These tips are meant for use with the library's subscription databases. The search mechanism works differently and more efficiently than an Internet search engine such as Google.
use keywords or phrases (two words) that are most relevant to your research
cats AND dogs
brainstorm for synonyms or other words that define what you are looking for. Put the OR between synonyms
cats OR felines
use the quotation marks to ensure that the words in your phrase are searched together and not treated as two separate words
"domestic animals"
nest by grouping sets of keywords between parentheses when using more than one Boolean operator.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. [EBSCO] EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. [ProQuest] ProQuest Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
email: 