Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specific Databases
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Students, researchers, teachers, and professionals benefit from the precision and comprehensive discovery the database provides through peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings. [ProQuest]
ProQuest Help Page
New Books - February 2019
Cereal Grains: Assessing and Managing Quality by Cereal Grains: Assessing and Managing Quality, Second Edition, provides a timely update to this key reference work. Thoroughly revised from the first edition, this volume examines the latest research and advances in the field. New chapters have been added on alternative grains, including ancient grains and pseudocereals, biosecurity, and industrial processing of grains, amongst others. Quality and food safety are important throughout the value-addition chain, from breeding, production, harvest, storage, transport, processing, and marketing. At all stages, analysis is needed so that quality management can proceed intelligently. These considerations are examined for each of the major cereal species, including wheat (common and durum), rye and triticale, barley and oats, rice, maize (corn), pseudocereal species, sorghum, and the millets. Divided into five sections, the book analyses these for the range of cereal species before a final section summarizes key findings.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
Farm to Table: The Essential Guide to Sustainable Food Systems for Students, Professionals, and Consumers by With information on purchasing, marketing, and employing farm-to-table principles in restaurants, schools, hospitals, and other institutions Nearly a century ago, the idea of "local food" would have seemed perplexing, since virtually all food was local. Food for daily consumption--fruits, vegetables, grains, meat, and dairy products--was grown at home or sourced from local farms. Today, most of the food consumed in the United States and, increasingly, around the globe, is sourced from industrial farms and concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs), which power a food system rife with environmental, economic, and health-related problems. The tide, however, is slowly but steadily turning back in what has been broadly termed the "farm-to-table" movement. In Farm to Table, Darryl Benjamin and Chef Lyndon Virkler explore how the farm-to-table philosophy is pushing back modern, industrialized food production and moving beyond isolated "locavore" movements into a broad and far-reaching coalition of farmers, chefs, consumers, policy advocates, teachers, institutional buyers, and many more all working to restore healthful, sustainable, and affordable food for everyone. Divided into two distinct but complementary halves, "Farm" and "Table," Farm to Table first examines the roots of our contemporary industrial food system, from the technological advances that presaged the "Green Revolution" to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Earl Butz's infamous dictum to farmers to "Get big or get out" in the 1970s. Readers will explore the many threats to ecology and human health that our corporatized food system poses, but also the many alternatives--from permaculture to rotation-intensive grazing--that small farmers are now adopting to meet growing consumer demand. The second half of the book is dedicated to illuminating best practices and strategies for schools, restaurants, healthcare facilities, and other business and institutions to partner with local farmers and food producers, from purchasing to marketing. No longer restricted to the elite segments of society, the farm-to-table movement now reaches a wide spectrum of Americans from all economic strata and in a number of settings, from hospital and office cafeterias, to elementary schools and fast-casual restaurants. Farm to Table is a one-of-a-kind resource on how to integrate sustainable principles into each of these settings and facilitate intelligent, healthful food choices at every juncture as our food system evolves. While borrowing from the best ideas of the past, the lessons herein are designed to help contribute to a healthier, more sustainable, and more equitable tomorrow.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
The Food Sharing Revolution: How Start-Ups, Pop-Ups, and Co-Ops are Changing the Way We Eat by Marvin is a contract hog farmer in Iowa. He owns his land, his barn, his tractor, and his animal crates. He has seen profits drop steadily for the last twenty years and feels trapped. Josh is a dairy farmer on a cooperative in Massachusetts. He doesn't own his cows, his land, his seed, or even all of his equipment. Josh has a healthy income and feels like he's made it. In The Food Sharing Revolution, Michael Carolan tells the stories of traditional producers like Marvin, who are being squeezed by big agribusiness, and entrepreneurs like Josh, who are bucking the corporate food system. The difference is Josh has eschewed the burdens of individual ownership and is tapping into the