In 1971, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) published the first edition of Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured and laid the foundation of EMS training. Today, the Eleventh Edition transforms how EMS education is delivered throughout the world and helps develop world-class EMS providers around the globe..Based on the National EMS Education Standards and the 2015 CPR/ECC Guidelines, the Eleventh Edition offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures students' comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create a robust and innovative EMT training solution.Today, the AAOS suite of EMS educational resources, from first aid and CPR to critical care transport, is the gold standard in training programs by offering exceptional content and instructional resources that meet the diverse needs of today's educators and students.Current State-of-the-Art Medical ContentThe Eleventh Edition aligns with current medical standards--from PHTLS to NASEMSO--and incorporates evidence-based medical concepts to ensure students and instructors have accurate, insightful interpretation of medical science as it applies to prehospital medicine today.Application to Real-World EMSThrough evolving patient case studies in each chapter, the Eleventh Edition gives students real-world context to apply the knowledge gained in the chapter, clarifying how the information is used to care for patients in the field, and pushing students to engage in critical thinking and discussion.A Foundation for LifeThe Eleventh Edition is built on the premise that students need a solid foundation in the basics and then appropriate reinforcement. The Eleventh Edition provides students with a comprehensive understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and medical terminology. Concepts are briefly reviewed within related subsequent chapters, solidifying the foundational knowledge and offering a context when studying specific emergencies. Patient Assessment, a critical topic, is presented as a single, comprehensive chapter, to ensure students understand patient assessment as a single, integrated process--the way providers actually practice it in the field. Core concepts of Patient Assessment are reinforced in clinical chapters, where the unique aspects of the illness or injury are highlighted.
Fully revised to meet current guidelines, Pharmacology for the Prehospital Professional, Second Edition offers a complete and practical understanding of pharmacology in the prehospital setting.The Second Edition provides a unique problem-based approach to ensure that you, as a prehospital provider, are prepared to effectively administer the drugs your patients need. Clinical scenarios present case information just as you will learn it in the classroom and encounter it in the field. By placing each drug in its relevant context, this text teaches you to identify the proper drug for a specific patient in a specific situation.This Second Edition includes:Contextualized profiles of over 90 drugs used in prehospital care for quick identification at critical moments.Problem-oriented approaches to real scenarios encountered in the field.Step-by-step procedural descriptions of pharmacologic processes commonly performed in the prehospital setting.A Medication Math chapter that strengthens your dosage-calculation skills.Legal Aspects and Risk Management coverage to help you avoid common mistakes made in prehospital care.Review questions that reinforce important chapter concepts and test your understanding.
Arrhythmia Recognition, Second Edition teaches any student how to interpret a rhythm strip using foundational concepts and a step-by-step approach, covered in an unintimidating, conversational writing style that facilitates learning of this complex subject. This text is appropriate for anyone--nurses, physician assistants, cardiovascular technicians, allied health professionals, paramedics, medical students, and physicians--wishing to learn how to accurately interpret based on a solid understanding of electrophysiology and pathophysiologic mechanisms in the heart, and how these translate to the rhythm strip. It is also an excellent reference text for instructors wishing to expand their knowledge of arrhythmia interpretation. This edition includes full coverage of wide-complex tachycardias in four chapters: the basics, the criteria, the approach, and a chapter on synthesis/interpretation, presented in a case study format. Beginner's Perspective boxes written by someone new to arrhythmia recognition provide tips and insight on how to approach the material as a beginner. This edition also includes chapter objectives written to Bloom's taxonomy.
In this book, Andy Collen offers a wealth of knowledge about the importance of decision making in healthcare practice to reduce clinical risk and improve outcomes for patients. The text explores the role of the modern paramedic and of the paramedic as a critical thinker. It offers a unique perspective on clinical decision making, highlighting important aspects such as the balance between intuition and experience as well as professional issues. Each chapter includes: * Case studies, scenarios and real life examples * Practice tips and checklists * The latest theory, evidence and research * Discussion of ethical considerations, keeping the correct balance of confidence and competence and how to deal with dilemmas in practice. It will be essential reading for paramedic students and all ambulance clinicians undertaking continuing professional development.
Medsurg, Critical care, Cardiology, & Peds essentials Includes ACLS, CPR, and PALS guidelines. Lists the drugs required for ACLS and PALS, including adult and pediatric dosages. Covers PALS concepts and protocols that are unique to the newborn, infant, and pediatric patient, including formulas. Identifies important clinical implications in "Clinical Tips". Build clinical confidence ECG practice and recognition Common medication formulas for calculation Respiratory and AED/defibrillation skills Simulation case studies / megacodes with critical-thinking exercises
Completely updated and revised to include the 2005 guidelines for cardiovascular resuscitation (CPR) and emergency cardiovascular care (ECC), CPR and AED, Fifth Edition integrates the training of CPR and AED into one simple program. This program teaches basic life support and addresses breathing and cardiac emergencies in caring for adults, children, and infants. It is also designed to facilitate the efficient training, testing, and retesting in the use of automated external defibrillators (AEDs).
Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine—this comprehensive collection of titles covers the wide range of topics relevant to anyone studying health and medicine. ACCESS FROM WITHIN OZARK CAMPUS ONLY [Films on Demand]