The Agency and the Hill: CIA's Relationship with Congress, 1946-2004
by
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007
by
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007, is a comprehensive history of the more than 120 African Americans who have served in the United States Congress. Written for a general audience, this book contains a profile of each African-American Member, including notables such as Hiram Revels, Joseph Rainey, Oscar De Priest, Adam Clayton Powell, Shirley Chisholm, Gus Hawkins, and Barbara Jordan. Individual profiles are introduced by contextual essays that explain major events in congressional and U.S. history. The volume also features: Pictures--including rarely seen historical images--of each African American who has served in Congress Bibliographies and references to manuscript collections for each Member Statistical graphs and charts Index.
Guide to the records of the United States House of Representatives at the National Archives, 1789-1989
by
Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012
by
Updated through 2012, Hispanic Americans in Congress 1822-2012 is written for a general audience and researched using primary and secondary sources, this book contains a profile of every Hispanic American who has served in Congress. Former Member profiles are introduced by contextual essays that present major events in congressional and U.S. history. Additional artifacts, lesson plans, and interactive features are available on the book's companion online exhibition located on the History, Art & Archives website for the U.S. House of Representatives at http://history.house.gov. Hispanic Americans in Congress also includes: Pictures--including rarely seen historical images--of each Hispanic American who has served in Congress Bibliographies and references to manuscript collections for each Member Statistical graphs and charts Appendices with Hispanic Members' committee assignments; committee and subcommittee chairmen and chairwomen; Hispanic Americans in Congress by state and territory; and Congressional Hispanic Caucus and Congressional Hispanic Conference chairmen and chairwomen A comprehensive index
Senate, 1789-1989
by
NOTE: NO FURTHER DISCOUNT FOR THIS PRINT PRODUCT--OVERSTOCK SALE -- Significantly reduced list price while supplies last Consists of 42 addresses to the Senate delivered between 1981 and 1987. These speeches have been compiled, revised, and edited to present the United States Senate's history and traditions of the past 200 years. Historians, American citizenss, and students may be interested in these speeches and addresses for debate club topical issues, and research about new legislative priorities introduced by the U.S. Senate towards America's democracy for the past 200 years. Related products: 200 Notable Days: Senate Stories, 1787 to 2002 can be found here:https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/052-071-01444-6 Other products produced by the United States Senate can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/agency/515
To Make All Laws: the Congress of the United States, 1789-1989
by
Understanding Congress : research perspectives
by
Hearings in the Senate and House of Representatives
by
Congressional hearings are the principal formal method by which committees collect and analyse information in the early stages of policy making. Whether legislative, oversight, investigative, or a combination of these, all hearings share common elements of preparation and conduct. House Rule XI sets down many of the regulations to which committee hearings must conform, including the quorum requirement, advance submission of witness statements, the opportunity for minority party members to call witnesses of their choosing, the five-minute rule for questioning witnesses, witness rights, the process for issuing a subpoena, the procedure for closing a hearing to the public, and the broadcast of hearings and media behaviour. Committees have broad latitude in how they hold hearings, in part because they adopt their own rules of procedure. These rules may amplify and supplement House rules, but cannot contravene them. Customs of committees not embodied in rules also vary considerably among committees. Committees usually plan extensively for hearings. On the day of a hearing, a committee needs a quorum to conduct business. While most hearings are open to the public, a committee may vote to close a hearing for a reason specifically stated in House rules. Following a hearing, committee staff may prepare a summary of testimony, draft additional questions for the day's witnesses, and begin to ready the hearing transcripts for printing and publishing to the Web. Transcripts generally are printed, along with supplemental materials approved by the committee, although printing is not required.
Precedents of the United States House of Representatives
by
"Covering precedents through the opening day of the 115th Congress and employing citations to the rules and to the House rules and manual of that Congress"--Volume1, title page.
Earlier precedents are: Hinds' Precedents, 1907-1908, Cannon's Precedents, 1935-1941, Deschler's Precedents, 1977-2013.
"December 1, 2017"--Volume 1, preface.
