Citation Styles - Distance Learning - Library Orientation - Research Guides Home at Arkansas Tech University

MLA Style Center - help center at the Modern Language Association home page.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: 808.027 M63m, 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index

MLA Sample Paper
MLA Sample Paper taken from the style.mla.org style guides.
MLA Style Notes on Plagiarism
A concise description of plagiarism and academic dishonesty as presented at style.mla.org.

RefWorks

Use your Tech email

Create a new password, NOT connected to Tech password.

Go to your Tech email and open activation email.

You are able to proceed without opening this email.

You will be asked for some basic information when you get into your account.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and reference manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Help from RefWorks

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Ask at Circulation Desk for 2 hour check-out or Reference for quick browsing
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
NEW! 7th Edition

APA Reference Examples
Examples of the most common reference citations along with their corresponding in-text citations. Freely available online.
APA Style Tutorials and Webinars
Created by the American Psychological Association. You can choose the section you need from the tutorial index.
APA Sample Papers
A collection of sample papers from the APA manual. Includes examples of student and professional papers--with or without annotations. Includes also samples in Word Document format.

FAQ's About the APA 7th Edition

Here's a quick list of some of the major changes from the 6th edition to the 7th edition of the APA Manual:

Samples for professional papers, student papers, and annotated bibliographies are now included
Running head and author note is no longer included in student papers
One space (not two) should be used after a period
Publisher location no longer required for book citations
With three or more authors, abbreviate "et al." the first time you present the work in in-text citations, as opposed to writing all authors the first time and using "et al." subsequent times.
For a general mention of a website with no indication of specific page, no reference list or in-text citation is needed.
In your reference list, write out up to 20 author names as opposed to 7 authors maximum. For 21 authors or more, use ellipses.
Present both DOIs and URLS as hyperlinks, and do not insert "Retrieved from" before a hyperlink.
More citation examples are included for social media, apps, media, and other non-traditional sources.

For more help, see these links below:

APA 6th/7th Edition Comparison Quick Guide

7th Edition Introduction
This introduction includes overview of major changes and improvements
7th Edition References
References page examples, in-text & narrative citation examples
7th Edition Supplemental Resources
Includes reference examples, sample papers, bias-free language guidelines, and more

Distance Learning - Library Orientation: Citation Styles

RefWorks

FAQ's About the APA 7th Edition

Here's a quick list of some of the major changes from the 6th edition to the 7th edition of the APA Manual:

Samples for professional papers, student papers, and annotated bibliographies are now included

Running head and author note is no longer included in student papers

One space (not two) should be used after a period

Publisher location no longer required for book citations

With three or more authors, abbreviate "et al." the first time you present the work in in-text citations, as opposed to writing all authors the first time and using "et al." subsequent times.

For a general mention of a website with no indication of specific page, no reference list or in-text citation is needed.

In your reference list, write out up to 20 author names as opposed to 7 authors maximum. For 21 authors or more, use ellipses.

Present both DOIs and URLS as hyperlinks, and do not insert "Retrieved from" before a hyperlink.

More citation examples are included for social media, apps, media, and other non-traditional sources.

For more help, see these links below: