Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4213: Southern Women's History

RefWorks

refworks link button

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and resource manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Use your Tech email

start using RefWorks screen shot     

 

 

 

 

 

 

Create a new password, NOT connected to Tech password.

     ref works password screenshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go to your Tech email and open activation email. 

 email sent screenshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You are able to proceed without opening this email. 

You will be asked for some basic information when you get into your account. 

Use this YouTube link to access the video channel for this product. The 20 minute video is divided into smaller 1 and 2 minute segments for specific functions and features. 

Using RefWorks with Other Tools

tools spelled with tools

Step-by-step instructions for each feature. Click on tab to open. Click on any image to enlarge it. 

Make sure your bookmark bar is visible. 

screenshot of bookmark bar with button

If not use: ctrl, shift, B 

keyboard with ctrl shift b

Go to http://proquest.refworks.com

On the RefWorks home page click tools in menu tab

tools refworks screenshot

Click on Tools option

tools option refworks

Click "Install Save to RefWorks"

show install button

Save information from the web into your RefWorks account

drag button to browser

PDF documents may not translate properly. This works best for web pages. 

Microsoft Word 2016   Add-in

Open and find Insert tab.

screenshot ms word insert button

Find Store in the ribbon.

store button in ms word screensht

Search for the RefWorks add-in.

addin search screenshot

Add the RefWorks Citation Manager

screen shot of refworks addin ms

Before getting to the next point you may be asked to enter Microsoft username and password. (This may be your Tech Office 365 account).

 

Login to your RefWorks account with you Tech email and your RefWorks password (not Tech password).

screenshot of refworks in ms word

It should look like this.

screenshot of refworks populated in ms word

 

The next time you open Word you will click on My Add-ins to access your RefWorks account.

my add-ins ms word screenshot

Choose RefWorks add-in and insert OR

double-click on RefWorks add-in

 

screenshot of ref addin in ms word

Set up Google Scholar to display an "import to RefWorks" option in your search results. 

screenshot of google scholar search results with refworks opiton

You must have a Google account. Use your Google login to customize Google Scholar. Your profile should display in the upper right corner. The settings button is in the upper left menu.

google scholar screen shot

Click on Settings in the menu.

scholar settings

Scroll down to Bibliography Manager. Use the arrows to choose RefWorks and click the button for "Show links to import citations into"

screen shot of scholar choose refworks

 

If you do not have MS Word 2016 you can use the older version of the add-in. Click here for instructions. 

RefWorks Export from Library Databases

There are options to export the citation information including a link to the material, in nearly every database that the library subscribes to. The link may be named export, save, or cite.  Here are some examples of the most popular vendor databases.

Click on the tab to see the different interfaces of the library's most used databases. 

clip art of globe, gears and electronic devices

Databases are created by vendors like Ebsco, ProQuest, and Gale. These vendors each produce dozens of unique databases that the library subscribes to. 

Not every database has the capability to export directly to RefWorks. Here are some known issues:

  • Ovid - saves in a format that requires more steps
  • Find it... - results in find it... can be sent to RefWorks without a link back to the source
  • Publisher sites - use the "Save to RefWorks" button

 

Ebsco screenshot export to refworks

Click image to enlarge. 

proquest export refworks screenshot

Click image to enlarge. 

web of science screenshot refworks

Click image to enlarge. 

gale opposing viewpoints export to refworks screenshot

Click image to enlarge.

Click images to enlarge. 

jstor export to refworks screenshot

cite this jstor send to refworks