Designing and Conducting Survey Research by 
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by 
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by 
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by 
Handbook of Research Methods in Social and Personality Psychology by 
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by 
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by 
Tests in Print IX by 
The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook by You can freely search the index of tests reviewed by the Mental Measurements Yearbook series online at this website: http://buros.org/tests-reviewed-mental-measurements-yearbook-series
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures by Commercial tests are usually available for purchase by contacting the test publisher. Publishers usually have different pricing structures for private vs. organizational use. Additionally, individuals may have to fill out questionnaires designed to assess their ability to successfully administer the test. The Library cannot provide or purchase commercial tests, but you can contact a librarian to help find resources for learning more about a particular test or how to acquire it.
Many psychological tests and measures can be obtained freely or at a low cost through published research. Here are a few tips for finding and obtaining these unpublished psychological measures.
1. ETS Tests - This is one of the largest collections of tests and measures. You'll find commercial and non-commercial tests, but the interface allows you to find tests available for purchase through the ETS website.
2. Search PsycINFO - Many tests have been indexed and are possibly available in full-text from PsycINFO. Combine your search terms with the words "scale", "instrument", "evaluation", "survey", or "assessment".
Also try including the word "appended" as a Test & Measures search, by selecting Test & Measures from the search drop-down box. This will retrieve articles with the tests appended to the article. Limit to full-text for the PDF or request a copy via ILL.
3. Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: - This website, now available on archive.org, was compiled by systems librarian Helen Hough at the University of Texas provides a listing of books containing full instruments. The Ross Pendergraft Library may have some of these books available in our collection or you may have to use Interlibrary Loan to borrow the book. [List archived & may not updated beyond 2014].
4. Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC) - A listing maintained by Dr. Alan Reifman, professor of Human Development and Family Studies from Texas Tech University, with some links to full-text of measures.
5. Decision Making Individual Differences Inventory (DMIDI) - A catalog of over 170 individual difference measures commonly used in judgment and decision making research. Assembles listing of measures originally published in open access journals. Created by the Center for Research on Environmental Decisions at Columbia University.
6. Search the internet - It is possible to find some unpublished, freely available tests via Google.
7. Ask the author - Many tests and measures may be unobtainable by any other means. Asking the author directly is a common approach for obtaining copies of an unpublished psychological instrument.
If you find an unpublished measure you would like to use, you should always ask the author's permission to use it.
