These tips are meant for use with the library's subscription databases. The search mechanism works differently and more efficiently than an Internet search engine such as Google.
use keywords or phrases (two words) that are most relevant to your research
cats AND dogs
brainstorm for synonyms or other words that define what you are looking for. Put the OR between synonyms
cats OR felines
use the quotation marks to ensure that the words in your phrase are searched together and not treated as two separate words
"domestic animals"
nest by grouping sets of keywords between parentheses when using more than one Boolean operator.
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations pertaining to psychology. This is the largest database for resources in Psychology.
Articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations. [EBSCO] EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. [ProQuest] ProQuest Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
This resource covers publications on social science information. Subjects: sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education. [ProQuest] ProQuest Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
