Find books of different kinds in Find It by searching for author, title of work, or other keywords. Because books tend to be broader in scope, try searching for more basic information before narrowing by facets.
Held By Library: Limit to "Ross Pendergraft Library" for physical books on the shelf at the library. Note: This will exclude ebooks.
Resource Type: Select "Books".
Subject Headings: These terms will limit results to articles ABOUT the selected subject or in the GENRE of the subject. Find subject terms like "Literary Criticism" as well as terms such as the author's name or the title of the work.
Author/Creator: Exclude works written by the author by clicking the 'Exclude' box after the author's name.
Scholarly books tend to be broadly focused on either an author or some aspect of an author's works or life. To jump into the section of a book discussing a specific work, concept, person, or place, use the index at the back of the book to quickly navigate to the correct section. Each index contains an alphabetized list of terms, titles, and names with page numbers referencing where in the book that topic, name, or term can be found. Save time--use the Index!
"Index" by Ben Weiner is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0
Academic Writing and Dyslexia by 
Where Research Begins by 
The Study Skills Handbook by 
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation by 
Story Machines: How Computers Have Become Creative Writers by 
Storycraft, Second Edition by 
How to Fix Your Academic Writing Trouble: A Practical Guide by 
The Art and Architecture of Academic Writing by 
Academic writing and referencing for your policing degree by 
While all of our ebooks are also in Find It, you may want to browse in specific ebook databases.
The ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection (ACLS HEB) presents thousands of foundational books in the humanities and social sciences from hundreds of publishers.
Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection has a broad selection of works edited by American literary critic Harold Bloom.
The library has a growing collection of online available audiobooks, including the classics of literature as well as more popular fiction and non-fiction. The two collections below offer mobile apps to listen along as you go about your day doing other things.
Multidisciplinary database of ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines. [This resource is only available to ATU students, faculty, and staff.]
Streaming audiobooks concentrating largely on literary classics and educational themes, many of which can also be followed with the texts on screen.
Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection has a broad selection of works edited by American literary critic Harold Bloom.
Index of book reviews with links to some full text.
