Arkansas Tech University offers Bachelor's Degrees in Chemistry, Physics, and Geology, and many of the courses from those programs support other majors as well. This guide is intended to provide you with the most important resources you might need as you study physical and geological sciences at ATU. In Geology, the most comprehensive jumping off point is GeoRef from GeoScience World.
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. The database contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
For a listing of more databases see the Research Databases page.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, Science Database, and the Technology Collection.
Scholarly journals and popular science magazines that support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology andearth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification.The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and theVolcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments.A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
