Research Guides Home: Biological Sciences: Environmental Science

Article Databases

Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Citations/abstracts with some full text resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology.
Collection includes:
Environmental Science Database
Environmental Science Index (Aqualine content only)
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Database focused on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Some links to Open Access full text provided.

Online Journals

Here are a few of the many online journals that the library has.

Advanced Sustainable Systems Advanced Sustainable Systems is an international, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal publishing outstanding research results on the development and implementation of systems, solutions, technologies and applications that share the focus on the advancement of sustainable living.
Ambio Publishes research on the interrelationships between the environment and society
Archives of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology Publishes full-length, peer-reviewed scientific articles describing new discoveries related to contamination of air, water, soil and biota Reports on environmental contaminants of emerging interest, as well as advances in our understanding of established or legacy contaminants Provides a multi-disciplinary forum for contributions from analytical chemistry, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science and toxicology Provides ecosystem-level insight into the fate and effects of environmental contaminants Considers humans as part of the environment Regards climate as a factor influencing the transport, fate and effects of environmental contaminants Reports on environmental contaminants of emerging interest, as well as advances in our understanding of established or legacy contaminants Provides a multi-disciplinary forum for contributions from analytical chemistry, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science and toxicology Provides ecosystem-level insight into the fate and effects of environmental contaminants Considers humans as part of the environment Regards climate as a factor influencing the transport, fate and effects of environmental contaminants
Archives of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology Publishes full-length, peer-reviewed scientific articles describing new discoveries related to contamination of air, water, soil and biota
Bulletin of the Ecological Society of America The Bulletin is the official record of the business of the Ecological Society of America. The Bulletin also covers ecological events, news and reports of interest to the ecological community. Finally, the Bulletin is a place of commentary and opinion on ecological issues which do not require scientific refereeing beyond the section editors and the Editor-in-Chief.
Clean Technologies and Environmental Policy This journal publishes papers that aid in the development, demonstration, and commercialization of cleaner products and processes as well as effective environmental policy strategies
Climate Resilience and Sustainability : Interdisciplinary Approaches towards Solutions for Climate Change Climate Resilience and Sustainability is an interdisciplinary open access journal focused on research and practical experience of solutions that address the socioeconomic and biophysical impacts of climate change and lead to a sustainable and resilient environment, society and economy.
Conservation Biology Conservation Biology, the flagship journal of the Society for Conservation Biology.
Conservation Letters Conservation Letters publishes empirical and theoretical research on the conservation of biological diversity. Included are all marine, terrestrial, and freshwater biomes, all ecosystems, and all cultural settings.
Ecohydrology Ecohydrology is an international environmental science journal at the interface between ecology and hydrology.
Ecological Solutions and Evidence Ecological Solutions and Evidence is an open access journal publishing articles with direct relevance for the management of biological resources and ecological systems.
Environmental Chemistry Letters Environmental Chemistry Letters covers the interfaces of geology, chemistry, physics and biology. Articles published here are of high importance to the study of natural and engineered environments.
Environmental Management Environmental Management offers research and opinions on use and conservation of natural resources, protection of habitats and control of hazards.
Environmental Microbiology Environmental Microbiology is devoted to the advancement of our understanding of microbial interactions and microbial processes in the environment, and publishes original research reporting significant advances in or relating to this subject.
Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Covers design and development of monitoring systems, describes methods and procedures for pollution risk assessment, and examines the synthesis of monitoring data with toxicological, epidemiological and health data.
Environmental Quality Management Environmental Quality Management is a sustainability journal publishing research at the intersection of science, engineering, and social system development that helps society better manage natural resources.
Environmental Science and Pollution Research Environmental Science and Pollution Research (ESPR) serves the international community in all areas of Environmental Science and related subjects with emphasis on chemical compounds. I
Environmetrics Environmetrics, the official journal of The International Environmetrics Society (TIES), an Association of the International Statistical Institute, is devoted to disseminating high-quality quantitative research in the environmental sciences.
Journal of the American Water Resources Association (JAWRA) The Journal of the American Water Resources Association (JAWRA) publishes original research that examines the multidisciplinary and complex issues surrounding water resources.
Journal of the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management The Water and Environment Journal is an internationally recognised peer-reviewed journal for the dissemination of innovations and solutions focused on enhancing water management best practice.
Water, Air, and Soil Pollution Water, Air, & Soil Pollution is an international, interdisciplinary journal on all aspects of pollution and solutions to pollution in the biosphere.
Water Conservation Science and Engineering Water Conservation Science & Engineering is a journal designed to report high quality research that responds to 21st century water challenges, specifically in emerging multidisciplinary areas in the science and engineering of water conservation and assured supply.
WIREs Climate Change WIREs Climate Change offers a unique platform for exploring current and emerging knowledge from the many disciplines that contribute to our understanding of this phenomenon – environmental history, the humanities, physical and life sciences, social sciences, engineering and economics.

Textbooks in the Library

Due to limited funds, the library cannot purchase all of the textbooks that you need for your classes, but there are a few available that you can use in the library. Bring your Tech ID to the Circulation Desk,tell us the course number or your professor's name, and we can help you out.

Essential environment : the science behind the stories
ENVS 1004 - 2 Hour Reserve

Biological Sciences: Environmental Science

Article Databases

Online Journals

Textbooks in the Library

Arkansas Websites

Professional Websites

Government Websites

Free Websites