Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books Available in the Library
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stressanalysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemicalengineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essentialreference for students of mechanical engineering and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
Call Number: Reference Collection 621.03 A85d, 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Landmarks in Mechanical Engineering The book describes, and where possible illustrates, historic mechanical engineering landmarks, representing the accomplishments of mechanical engineers over the past 250 years-from the steam engine of Thomas Newcomen (1712), which launched the Industrial Revolution, to the Saturn V rocket (1967). Some of them are recognizable to us all, such as Xerography, Sikorsky's helicopter, and Disneyland's monorail. Others work behind the scenes or have been superseded, such as the Owens AR bottle machine and the Jackson Ferry Shot Tower. The landmarks are grouped into such categories as mechanical power production, power transmission, minerals extraction and refining, food processing, environmental control, transportation, biomedical engineering, and communications and data processing. Each section is introduced by an essay that helps place each landmark into the context of technical and general history. While some of these landmarks have not survived intact, others can be visited, and travel information is provided. The machines that shape our society help educate us about an important facet of human history and how technology has influenced it. ASME International's landmarks program identifies and recognizes artifacts of significance before they disappear. This roster of landmarks tells a magnificent story of people and places and of innovation and discovery.
Call Number: 621 Am35L, 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, 5th Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THOUSANDS OF DRAWINGS AND DESCRIPTIONS COVER INNOVATIONS IN MECHANICAL ENGINEERING Fully revised throughout, this abundantly illustrated reference describes proven mechanisms and mechanical devices. Each illustration represents a design concept that can easily be recycled for use in new or modified mechanical, electromechanical, or mechatronic products. Tutorials on the basics of mechanisms and motion control systems introduce you to those subjects or act as a refresher. Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, Fifth Edition, contains new chapters on mechanisms for converting renewable energy into electrical power, 3D digital prototyping and simulation, and progress in MEMS and nanotechnology based on carbon nanotubes. A new chapter on stationary and mobile robots describes their roles in industry, science, national defense, and medicine. The latest advances in rapid prototyping are also discussed. This practical guide will get you up to speed on many classical mechanical devices as well as the hot new topics in mechanical engineering. COMPREHENSIVE INDEX MAKES IT EASY TO FIND SUBJECTS OF INTEREST GLOSSARIES OF TERMS ON: CAMS, GEARS, MECHANICS, MOTION CONTROL, ROBOTICS, WIND TURBINES, PUMPS, AND 3D DIGITAL PROTOTYPING AND SIMULATION COVERAGE OF MOBILE ROBOTS THAT EXPLORE MARS, PERFORM MILITARY DUTIES AND PUBLIC SERVICE, HANDLE AUTOMATED DELIVERY, CONDUCT SURVEILLANCE FROM THE AIR, AND SEARCH UNDER THE SEA DETAILS ON THE MECHANISMS IN RENEWABLE-ENERGY AND WIND-TURBINE AND SOLAR-THERMAL FARMS AND WAVE-MOTION POWER PLANTS Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, Fifth Edition, covers: Basics of mechanisms * Motion control systems * New stationary and mobile robots * New mechanisms for renewable power generation * Drives and mechanisms with linkages, gears, cams, genevas, and ratchets * Clutches and brakes * Latching, fastening, and clamping devices and mechanisms * Chains, belts, springs, and screws * Shaft couplings and connections * Motion-specific devices * Packaging, conveying, handling, and safety mechanisms and machines * Torque, speed, tension, and limit control systems * Instruments and controls: pneumatic, hydraulic, electric, and electronic * New 3D digital prototyping and simulation techniques * New rapid prototyping methods * New directions in mechanical engineering
Call Number: 621.811 S353m, 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-12
Mechanical Engineer's Handbook by The Mechanical Engineer's Handbook was developed and written specifically to fill a need for mechanical engineers and mechanical engineering students. With over 1000 pages, 550 illustrations, and 26 tables the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook is comprehensive, compact and durable. The Handbook covers major areas of mechanical engineering with succinct coverage of the definitions, formulas, examples, theory, proofs, and explanations of all principle subject areas. The Handbook is an essential, practical companion for all mechanical engineering students with core coverage of nearly all relevant courses included. Also, anyone preparing for the engineering licensing examinations will find this handbook to be an invaluable aid. Useful analytical techniques provide the student and practicing engineer with powerful tools for mechanical design. This book is designed to be a portable reference with a depth of coverage not found in "pocketbooks" of formulas and definitions and without the verbosity, high price, and excessive size of the huge encyclopedic handbooks. If an engineer needs a quick reference for a wide array of information, yet does not have a full library of textbooks or does not want to spend the extra time and effort necessary to search and carry a six pound handbook, this book is for them.