sharing economy. Josh and many others are sharing tractors, seeds, kitchen space, their homes, and their cultures. They are business owners like Dorothy, who opened her bakery with the help of a no-interest, crowd-sourced loan. They are chefs like Camilla, who introduces diners to her native Colombian cuisine through peer-to-peer meal sharing. Their success is not only good for aspiring producers, but for everyone who wants an alternative to monocrops and processed foods. The key to successful sharing, Carolan shows, is actually sharing. He warns that food, just like taxis or hotels, can be co-opted by moneyed interests. But when collaboration is genuine, the sharing economy can offer both producers and eaters freedom, even sovereignty. The result is a healthier, more sustainable, and more ethical way to eat.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Pigs, Pork, and Heartland Hogs: From Wild Boar to Baconfest by Among the first creatures to help humans attain the goal of having enough to eat was the pig, which provided not simply enough, but general abundance. Domesticated early and easily, herds grew at astonishing rates (only rabbits are more prolific). Then, as people spread around the globe, pigs and traditions went with them, with pigs making themselves at home wherever explorers or settlers carried them. Today, pork is the most commonly consumed meat in the world--and no one else in the world produces more pork than the American Midwest. Pigs and pork feature prominently in many cuisines and are restricted by others. In the U.S. during the early1900s, pork began to lose its preeminence to beef, but today, we are witnessing a resurgence of interest in pork, with talented chefs creating delicacies out of every part of the pig. Still, while people enjoy "pigging out," few know much about hog history, and fewer still know of the creatures' impact on the world, and specifically the Midwest. From brats in Wisconsin to tenderloin in Iowa, barbecue in Kansas City to porketta in the Iron Range to goetta in Cincinnati, the Midwest is almost defined by pork. Here, tracking the history of pig as pork, Cynthia Clampitt offers a fun, interesting, and tasty look at pigs as culture, calling, and cuisine.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Reinventing the Wheel: Milk, Microbes, and the Fight for Real Cheese by In little more than a century, industrial practices have altered every aspect of the cheesemaking process, from the bodies of the animals that provide the milk to the microbial strains that ferment it. Reinventing the Wheel explores what has been lost as raw-milk, single-farm cheeses have given way to the juggernaut of factory production. In the process, distinctiveness and healthy rural landscapes have been exchanged for higher yields and monoculture. However, Bronwen and Francis Percival find reason for optimism. Around the world--not just in France, but also in the United States, England, and Australia--enterprising cheesemakers are exploring the techniques of their great-grandparents. At the same time, using sophisticated molecular methods, scientists are upending conventional wisdom about the role of microbes in every part of the world. Their research reveals the resilience and complexity of the indigenous microbial communities that contribute to the flavor and safety of cheese. One experiment at a time, these dynamic scientists, cheesemakers, and dairy farmers are reinventing the wheel.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Story of Soy by The humble soybean is the world's most widely grown and most traded oilseed. And though found in everything from veggie burgers to cosmetics, breakfast cereals to plastics, soy is also a poorly understood crop often viewed in extreme terms--either as a superfood or a deadly poison. In this illuminating book, Christine M. Du Bois reveals soy's hugely significant role in human history as she traces the story of soy from its domestication in ancient Asia to the promise and peril ascribed to it in the twenty-first century. Traveling across the globe and through millennia, The Story of Soy includes a cast of fascinating characters as vast as the soy fields themselves--entities who've applauded, experimented with, or despised soy. From Neolithic villagers to Buddhist missionaries, European colonialists, Japanese soldiers, and Nazi strategists; from George Washington Carver to Henry Ford, Monsanto, and Greenpeace; from landless peasants to petroleum refiners, Du Bois explores soy subjects as diverse as its impact on international conflicts, its role in large-scale meat production and disaster relief, its troubling ecological impacts, and the nutritional controversies swirling around soy today. She also describes its genetic modification, the scandals and pirates involved in the international trade in soybeans, and the potential of soy as an intriguing renewable fuel. Featuring compelling historical and contemporary photographs, The Story of Soy is a potent reminder never to underestimate the importance of even the most unprepossesing sprout.