The Special Collections and Arkansas Tech University Archivesconsist of rare, unique, and locally or regionally important materials housed in a restricted area within the Ross Pendergraft Library & Technology Center.

The Archives contain unpublished materials, including photos, documents, negatives, media, and other material pertaining to the history of Arkansas Tech University and the surrounding area.

The Special Collections contain published materials, such as Arkansas Tech University theses and dissertations, yearbooks, course catalogs, budgets, and other commonly requested documents pertaining to the history of Arkansas Tech University. It also contains published materials about Arkansas and by Arkansans. Other rare and unique materials are moved to special collections as warranted.

At this time, only the published materials are open to researchers. They can only be accessed by appointment. You must complete the Special Collections and Arkansas Tech University Archives Registration Form below.

The Archives are open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. when the library is open. Always check the library operating hours.

An Archives staff member will retrieve the requested materials and place them on a designated table for the researcher to use. If a multi-box collection is requested, only one box will be available at a time.

Patrons will be asked to look through one folder at a time to maintain order. Place markers will be provided for scan requests. Patrons may photograph material if it is not restricted, but flash photography is prohibited.

If a patron would like material scanned, an Archives staff member will assist them in scanning the items with the library’s overhead scanner. Depending on the condition of the material, this option may not be available.

Scan requests cannot exceed 50 pages per visit. Scanning published materials are subject to copyright law found in Title 17 of the U.S. Code. Some materials may be unavailable due to their condition, state of processing, or privacy restrictions.

Patrons will be asked to put any prohibited personal property in a locker while they use the collections. Below are lists of prohibited and accepted items to carry while using the Arkansas Tech University Archives collections.