Call Number: 621.3 M395, 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-20
eBooks Available in the Library
Achievements and Solutions in Mechanical Engineering by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
This book presents the newest and actual research results that intend to improve theoretical and practical activities in the field of mechanical engineering, based on the papers presented at the 4th International Conference of Mechanical Engineering (ICOME 2017, October 11-12, 2017, Craiova, Romania).
Advanced Materials, Structures and Mechanical Engineering IV by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
The 4th International Conference on Advanced Materials, Structures and Mechanical Engineering (ICAMSME 2017) took place in Incheon, Incheon National University, South-Korea, May 19-21, 2017. This collection of manuscripts was created based on the results of the conference and is thematically connected to research and design in the field of the structural materials, processing technologies and modern design and research methods in the mechanical engineering, biomedicine, construction and chemical production. We hope this collection will be useful for many engineers and researchers.
Advances in Mechanical Engineering Research. Volume 2 by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020-06-26
Mechanical engineering is an engineering discipline that applies the principles of physics and materials science for analysis, design, manufacturing, and maintenance of mechanical systems. This book covers leading-edge research in a cross-section of fields centering on mechanical engineering including current research data on the fracture mechanics of wood and wood-like reinforced polymers; thulium-doped fiber amplifiers; the role of microalloying elements on the microstructure of hot rolled steels; and high-strength titanium base alloys.
Mechatronics and Mechanical Engineering I by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2014 International Conference on Mechatronics and Mechanical Engineering (ICMME 2014), September 6-8, 2014, Chengdu, China. The 78 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Advanced Materials Engineering and Processing Technologies; Chapter 2: Applied Mechanics and Mechanical Engineering; Chapter 3: Applied Thermal Research; Chapter 4: Instrumentation and Measurement Technologies; Chapter 5: Electrical and Electronic Engineering; Chapter 6: Mechatronics and Robotics; Chapter 7: Bio and Medical Research.
Research on Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Material Engineering by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2013 International Conference on Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Material Engineering (MECEM 2013), October 27-28, 2013, Hefei, China. The 63 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Mechanical Engineering and Mechanical System; Chapter 2: Civil Engineering and Applied Technologies; Chapter 3: Material Engineering and Application of Materials.
Structural and Mechanical Engineering for Security and Prevention by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017-09-14
The International Conference on Structural and Mechanical Engineering for Security and Prevention (ICSMESP 2017, 14 - 16 June, 2017, Prague, Czech Republic) was a forum for researchers in all related engineering areas connected to the security, reliability and prevention of the various technogenic incidents. The topics of this collection include new materials for safety and security engineering; diagnosing and testing of materials; modelling and experiments; security technology of explosives; critical infrastructure protection; construction safety and security; risk analysis, assessment and management; emergency and crisis management; new standards on security engineering; rock and mining engineering; blast protection; seismity and geomechanics; fire engineering.
Sustainable Development in Mechanical Engineering by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Due to their specialized training, engineers play a crucial role in the design and development of new products and infrastructure, as well as in the creation of wealth. Consequently, engineers recognize that they have a specific responsibility in the performance of these functions to take such measures as are appropriate to safeguard the environment, health, safety and well-being of the public. This book proposes a series of fifteen practical cases, integrating knowledge from different fields of the mechanical engineering discipline, along with basic knowledge in environmental, occupational health and safety risk management. The case studies provided are descriptions of a real system, its functioning and its instructions for use. The systems selected represent a broad spectrum of mechanical engineering issues and problems, such as fluid mechanics; thermodynamics; heat transfer; heating, ventilation and cooling; vibrations; dynamics; statics; failure of materials; automatics and mecatronics; hydraulics; product design; human factors; maintenance; and rapid prototyping, to name a few. The professional objective of the examples provided is to design or improve the design of the described system. This book is essential in transferring knowledge to future engineers with respect to thehazards resulting from their work.