Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Instruction Home: Home

Virtual Library Instruction

All types of instruction can be done via Webex. Due to the capacity limits in the classrooms, Webex would be the ideal format. 

Types of Library Instruction

Basic Instruction - the purpose of this session is for students to be able to:

  • find resources using the library discovery tool, find it...
    •  find peer reviewed journal articles & describe the peer review process 
  • use research guides for subject specific databases and resources
    • find tools within various databases to capture the citation information 
    • explain the need for proper citation of resources
  • use search strategies to refine research questions and topic
    • vary keywords, Boolean operators, filters, synonyms for best results
    • use the process of researching to ask questions and promote critical thinking
  • differentiate between the value of library subscription databases and that of the free open web.

Information Literacy

ACRL Frameworks

  • authority is constructed & contextual
  • information has value
  • searching as strategic exploration                    

 

AAC&U Value Rubric

  • determine extent of information needed
  • access the needed information
  • access & use information ethically and legally

 

Research Instruction - the purpose of this session is to refresh and build on the basic instruction goals as well as for students to be able to:

  • navigate the library website for specific databases, journals, and materials relevant to specific research need 
    • use A-Z Databases and other library directories to find resources for specific needs
  • organize and manage resources and bibliographic information 
    • create a RefWorks account and export/import resources & find help to use all features available
  • use advanced search features to retrieve and evaluate information on the free open web
    • use Google Advanced Search to find authoritative resources (.gov, .edu)
    • navigate a website to find purpose and authority of information

Information Literacy

ACRL Frameworks

  • authority is constructed & contextual
  • information creation as a process
  • scholarship as a conversation
  • research as inquiry                                                       

AAC&U Value Rubric

  • evaluate information & its sources critically
  • use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose
  • access & use information ethically & legally

 

 

Workshop for Students - You may request a workshop for your students to be held outside of class time. You can choose a specific skill or focus area for the workshop. 

  • RefWorks
  • Using Subject Guides 
  • Creating Annotated Bibliographies
  • Specific Citation Style Workshops (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.)

Workshop for Faculty - Get your colleagues together and we can set up a time and place for your group to get an update on new databases, tools, and features available:

  •  RefWorks
  • eBooks in the collection as textbooks (OER)
  • Get the Most Out of: ProQuest Databases & Tools
  • Get the Most Out of: Ebsco Databases & Tools

Individual Sessions - Students and faculty can request a one on one appointment with a librarian. Faculty may want to suggest or require students to do this if you feel that the particular student would benefit more from such a session. The goal would be to help students develop strategies for their individual research needs. Faculty are welcome to do so as well.

These do not need to be on this calendar.

To document this type of meeting use: LibAnswers >RefAnalytics >Add Transaction 

Introductions to the Library

These sessions do not involve any instruction. These are simply meant to introduce students to services and resources available and to connect a human face to the library. Highly recommended for First Year Experience classes (Tech 1001, CSP 1013, etc.)

Overview - a 15 - 20 minute overview of library service and materials. No instruction is given the purpose of this session is to let students know what is available to them and where to go for help.

Tour - 15 - 20 minute walk through the library describing services and location

Overview with a Tour - This is the same type of session as the above except the class is taken through the actual library before the session. The two together take roughly 30 minutes.