about/libraryspace/collections/electronic

about/libraryspace/collections/electronic: Home

About arrow icon Library Space arrow icon Collections arrow icon Electronic
Access is granted to all affiliates of Arkansas Tech University.
A database is an organized collection of data, usually stored electronically, that includes tools for easy search and retrieval of information. This would qualify to almost all our electronic resources, but there are differences between them. Most will have a tool for retrieval, but what is retrieved may differ from one database to another.
The distinction between databases is often done regarding the content that it offers. Here is a list of the most frequent content types found in electronic databases accessible through the library website.
  • full text: access to the entire text of an article (mostly scholarly material). Many times, the retrieved document is a digital copy (usually in PDF) of the print journal, showing the entire pages where the article was printed.
  • citations/abstracts: access to a summary of the article and its publication information. However, there is no access to the full-text through those databases.
  • newspapers: some databases will show the articles in PDF (scan of original printed format) and some will simply show the content in an HTML format (loss of formatting and images)
  • eBooks: access to over 250,000 books on all topics and subjects
  • streaming media: films, music of all styles, audiobooks, music sheets
  • index: arrangement (by author, title, or subject) citations to articles in a selected group of periodicals
  • interactive: responding to a user's input so the content may be delivered
  • images: historical and geographical maps, photographs, pictures
  • directory: list of persons or organizations, systematically arranged, giving address, affiliations, etc. for individuals and address, officers, functions, and similar data for organizations
© 2017 Arkansas Tech University, Russellville, Arkansas
All trademarks herein belong to their respective owners.