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Wildly Successful Farming: Sustainability and the New Agricultural Land Ethic by Wildly Successful Farming tells the stories of farmers across the American Midwest who are balancing profitability and food production with environmental sustainability and a passion for all things wild. They are using innovative techniques and strategies to develop their "wildly" successful farms as working ecosystems. Whether producing grain, vegetables, fruit, meat, or milk, these next-generation agrarians look beyond the bottom line of the spreadsheet to the biological activity on the land as key measures of success. Written by agricultural journalist Brian DeVore, the book is based on interviews he has conducted at farms, wildlife refuges, laboratories, test plots, and gardens over the past twenty-five years. He documents innovations in cover cropping, managed rotational grazing, perennial polyculture, and integrated pest management. His accounts provide insight into the impacts regenerative farming methods can have on wildlife, water, landscape, soils, and rural communities and suggest ways all of us can support wildly successful farmers.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
New Books - January 2019
Seeds of Science: Why We Got It So Wrong On GMOs by InSeeds of Science, eco-activist Mark Lynas lifts the lid on the controversial story and misunderstood science of GMOs. In the mid-1990s, as the global media stirred up a panic about the risks of genetically modified crops, Lynas destroyed crop fields and spoke out in the press...until he realized he was wrong. This book explains why. Twenty years after GMO crops became a source of controversy, scientists are working hard to devise new farming methods that will meet the world's food requirements while causing the minimum amount of ecological harm. We're now discovering that the environmentalist mainstream might have misjudged the GMO issue completely, and as a consequence we have forfeited two decades' worth of scientific progress in perhaps the most vital area of human need: food. No one is more aware of this fact than Mark Lynas. Starting out as one of the leading activists in the fight against GMOs-from destroying experimental crop fields to leading the charge in the press-in 2013 Lynas famously admitted that he got it all wrong. Lynas takes us back to the origins of the technology, and examines the histories of the people and companies who pioneered it. He explains what lead him to question his assumptions on GMOs, and how he is currently tracking poverty by using genetic modification to encourage better harvests. Seeds of Science provides an explanation of the research that has enabled this technology-something which led to countless misconceptions about a field that could provide perhaps the only solution to a planet with a population of ten billion people.
Call Number: 660.65 L963s, 2018 LOCATE
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Temple Grandin's Guide to Working with Farm Animals: Safe, Humane Livestock Handling Practices for the Small Farm by Award-winning author Temple Grandin is famous for her groundbreaking approach to decoding animal behavior. Now she extends her expert guidance to small-scale farming operations. Grandin's fascinating explanations of how herd animals think -- describing their senses, fears, instincts, and memories -- and how to analyze their behavior, will help you handle your livestock more safely and effectively. You'll learn to become a skilled observer of animal movement and behavior, and detailed illustrations will help you set up simple and efficient facilities for managing a small herd of 3 to 25 cattle or pigs, or 5 to 100 goats or sheep.
Call Number: 636 G736t, 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
New Books - November 2018
Farm Animal Behaviour: Characteristics for Assessment of Health and Welfare by Completely updated and revised, and with a new author team, this second edition of Farm Animal Behaviourcontinues to provide essential information on normal and stereotypic behaviors in a wide variety of farm animals to help in the assessment and diagnosis of their welfare. - Comprehensive coverage of a range of farmed animals from horses, cattle, sheep, goats and pigs through to domesticated poultry, deer, ostrich and many other species - Innate, learned and social behaviors are described together with activity, vision and hearing to build a picture of normal behaviors presented in a clear and consistent way for each species - Stereotypical behaviors, injuries and disease, resulting from improper management practices, are outlined in detail - With quality color illustrations, key information can be found readily for those in a busy clinical setting - Key expert authors contribute their long-standing knowledge, clinical and scientific expertise Farm Animal Behaviour,second edition, provides a comprehensive yet concise background for all students, postgraduates and practitioners in veterinary medicine, animal science welfare and ethology.
