RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and resource manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Use your Tech email
Create a new password, NOT connected to Tech password.
Go to your Tech email and open activation email.
You are able to proceed without opening this email.
You will be asked for some basic information when you get into your account.
Use this YouTube link to access the video channel for this product. The 20 minute video is divided into smaller 1 and 2 minute segments for specific functions and features.
Step-by-step instructions for each feature. Click on tab to open. Click on any image to enlarge it.
Make sure your bookmark bar is visible.
If not use: ctrl, shift, B
Go to http://proquest.refworks.com
On the RefWorks home page click tools in menu tab
Click on Tools option
Click "Install Save to RefWorks"
Save information from the web into your RefWorks account
PDF documents may not translate properly. This works best for web pages.
Microsoft Word 2016 Add-in
Open and find Insert tab.
Find Store in the ribbon.
Search for the RefWorks add-in.
Add the RefWorks Citation Manager
Before getting to the next point you may be asked to enter Microsoft username and password. (This may be your Tech Office 365 account).
Login to your RefWorks account with you Tech email and your RefWorks password (not Tech password).
It should look like this.
The next time you open Word you will click on My Add-ins to access your RefWorks account.
Choose RefWorks add-in and insert OR
double-click on RefWorks add-in
Set up Google Scholar to display an "import to RefWorks" option in your search results.
You must have a Google account. Use your Google login to customize Google Scholar. Your profile should display in the upper right corner. The settings button is in the upper left menu.
Click on Settings in the menu.
Scroll down to Bibliography Manager. Use the arrows to choose RefWorks and click the button for "Show links to import citations into"
If you do not have MS Word 2016 you can use the older version of the add-in. Click here for instructions.
There are options to export the citation information including a link to the material, in nearly every database that the library subscribes to. The link may be named export, save, or cite. Here are some examples of the most popular vendor databases.
Click on the tab to see the different interfaces of the library's most used databases.
Databases are created by vendors like Ebsco, ProQuest, and Gale. These vendors each produce dozens of unique databases that the library subscribes to.
Not every database has the capability to export directly to RefWorks. Here are some known issues:
Click image to enlarge.
Click image to enlarge.
Click image to enlarge.
Click images to enlarge.
