The 2018 ASHRAE Handbook--Refrigeration covers the refrigeration equipment and systems for applications other than human comfort. This volume includes data and guidance on cooling, freezing, and storing food; industrial and medical applications of refrigeration; and low-temperature refrigeration.
Ace the Major HVAC Licensing Exams! Featuring more than 800 accurate practice questions and answers, HVAC Licensing Study Guide, Third Edition, provides everything you need to prepare for and pass the major HVAC licensing exams. This highly-effective, career-building study resource is filled with essential calculations, troubleshooting tips for the job site, hundreds of detailed illustrations, and information on the latest codes and standards. You will get brand-new coverage of troubleshooting for small motors and electrical equipment for HVAC. This thoroughly revised study guide helps you: *Master the material most likely to appear on the ARI, NATE, ICE, RSES, and HVAC licensing exams *Improve your test-taking ability with 800+ true-false and multiple-choice questions and answers *Learn about current refrigerant usage and regulations *Keep up with the most recent codes and standards *Acquire the confidence, skills, and knowledge needed to pass your exam Covers key HVAC topics, including: *Heat sources *Heating systems *Boilers, burners, and burner systems *Piping systems *Ductwork sizing *Refrigerants *Cooling and distribution systems *Refrigeration equipment and processes *Filters and air flow *Maintenance, servicing, and safety *Humidification, dehumidification, and psychrometrics *EPA-refrigerant reclaimers *Heating circuits *Safety on the job *Trade associations and codes *Troubleshooting for small motors *Electrical equipment for HVAC
The definitive reference on the role of steam in the production and operation of power plants for electric generation and industrial process applications For more than 80 years, Steam Plant Operation has been an unmatched source of information on steam power plants, including design, operation, and maintenance. The Tenth Edition emphasizes the importance of devising a comprehensive energy plan utilizing all economical sources of energy, including fossil fuels, nuclear power, and renewable energy sources. This trusted classic discusses the important role that steam plays in our power production and identifies the associated risks and potential problems of other energy sources. You will find concise explanations of key concepts, from fundamentals through design and operation. For energy students, Steam Plant Operation provides a solid introduction to steam power plant technology. This practical guide includes common power plant calculations such as plant heat rate, boiler efficiency, pump performance, combustion processes, and explains the systems necessary to control plant emissions. Numerous illustrations and clear presentation of the material will prove invaluable for those preparing for an operator's license exam. Examples throughout show real-world application of the topics discussed. COVERAGE INCLUDES: * Steam and Its Importance * Boilers * Design and Construction of Boilers * Combustion of Fuels * Boiler Settings, Combustion Systems, and Auxiliary Equipment * Boiler Accessories * Operation and Maintenance of Boilers * Pumps * Steam Turbines, Condensers, and Cooling Towers * Operating and Maintaining Steam Turbines, Condensers, Cooling Towers, and Auxiliaries * Auxiliary Steam Plant Equipment * Environmental Control Systems * Waste-to-Energy Plants