Practical Handbook of Echocardiography: 101 Case Studies Echocardiography is now one of the most commonly used diagnostic imaging tools, yet many clinicians remain unaware of the range of conditions echo can reveal or how echo can be used to help plan therapy. Moreover, it can be quite challenging even for the most seasoned practitioners to spot unusual conditions. Compiled by three echocardiographers with more than 100 years of clinical experience between them, Practical Handbook of Echocardiography uses a case-based approach to explain in detail the full spectrum of echocardiographic modalities and how to optimize their use in the clinical setting. This practical new book: Covers the full gamut of echocardiographic modalities, including M-mode, 2-D,3-D and Doppler (PW, CW, color flow, tissue and strain), transesophageal (intra-operative and routine) and contrast Describes cases in both clinical and echocardiographic terms including very interesting cases and the new clinical techniques Features beautifully reproduced, well-labeled, full color echocardiograms Includes accompanying DVD with real-time video clips Appropriate for physician echocardiographers and all cardiologists, as well as echocardiographic technicians, Practical Handbook of Echocardiography is the ideal concise guide to using echocardiography to make definitive diagnoses and improve patient outcomes.
This book comprehensively covers unusual and rare pathological cases in echocardiography. Chapters cover cases from diagnosis, to treatment and prognosis with engaging video clips including three dimensional video clips to enhance appreciation and understanding of echocardiography use in clinical practice. Cases covered include: pseudoaneurysm of aortic graft, congenital absence of pericardium, coarctation of aorta and patent ductus arteriosus. Clinical Cases in the Echocardiography Lab features comprehensive overviews of a wide range of rare pathologies in echocardiography, and is an essential resource for both the novice and experienced cardiology practitioner.
This book covers the full range of Doppler echocardiography in infants and children, documenting the wide variety of potential findings with the aid of a wealth of high‑quality images. The imaging features of more than 20 conditions on conventional two‑dimensional echocardiography, pulsed wave, continuous wave and color Doppler imaging are described and depicted, drawing attention to differential diagnostic criteria and other issues of importance in everyday clinical practice. Each condition is individually addressed, covering all relevant aspects, and helpful information is also provided on the normal examination. The book is supplemented by more than 500 videos demonstrating typical findings of two-dimensional and color Doppler echocardiography. Special chapters focus on the differential diagnosis of cyanotic infants and echocardiography specifically for the neonatologist. The authors' aim in compiling this book is to equip the reader with the knowledge required in order to employ Doppler echocardiography optimally and to interpret findings confidently and correctly. Doppler Echocardiography in Infancy and Childhood will be an invaluable reference for echocardiographers, pediatricians, neonatologists, and pediatric and general radiologists.
This book is a practical guiding manual to explain critical clinical practice in three-dimensional (3D) echocardiography. The use of this technology has been limited to certain pioneer imaging units, but with the advent of lower cost hardware it is spreading and reaching more users that will start to use it often without previous experience or formal academic training. This title provides these readers with a full review of the features, clinical indications and methodological aspects of 3D echo in a practical, “how-to-do-it” way. 3D-echocardiography techniques are becoming more diverse, as they are applied to transthoracic and transesophageal studies, 3D-wall motion tracking, fusion of echocardiographic and fluoroscopy navigation, fusion of wall motion tracking and coronary tomography. All these aspects are described and explained deeply in this book.
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the practical aspects of contrast echocardiography. It also covers all the material in the guidelines published by the American Society of Echocardiography (ASE) in 2018 and the recommendations set out by the European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging (EACVI) in 2017. Contrast echocardiography at present is only used in 5-10% of cases, but this is expected to grow rapidly following the recommendations of the ASE and EACVI. The chapters cover the approved indications and provide practical advice on how to administer the contrast agents and how to optimize the recordings as well as how to deal with the pitfalls. The reader will find all the information on how to use contrast agents for assessment of shunts, LV volumes and function as well as myocardial diseases and masses. Detailed protocols are included for stress echocardiography and myocardial perfusion imaging. Other topics covered include the use of contrast agents for coronary sonography and transesophageal echocardiography.
Contrast Echocardiography: Compendium for Clinical Practice comprehensively covers all aspects of the clinical use of contrast echocardiography and has been written by two cardiologists who share their experience from their high volume echo laboratories. One of the authors has been a member of both the ASE guidelines and EACVI recommendation writing groups. It is therefore, a critical text for echocardiographers and sonographers who perform echocardiography.
This book comprehensively reviews the use of echocardiography in the rapidly evolving field of critical care cardiology. Increasingly, cardiac care units (CCU) are focusing on the management of patients with multisystem diseases, advanced hemodynamics compromise, complex ventricular arrhythmias, and established or incipient multi-organ failure. This book covers ultrasound applications in such topics as hemodynamic assessment and the assessment of patients with intracardiac devices. Syndrome-based echocardiography in the CCU is also covered with an emphasis on using echocardiography in patients with acute dyspnea, acute chest pain and neurologic syndromes. The use of contrast echocardiography in the CCU is also covered. Echocardiography in the CCU reveals the essential role of various echocardiographic modalities in modern acute cardiovascular care. This is therefore a critical resource for all cardiology practitioners and trainees who use echocardiography in CCUs.
Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine—this comprehensive collection of titles covers the wide range of topics relevant to anyone studying health and medicine. ACCESS FROM WITHIN OZARK CAMPUS ONLY [Films on Demand]