Call Number: 636 E347f, 2018
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Nutrition and Feeding of Organic Poultry by Organic poultry production has increased significantly in recent years to keep up with increasing consumer demand for organic eggs and meat. There are many guidelines and restrictions on what should go into the feedstuffs of organically farmed poultry, from which difficulties arise when trying to ensure a well-balanced nutritious diet without the use of any unapproved supplements. This, the second edition of Robert Blair's classic and bestselling book on the nutrition and feeding of organic poultry, presents advice for organic producers, and the agencies and organizations serving them. It covers: - selecting suitable ingredients; - preparing appropriate feed mixtures and integrating them into organic poultry production systems; - international standards of organic feeding; - breeds that are most suitable for organic farming; - examples of diets formulated to organic standards. Completely updated and revised to address how to formulate organic diets in situations where there is a declining supply of organic feed, this new edition also includes up-to-date information on the nutritional requirements of poultry and feed-related disease incidence in organic flocks. Also including the feasibility of utilizing novel feedstuffs, such as insect meal, and their acceptability by consumers of organic meat products, this book forms a comprehensive reference for students and researchers of poultry science, organic farmers and veterinarians.
Call Number: 636.50852 B535n, 2018 LOCATE
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
New Books - October 2018
Vegetable Grafting: Principles and Practices by This book provides comprehensive, current scientific and applied practical knowledge on vegetable grafting, a method gaining considerable interest that is used to protect crops from soil-borne diseases, abiotic stress and to enhance growth/yield. Though the benefits of using grafted transplants are now fully recognized worldwide, understanding the rootstock-scion interactions under variable environmental pressures remains vital for grafting-mediated crop improvement. In this book the authors attend to this need and explain the reasons for, and methods and applications of, grafting. Vegetable Grafting: Principles and Practices covers: · rootstock breeding, signalling, and physiological and molecular mechanisms involved in grafting; · beneficial effects of grafting including reducing disease damage and abiotic stress; · side effects relating to the impact of grafting on fruit quality; and · practical applications and speciality crops. Including high-quality colour images and written by an international team of expert authors, this book provides up-to-date scientific data and is also concerned with translating science to the field. It is an essential resource for researchers, advanced technicians, practitioners and extension workers.
Call Number: 635 V444c, 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-26
New Books - September 2018
Agricultural Drones: A Peaceful Pursuit by Agricultural drones are expected to revolutionize the way we conduct agronomic procedures and maintain natural vegetation on earth. This book explores the increasing importance of the role of aerial robots in managing agricultural farms and natural resources. Agricultural Drones: A Peaceful Pursuit provides a wealth of information on drone usage in agriculture. The book discusses the advanced sensors and imaging capabilities of drones that give farmers new ways to increase yields and reduce crop damage. An introductory chapter provides historical data, with details about various models of drones as well as the most recent and popular agricultural drones in usage. The book goes onto look at such topics as the use of drones for soil fertility, production agronomy, irrigation, weed control, pest and disease control, grain yield forecasting, and economic advantages from drone use. This timely and useful volume will be a valuable resource for faculty, agricultural extension officers, and farmers and farm consultancy agencies. This book would also serve as an excellent textbook for students in agriculture, engineering, geography, etc. Key features: ¿ outlines the advantages of using drones in agriculture, such as for the management of soil fertility, the study of natural resources and vegetation, the maintenance of adequate irrigation, and the control of weeds and pests ¿ covers the economic advantages of using drones in agriculture ¿ examines the regulatory aspects of agricultural drones ¿ provides actual examples of drone usage in agriculture
Call Number: 623.746 K757a, 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-28
Garden Insects of North America: The Ultimate Guide to Backyard Bugs - Second Edition by This second edition of Garden Insects of North America solidifies its place as the most comprehensive guide to the common insects, mites, and other "bugs" found in the backyards and gardens of the United States and Canada. Featuring 3,300 full-color photos and concise, detailed text, this fully revised book covers the hundreds of species of insects and mites associated with fruits and vegetables, shade trees and shrubs, flowers and ornamental plants, and turfgrass--from aphids and bumble bees to leafhoppers and mealybugs to woollybears and yellowjacket wasps--and much more. This new edition also provides a greatly expanded treatment of common pollinators and flower visitors, the natural enemies of garden pests, and the earthworms, insects, and other arthropods that help with