empire and the Arsacid and Sasanid Empires provided fertile ground for Roman geographical writers to articulate their ideas about space, boundaries, and imperial power. By examining these geographical descriptions, Hamish Cameron shows how each author constructed an image of Mesopotamia in keeping with the goals and context of their own work, while collectively creating a vision of Mesopotamia as a borderland space of movement, inter-imperial tension, and global engagement.
Mapping the Holy Land by
Through a detailed study of the work of three of the leading figures of the era - Augustus Petermann, Physical Geographer Royal to Queen Victoria; cartographer Charles Meredith van de Velde, who produced the finest map of the region at the time; and Edward Robinson, founder of modern Palestinology - the authors explore the complex cultural, cartographic and technical processes that shaped and determined the resulting maps of the region. Making full use of newly discovered archival material, and richly illustrated in both colour and black and white, Mapping the Holy Land is essential reading for cartographers, historical geographers, historians of mapmaking, and for all those with an interest in the Holy Land and the history of Palestine.
Remapping modern Germany after national socialism, 1945-1961 by
1. Orientation -- 2. Germany's cartographic collapse -- 3. Rebuilding Germany's geography : an occupation -- 4. The end of occupation? -- 5. Mapping and selling the two-state solution -- 6. Conclusion : mapping Germany, mapping Europe.
Located in the often-contentious center of the European continent, German territory has regularly served as a primary tool through which to understand and study Germany's economic, cultural, and political development. Many German geographers throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries became deeply invested in geopolitical determinism--the idea that a nation's territorial holdings (or losses) dictate every other aspect of its existence. Taking this as his premise, Mingus focuses on the use of maps as mediums through which the United States, Great Britain, and the Soviet Union sought to reshape German national identity after the Second World War. As important as maps and the study of geography have been to the field of European history, few scholars have looked at the postwar development of occupied Germany through the lens of the map--the most effective means to orient German citizens ontologically within a clearly and purposefully delineated spatial framework. Mingus traces the institutions and individuals involved in the massive cartographic overhaul of postwar Germany. In doing so, he explores not only the causes and methods behind the production and reproduction of Germany's mapped space but also the very real consequences of this practice.
The State of China Atlas by
This magnificently produced atlas provides a unique visual survey of the profound economic, political, and social changes taking place in China, as well as their implications for the world at large. China has the world's fastest-growing economy and is the second-largest trading nation. With its pro-entrepreneurial outlook and population of 1.3 billion, it offers unique opportunities for domestic and overseas investors. This dynamic volume provides an abundance of information on China's new wealth, growing unemployment, mass migration to the cities, and trade disputes. Completely Revised and Updated: * Vivid full-color maps convey a wealth of information quickly and efficiently * Comprehensive information on China's population, employment, agriculture, industry, and economics Copub: Myriad Editions Limited
Thinking Geographically: Space, Theory and Contemporary Human Geography by
The last decade has seen Geography transformed by an astonishing range of cultural and philosophical concepts and approaches. Thinking Geographically is designed for students as an accessible and enjoyable introduction to this new landscape of geographical ideas. The book takes the reader through the history of geographic thought up to a survey of the present. Contemporary theory is then used to explore real world issues drawn from across the discipline of social, cultural, political and economic geography.Entertainingly written and packed with examples and with profiles of key theorists, the book is an ideal introduction for any student who wants to discover the potential of thinking geographically.
