Research Guides Home: Biological Sciences: Biology

Best Bet Databases

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, Science Database, and the Technology Collection.
SciTech Stem Database Hierarchy
Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the field sciences, with great depth in botany, ecology, and ornithology, along with important titles in general science, medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health.
Visible Body Web Suite This link opens in a new window
Access a vast library of 3D models, animations, diagnostic images, and bite-sized learning modules. You will need to create an account with a password different than your Tech password.
ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
This resource covers publications on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels. Subjects: agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing, and engineering.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
STEM Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and popular science magazines that support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation database with some full text covering biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Collection includes:
Biological Science Database
Biological Science Index
- MEDLINE
- TOXLINE

Professional Websites

American Birding Association
American Institute of Biological Sciences The American Institute of Biological Sciences is the national scientific organization that promotes the use of science to inform decision-making that advances biology for the benefit of science and society.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) he Society's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through publication of scientific and educational journals: the Journal of Biological Chemistry, Molecular & Cellular Proteomics, and the Journal of Lipid Research, organization of scientific meetings, advocacy for funding of basic research and education, support of science education at all levels, and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce.
Association of College and University Biology Educators The Association of College and University Biology Educators focuses on professional development for college and university biology teachers.
Ecological Society of America ESA seeks to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public's level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; and increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science.
Human Biology Association
Society for Conservation Biology The Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is an international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity.

Online Journals

Here are a few of the many online journals that the library has.

Advanced Biology The expanded scope of Advanced Biology includes but is not limited to the following: basic life science disciplines, applied life science disciplines, and integrative and emerging sciences.
Advanced Genetics Advanced Genetics is a wide-scope journal focused on cutting-edge research in gene science.
Agroforestry Systems Agroforestry Systems is an international scientific journal that publishes results of novel, high impact original research, critical reviews and short communications on any aspect of agroforestry.
American Biology Teacher Peer-refereed professional journal for K-16 biology teachers.
American Journal of Botany Peer-reviewed research of interest to a wide audience of scientists in all areas of plant biology (e.g., biodiversity, structure, function, development, genetics, evolution, reproduction, systematics), all levels of organization (molecular to ecosystem), and all plant groups and allied organisms (cyanobacteria, algae, fungi, and lichens).
American Journal of Primatology The objective of the American Journal of Primatology is to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings among primatologists, whether they be anthropologists, psychologists, biologists, or medical researchers.
Anatomical Record: Advances in Integrative Anatomy and Evolutionary Biology The Anatomical Record: Advances in Integrative Anatomy and Evolutionary Biology, an official publication of the American Association for Anatomy, publishes new discoveries in the morphological aspects of molecular, cellular, systems, and evolutionary biology.
Anatomical Sciences Education The aim of this journal is to provide an international forum for the exchange of ideas, opinions, innovations and research on topics related to education in the anatomical sciences of gross anatomy, embryology, histology, and neurosciences at all levels of anatomical sciences education including, undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate, allied health, medical (both allopathic and osteopathic), and dental.
Animal Cognition Animal Cognition is an interdisciplinary journal offering current research from many disciplines (ethology, behavioral ecology, animal behavior and learning, cognitive sciences, comparative psychology and evolutionary psychology) on all aspects of animal (and human) cognition in an evolutionary framework.
Animal Conservation Animal Conservation provides a forum for rapid publication of novel, peer-reviewed research into the conservation of animal species and their habitats.
Animal Genetics Animal Genetics reports frontline research on molecular genetics, functional genomics and microbiomics of livestock, wildlife and laboratory animals.
Annals of Applied Biology Annals of Applied Biology publishes original research papers on all aspects of applied research on crop production,crop protection and the cropping ecosystem, integrated pest management, animal health and welfare, including the interaction with both wildlife and farmland animals and birds .
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education is an international journal aimed to enhance teacher preparation and student learning in Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and related sciences such as Biophysics and Cell Biology, by promoting the world-wide dissemination of educational materials.
Botanical Review The Botanical Review has been a leading international journal noted for its in-depth articles on a broad spectrum of botanical fields. Systematics, phytogeography, cladistics, evolution, physiology, ecology, morphology, paleobotany, and anatomy are but a few of the many subjects that have been covered.
Developmental Dynamics Developmental Dynamics is an official publication of the American Association for Anatomy.
Evolutionary Biology A forum for broad syntheses, in-depth treatment and controversial ideas in evolutionary biology
Journal of Forestry Research The Journal of Forestry Research offers articles dealing with all aspects of forestry
Natural Sciences Education Natural Sciences Education covers many academic disciplines, publishing articles for educators in the areas of natural resources, plant science, entomology, animal science, ecology, and the environment.
Reproduction in Domestic Animals Reproduction in Domestic Animals offers comprehensive information concerning physiology, pathology, and biotechnology of reproduction.
Research Synthesis Methods Research Synthesis Methods, the official journal of the Society for Research Synthesis Methodology, is a multidisciplinary peer reviewed journal devoted to the development and dissemination of methods for designing, conducting, analyzing, interpreting, reporting, and applying systematic research synthesis.
Veterinary Research Communications Veterinary Research Communications publishes fully refereed research articles and topical reviews on all aspects of the veterinary sciences.
Zoonoses and Public Health Zoonoses and Public Health brings together veterinary and human health researchers and policy-makers by providing a venue for publishing integrated and global approaches to zoonoses and public health.

Government Websites

Free Websites

Tree of Life
Microbes.info
Scitable
BirdNote
eBird
National Audubon Society
Native Plant Trust
Biodiversity Heritage Library
BioMed Central
Free access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Read and search the full texts of more than 15,000 of Charles Darwin’s letters.
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
Free full-text journals.
Science Daily
News stories for all scientific disciplines.

Textbooks in the Library

Due to limited funds, the library cannot purchase all of the textbooks that you need for your classes, but there are a few available that you can use in the library. Bring your Tech ID to the Circulation Desk,tell us the course number or your professor's name, and we can help you out.

Biology Today and Tomorrow With Physiology
BIOL 1014 - Chaney - 2 Hour Reserve
Introduction to Biological Sciences Laboratory Manual
BIOL 1014 - Chaney - 2 Hour Reserve
Microbiology
ISBN: 9781938168147
BIOL 2054 - eBook online.
Biology 2e
BIOL 2054 - Curran - Print book is 2 Hour Reserve. There is also an ebook available.
Anatomy & physiology : an integrative approach
BIOL 2404
BIOL 2414
Print book is 2 Hour Reserve. There is also an ebook available.
Elements of Ecology
BIOL 3114 - Barron - 2 Hour Reserve
A Framework for K-12 Science Education
BIOL - 3223 - Bowman - eBook
BIOL - 3243 - Bowman - eBook