100 Milestone Documents A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History Provides texts of important documents from the 15th century to the present day. Includes some audio files.
American Journeys American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later." Created to support History Day student projects. Documents can be searched by keyword or by date.
American Memory - Library of Congress Copies of documents, maps, photographs, audio and video files, and other source material on all aspects of American history and culture.
American Presidency Project Includes over 75,000 historical documents which include such things as radio addresses, fireside chats, correspondent’s dinners, State of the Union Addresses.
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology Presents 14 annotated transcripts of interviews of former slaves conducted by the WPA in the 1930s. Some sound files and photographs are included.
Avalon Project Provides electronic texts of documents important to the fields of law, history, economics, and political science, including Annual Messages of the Presidents, a Documentary History of the US Constitution; US Treaties 1789-1990; and documents relating to the history of slavery.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project Presents "more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."
Chronicling America Search newspapers from all over America from 1860 - 1920
CSPAN Video Archive The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives." Source material for speeches, political science, journalism, public policy, and history.
Documenting the American South Texts, images, and audio files related to the history of the American South. Search or browse by collections, authors, titles, subjects, or by region
Documents from the Continental Congress The Continental Congress Broadside Collection (256 titles) and the Constitutional Convention Broadside Collection (21 titles) contain 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
Early Virginia Religious Petitions Present "images of 423 petitions submitted to the Virginia legislature between 1774 and 1802 from more than eighty counties and cities. Drawn from the Library of Virginia's Legislative Petitions collection, the petitions concern such topics as the historic debate over the separation of church and state championed by James Madison and Thomas Jefferson, the rights of dissenters such as Quakers and Baptists, the sale and division of property in the established church, and the dissolution of unpopular vestries."
Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture Presents signed articles, photos, video, audio, and documents on the people, places, events, and environment of Arkansas. This initial release offers more than 700 articles. Includes essays reworked from Arkansas Biography (2000) as well as links to lesson plans.
Holt-Atherton Special Collections “The mission of Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to manuscript collections made up of primary sources that focus primarily on California and American history, as well as a specialized book collection on the American West, and the university archives. “
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 Selected materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that chronicles voluntary immigration to US. Contains over 410,000 pages, 100 maps, and 7,800 photos
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century
Women Working Books, Manuscripts, and other documents from 1800 - 1930.
