LC-2023-04: Tech Library

The SciTech Premium Collection provides indexing, abstracting, and full articles, reports, and media back to 1946 in the natural sciences, computer science, engineering, and material sciences.

The interface enables searching with keywords, or by leveraging one of several thesauri of controlled vocabulary, including the ASFA Thesaurus, MeSH 2022, Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Terms, and the Technology Thesaurus.

Researchers interested in Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) can use the EIS Controlled Terms, or search by EIS Number, EPA Number, or by limiting to the Reports source type.

The Annual ATU Library Survey is now live and listening. The survey is short, totally anonymous, and tells us how the collections, services, and spaces matter to YOU.

If you’ve ever used, during this school year, our website or stepped foot in any of the library buildings (Ozark Campus Library or the Ross Pendergraft Library & Technology Center), we want to hear what you think about your library.

Take the survey. But hurry—deadline is April 10th.

Read more about the survey in the Library Blog.

Have you ever wondered how a background is removed with a green screen and video software?

Visit the Video Lab website. We offer a green screen, 4k camera, light kit, computer workstation, and instructions from the Media Lab Staff to achieve professional results.

"The Human Library® is, in the true sense of the word, a library of people. We host events where readers can borrow human beings serving as open books and have conversations they would not normally have access to. Every human book from our bookshelf, represents a group in our society that is often subjected to prejudice, stigmatization or discrimination because of their lifestyle, diagnosis, belief, disability, social status, ethnic origin etc." ("Human Library." About the Human Library, 2022, https://humanlibrary.org/.)

This year, the Tech Human Library is on Friday April 14 in RPL 300B from 1 to 3pm. Come and unjudge someone! For more information, visit the Tech Human Library website.

Have you ever wondered what Tech students were like a century ago? Check out the Arko-agrian Literary Society from the 1923 Agricola, when ATU was still the Second District Agricultural School of Arkansas.

Do you recognize any of their names or faces? To learn more about the students and faculty from 100 years ago, take a few minutes to read the 1923 Agricola in the Online Research Commons @ ATU.

Image from the 1923 Agricola, pg. 99 (or pg. 32 of the Departments and Clubs section)

Library A-Z lists all the in-house and online services, resources, and collections located either within the building or accessed through the library website. Access to Library A-Z is easy from any library website page header (see image).

The shortcut CTRL + F finds what you are looking for: from the list of databases to an explanation of the Dewey Decimal System to where the CD collection is located. Maps of the building floors illustrate where this or that physical collection actually is. Online collections and services are just one click away.

For example, a search for "The Library Connection" or "Newsletter" reveals a link leading to the webpage that includes all available Library Connection issues.

Volume 1, Issue 2