Actions/interventions uniquely organized by priority with selected rationales Icons within the prioritized interventions for acute care, collaboration, community/home care/cultural considerations, diagnostic studies, medications, and lifespan considerations Defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively Documentation section that focuses on the other steps of the nursing process, reminding students of the importance and necessity of recording each step NIC and NOC labels at the end of each diagnosis Index with hundreds of diseases/disorders with prioritized associated nursing diagnoses
Basic math review helps students learn to perform the calculations necessary to administer medications correctly. "Master the Essentials" tables cover side effects, precautions, contraindications, and interactions for each classification. Drug classification review tables reinforce need-to-know information in each class. "Fast Tip" boxes offer quick facts and mnemonics. "A Closer Look" boxes examine important information in detail. "Check-up Questions" throughout each chapter promote understanding and help students retain and apply the information. Coverage of specific drugs provides context for learning drug classifications. Critical-thinking exercises encourage students to think beyond the chapter and apply their new knowledge to real-life scenarios. Application exercises and review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce learning.
Full-color illustrations, tables, bulleted lists, and a reader-friendly writing style to make concepts easy to understand Coverage of mental health conditions across the lifespan Care plans with detailed descriptions of specific interventions and expected outcomes Content on specific nursing interventions and basic psychiatric nursing skills Coverage of psychopharmacology, including must-know side effects Case studies with critical-thinking questions to emphasize clinical reasoning skills Crucial information on palliative and restorative care for long-term care settings Discussions on alternative treatment modalities to facilitate communications with people of different religious and cultural backgrounds as well as descriptions of religious and cultural beliefs and their impact on mental health and treatment
Ideal for courses in nursing programs covering drug and/or drug administration. Also serves practicing nurses Monographs provide user-friendly "Cure" and "Care" organization to allow users to find must-know information quickly and easily Designed to focus on patient safety by calling out 'High Alert' drugs and using red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects Includes 1-year free access to Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, a database of over 5,000 drugs and FDA news alerts Canadian-specific content, including Canadian trade names and drugs specifically approved for use in Canada A wealth of online resources including an audio pronunciation library, calculators, and video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
The eBook Clinical Collection subscription was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers and students of medical disciplines. Featured in the collection are over 2,000 recent titles covering general practice, various specialties, topics in nursing and allied health, and supporting sciences. Content is updated quarterly, and all titles are available with unlimited user access--particularly helpful in healthcare settings for users with time-sensitive research needs. [EBSCO] EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine—this comprehensive collection of titles covers the wide range of topics relevant to anyone studying health and medicine. ACCESS FROM WITHIN OZARK CAMPUS ONLY [Films on Demand]