LC-2023-10: Tech Library

Struggling with statics, aka MCEG 2013? How to Ace Statics with Jeff Hanson gets right to the point. It boils down what you need to know, lays out pro tips from the experts, and points out common pitfalls to avoid.

This unique eBook, now part of Access Engineering, combines Hanson's YouTube videos with plenty of additional information and opportunities to test your knowledge.

In addition to How to Ace Statics, check out Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many other engineering handbooks in Access Engineering.

Do you like thumbing through the New Yorker or National Geographic, but hate the hassle of coming to the library? The library is now trialing the subscription “OverDrive Magazines.”

You will be able to use the same OverDrive Libby app (currently used to access OverDrive eBooks and audiobooks) to access the OverDrive Magazines.

If you are interested in participating in the trial, you can request access to OverDrive Magazines for the next thirty days. Email Angela Black, Technical Services Librarian, at ablack9@atu.edu.

Have you seen the large collection of free streaming video resources available through the ATU Library website? Peruse over seventy high quality video sites that offer a vast array of content for your research and teaching.

Monday, October 16, at 4 PM - Database Searching Webinar - registration

This session will help you with search strategies such as narrowing a topic, selecting the proper database, and using Boolean logic in order to do an effective and efficient search ending with the results you need.

Tuesday, October 17, at 4 PM - RefWorks Webinar - registration

This session will demonstrate how to create an account in RefWorks and highlight the most useful features. RefWorks is a resource management tool that is available to all students, faculty, and staff. You will learn how to create a bibliography, add the “Save to RefWorks” button, and export/import resources.

The Arkansas Tech University Archives & Special Collections now has its own webpage on the library website.

The Special Collections, including the books and published ATU materials, are open by appointment when you fill out a brief online registration form.

Watch for announcements as we begin opening the ATU Archives in the near future. Finding Aids for those collections will be accessible on our webpage. Find out more about the Arkansas Tech University Archives & Special Collections.

In addition to the personal or library physical items, faculty can now place on reserves electronic items held by the library. This includes eBooks, streaming video and/or audio, and even scholarly articles. Faculty can select a wide variety of items for their courses and all materials would then be accessible from one place: the online Course Reserves. Students would sign in to access electronic items.

Also, faculty is now able to suggest the purchase of an item that would be placed on reserves.

The Faculty Course Reserve Request has been updated to reflect all these changes.

Volume 1, Issue 4