Criminal Justice

Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Includes links to several resources and statistical databases.

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. It is a clearinghouse of data reported by over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies participating in the program.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. Not only will you find crime statistics but also corrections data as well as the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). Includes data analysis tools for mapping statistics across categories, time, and locations.

Developed by the University of Albany, this electronic resource includes statistics on crime, victims, arrests, courts, prosecution, sentencing, parole, jails, prisons, and the death penalty as supplied by multiples sources including the federal government. This resource also include statistics on public opinion in relation to crime, corrections, and the law.

Find popular facts across multiple segments of government data including census, economic data, housing, labor, and more. Look up quick facts about an area or create custom data tables across multiple statistical sources. Datasets include American Community Survey, Census, American Housing Survey, Census of Governments, and the Economic Census.

Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

These are the tables and codebooks from the Bureau of Justice Statistics. These sets are also found in Data.gov

Offers specialized data on campus safety from the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes tools for creating custom reports or downloading data sets for individual institutions or all institutions.