decomposing plant matter in the garden. Designed to help you easily identify what you find in the garden, the book is organized by where insects are most likely to be seen--on leaves, shoots, flowers, roots, or soil. Photos are included throughout the book, next to detailed descriptions of the insects and their associated plants. An indispensable guide to the natural microcosm in our backyards, Garden Insects of North America continues to be the definitive resource for amateur gardeners, insect lovers, and professional entomologists. Revised and expanded edition covers most of the insects, mites, and other "bugs" one may find in yards or gardens in the United States and Canada--all in one handy volume Features more than 3,300 full-color photos, more than twice the illustrations of the first edition Concise, informative text organized to help you easily identify insects and the plant injuries that they may cause
Call Number: Reference Collection 635.0497 C73g, 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
New Books - August 2018
The Drought-Resilient Farm by Rainfall levels are rarely optimal, but there are hundreds of things you can do to efficiently conserve and use the water you do have and to reduce the impact of drought on your soil, crops, livestock, and farm or ranch ecosystem. Author Dale Strickler introduces you to the same innovative systems he used to transform his own drought-stricken family farm in Kansas into a thriving, water-wise, and profitable enterprise, maximizing healthy cropland, pasture, and water supply. Ranging from simple, short-term projects such as installing rain-collection ollas to long-term land-management planning strategies, Strickler's methods show how to get more water into the soil, keep it in the soil, and help plants and livestock access it.
Call Number: 631.432 S775d, 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Nutrition and Feeding of Organic Pigs by Organic animal production has increased rapidly in recent years to keep up with the increasing consumer demand for organic meats. There are many guidelines and restrictions on what should go into the feedstuffs of organically farmed animals, from which difficulties arise when trying to ensure a well-balanced, nutritious diet without the use of any supplements. This second edition of Robert Blair's classic and bestselling book on the nutrition and feeding of organic pigs presents comprehensive advice that includes: - formulating appropriate diets and integrating them into organic pig production systems; - international standards of organic feeding; - feed-related disease incidence in organic herds. The book has been completely updated and revised to address how to formulate organic diets in situations where there is a declining supply of organic feed, as well as the feasibility of utilizing novel feedstuffs and their acceptability by consumers of organic meat products. Including the experiences of producers in relation to appropriate breeds and production systems for forage-based organic production, this book is an important read for researchers and students of organic food animal production, veterinary sciences and food; as well as food industry personnel and organic farmers.
Call Number: 636.4085 B535n, 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-27
New Books - July 2018
Parasites and Pets: A Veterinary Nursing Guide by This book, primarily focussing on parasitic diseases of cats and dogs, is designed specifically for veterinary nurses and students and adopts an enquiry based approach essential for consolidating knowledge and a deep practical understanding of this important subject. The book goes beyond the conventional discourse of parasitology books, with each chapter addressing questions commonly posed by clients. It is illustrated throughout with colour figures and readers can assess their knowledge and areas for development by completing the end of chapter self-assessment questions. In this way, the veterinary nurse will be fully equipped to professionally support veterinary surgeons in achieving optimal strategies for management of parasitic diseases of companion animals. Provides a unique enquiry-based approach to assist veterinary nurses and technicians in gaining essential knowledge and practical understanding of parasites Contains self-assessment MCQ sections designed to encourage the reader to question their practice, rationales, and the evidence base of parasitology care delivery they provide to patients Focuses on the dog and cat, the most commonly seen pets
Call Number: 636.089696 E474p, 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Rabbit Production by This new edition of Rabbit Production is fully updated throughout. Mainly concerning rabbits bred for meat and fur, it also contains practical information on pet rabbits, show rabbits and rabbits used as laboratory animals. Core topics are covered, including rabbit genetics, reproduction, health and diseases, behaviour, welfare, fur and meat production, rabbit production in developing countries, slaughter and the marketing of rabbit products. Current areas of interest such as animal welfare and coat colour genetics are expanded in the new edition. An important resource for all those involved in rabbit production, this book is also vital reading for students and researchers of animal science and meat production, as well as the keen amateur rabbit enthusiast.
Call Number: 636.9322 R333m, 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-08
Contact the Librarian
Need help finding resources in this subject? Contact Carol Hanan at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.