Research Guides Home: Political Science: Government Documents

Books

The Constitution of the United States of America : analysis and interpretation : 2014 supplement : analysis of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States to July 1, 2014
Call Number: Y 1.1/3:113-24/SUPP.
Publication Date: 2015
Official congressional directory.
Call Number: 328.73 Un3c
Publication Date: 2015-2016
United States Code
Call Number: Y 1.2/5:
Budget of the United States Government.
Call Number: PREX 2.8:
Code of Federal Regulations The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The online CFR is a joint project authorized by the publisher, the National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) Office of the Federal Register (OFR), and the Government Publishing Office (GPO) to provide the public with enhanced access to Government information.
Federal Register
Call Number: Government Documents Microfiche AE 2.106:
Statistical abstract of the United States
Call Number: C 3.134:

Websites-General

Charters of Freedom (Declaration of Independence, Constitution, Bill of Rights)
Congressional Bills Congressional bills are legislative proposals from the House of Representatives and Senate within the United States Congress.
Congressional Record The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress
Public and Private Laws Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.
United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
Compilation of Presidential Documents The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Federal Register The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
United States Government Manual The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
100 Milestone Documents The 100 milestone documents is compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.

Websites -Statistics

American Factfinder American Factfinder is the Census Bureau's data access point. You can find reports, tables, maps and fact sheets on United States population, economy and industry statistics. All data sets and statistics may be freely downloaded or viewed online.
Data.gov Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
FedStats FedStats is no longer being updated, but is still useful. FedStats has statistics from over 100 United States Federal government agencies. Link directly to statistical data from agencies, or access statistics by topics or subjects like crime, education, etc. Data sets vary by agency and format.

SuDoc Numbers

Most of the Government Documents at Tech are shelved by SuDoc numbers.

Here is a SuDoc Tutorial:

Here is a list of government authors with the SuDoc agency symbol:

A Agriculture

AE National Archives and Records Administration

B Broadcasting Board of Governors

C Commerce Department

CC Federal Communications Commission

CR Civil Rights Commission

D Defense Department

E Energy Department

ED Education Department

EP Environmental protection Agency

FA Fine Arts Commission

FCA Farm Credit Administration

FHF Federal Housing Financing Board

FM Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

FMC Federal Maritime Commission

FR Federal Reserve System Board of Governors

FT Federal Trade Commission

FTZ Foreign-Trade Zones Board

GA Government Accountability Office

GP Government Printing Office

GS General Services Administration

HE Health and Human Services Department

HH Housing and Urban Development Department

HS Homeland Security

I Interior Department

IC Interstate Commerce Commission

ID US Agency for International Development

ITC International Trade Commission

J Justice Department

JU Judiciary

L Labor Department

LC Library of Congress

LR National Labor Relations Board

MS Merit Systems Protection Board

NAS National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NC National Capital Planning Commission

NCU National Credit Union Administration

NF National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities

NMB National Mediation Board

NS National Science Foundation

OP Overseas Private Investment Corporation

P United States Postal Service

PE Peace Corps

PM Personnel Management Office

PR President of the United States

PREX Executive Office of the President

PRVP Vice President of the United States

RR Railroad Retirement Board

S State Department

SBA Small Business Administration

SE Securities and Exchange Commission

SI Smithsonian Institution

SSA Social Security Administration

T Treasury Department

TD Transportation Department

TDA US Trade and Development Agency

VA Veterans Affairs Department

X and Y Congress