LC-2023-09: Tech Library

OverDrive: Read thousands of books on Kindle or select from over 100 audiobooks online (so far!) using the Libby app from OverDrive. Read more about OverDrive and Libby in our latest Blog Post, scan the QR code to download the app, or browse the collection on the web.

JSTOR: ATU's JSTOR subscription has been expanded to include the Arts & Sciences I—XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health, Security Studies, and Sustainability Collections. It also includes Lives of Literature and the unique primary sources: 19th Century British Pamphlets, Global Plants, Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Asia.

The library has relocated items designated graphic novels, graphic non-fiction, manga, and comics to the first floor, behind the DVD Collection. This was initiated after multiple suggestions and requests for students wishing for a more browse-able graphic novel collection. Discover the collection virtually from the library website homepage: select "Location" from the Find It dropdown and type “Graphic” in the textbox.

We’re always looking to expand this popular collection, so feel free to email me graphic fiction and non-fiction recommendations to help us create more opportunities for student engagement and coursework connection.

The ATU Media Production Labs are a great place to start your journey in audio-visual production for multimodal literacy and digital storytelling. We offer a rich collection of software and hardware tools that you can use while you are at Arkansas Tech University. Visit our Multimodal Literacy Guide and visit the ATU Media Production Labs online or in person at the ATU Library.

The Second Monday Author Series kicks off this September with author Deena Burnett Bailey. She will discuss her book Fighting Back: Living Life Beyond Ourselves that recounts her experience as the wife of Flight 93 hero, Tom Burnett, and how she overcame her personal tragedy from September 11, 2001. She will be at the Ross Pendergraft Library & Technology Center on Monday September 11, 2023 at 6 pm. Copies of the book will be available for purchase at this event and one lucky person will win a free copy. For more information contact Luke Heffley at 479-964-0546.

Is your work in the Online Research Commons @ ATU? If not, consider the benefits. You can receive usage statistics for your Tenure & Promotion portfolio, recruit potential students interested in your research, and have a permanent place to host your work. Contact Charity Park at cpark@atu.edu for more information.

Are your students also doing research? The university had a successful 1st Annual ATU Research Symposium last April. Encourage your students to enter a project or presentation this year. It will look great on their resumes and graduate school applications. View some of last year’s research projects are viewable in the Online Research Commons @ ATU.

The OED defines an author as "The writer of a book or other work; a person whose occupation is writing books." An AI, such as ChatGPT, is not a person, thus could not be cited. In addition, an AI tool cannot take responsibility for what it writes. Nor could it defend its arguments. The OED defines plagiarism as "The action or practice of taking someone else's work, idea, etc., and passing it off as one's own." But ChatGPT is not a "someone!" As such, an AI does not plagiarize and someone integrating AI writing is not plagiarizing either.

The AI tools are fighting their own war: ChatGPT et al. try to be better (and they are succeeding) and AI writing detectors, such as Turnitin, are trying to discover the deception (and they sometimes fail).

Everyone should at least have a conversation about this: administration, faculty, students.

Volume 1, Issue 3