Research Guides Home: School Counseling & Leadership: Tests & Measures

Searching Published Tests

Tests in Print VIII by Linda L. Murphy (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Robert A. Spies (Editor); Buros Institute Staff
Call Number: REFERENCE 016.37 B937t
ISBN: 0910674620
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Tests in Print is a bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published (and commercially available) test in psychology and achievement. Each entry consists of the test title, intended population, publication date, acronym (if applicable), author, publisher, foreign adaptations and references. There are no critical reviews or psychometric information on the tests; detailed information on individual tests is available in other reference books such as Mental Measurement Yearbook or Test Critiques.
The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook by Buros Buros Institute; Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Jessica L. Jonson (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE 016.1512 B93m
ISBN: 9780910674638
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
In the Mental Measurements Yearbook, you can find reviews of different tests, including descriptions. The tests are listed alphabetically by title. Each entry provides descriptive information, such as the test name, intended population, publication dates, forms and prices, test author and publisher. It also contains additional information on the extent to which reliability, validity, norming data, scoring and reporting services, and foreign language versions are available. Most entries also include one or more reviews of the test and testing materials (e.g., manuals) by qualified psychologists. You can search for tests within individual volumes by going to the Mental Measurements homepage.

Test Reviews Online
Use this link to quickly search for test names, keywords, authors. This catalog will list test REVIEWS--not the actual test. Once you locate the name of the test, use the Mental Measurements Yearbook in the REFERENCE collection to look up the review. The library owns these reviews in print--do not pay unless you want to read reviews online.

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures by Michael B. First (Editor); Deborah Blacker (Editor); A. John Rush (Editor)
Call Number: 616.89075 H363, 2008
ISBN: 1585622184
Publication Date: 2007-12-07
Includes assessments of 275 measures in a wide array of domains. Attached CD-ROM contains the full text of 150 of the reviewed measures.

Tools for Survey Design

Designing and Conducting Survey Research by Louis M. Rea; Richard A. Parker
Call Number: 300.723 R43d, 2014
ISBN: 1118767039
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1412916119
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Improving Survey Methods by Uwe Engel (Editor); Ben Jann (Editor); Peter Lynn (Editor); Annette Scherpenzeel (Editor); Patrick Sturgis (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0415836255
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Improving Surveys with Paradata: Analytic Uses of Process Information by Frauke Kreuter
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1299804543
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Getting started with Tests and Measures

This section will provide a few tips for searching and obtaining psychological tests and measures.

Searching Unpublished Tests

Many psychological tests and measures can be obtained freely or at a low cost through published research. Here are a few tips for finding and obtaining these unpublished psychological measures.

1. ETS Tests - This is one of the largest collections of tests and measures. You'll find commercial and non-commercial tests, but the interface allows you to find tests available for free downloads or purchase through the ETS website.

2. Search PsycINFO - Many tests have been indexed and are possibly available in full-text from PsycINFO. Combine your search terms with the words "scale", "instrument", "evaluation", "survey", or "assessment".

Also try including the word "appended" as a Test & Measures search, by selecting Test & Measures from the search drop-down box. This will retrieve articles with the tests appended to the article. Limit to full-text for the PDF or request a copy via ILL.

3. Search the internet - It is possible to find some unpublished, freely available tests via Google.

4. Ask the author - Many tests and measures may be unobtainable by any other means. Asking the author directly is a common approach for obtaining copies of an unpublished psychological instrument.

If you find an unpublished measure you would like to use, you should always ask the author's permission to use it.

Books of unpublished tests

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by Bert A. Goldman; David F. Mitchell
Call Number: 153.93 G569d, 2008
ISBN: 143380137X
Publication Date: 2007-08-15

How to Obtain Published Tests

Commercial tests are usually available for purchase by contacting the test publisher. Publishers usually have different pricing structures for private vs. organizational use. Additionally, individuals may have to fill out questionnaires designed to assess their ability to successfully administer the test.