Research Guides Home: Sociology: Statistics

Finding General Statistics

Use the following resources to find statistics for Social Sciences. Keep in mind, not all sources are definitive and complete. You may need to use multiple sources to form a comprehensive picture. Please consult your librarian or your professor if you have any questions about these resources.

Census.gov
Find popular facts across multiple segments of government data including census, economic data, housing, labor, and more. Look up quick facts about an area or create custom data tables across multiple statistical sources. Datasets include American Community Survey, Census, American Housing Survey, Census of Governments, and the Economic Census.
ICPSR Data Archives
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. This resource has tools to download whole datasets, select variables, and view documentation on over 10,000 studies.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Institution for Social and Policy Studies (ISPS)
Social Science research data repository. This is a digital collection of data, metadata, code and associated files. Used mostly by faculty and graduate students to download and view larger data sets. A project of Yale University.
Human Development Reports
The Human Development report, published by the United Nations Development Programme, seeks to measure indicators of humanity's progress in education, life expectancy, well-being, and economic security. Data includes time series, country profiles, and data tables. Time series data available from 1990-2016.

Arkansas Statistics and Information

Most statistical information about Arkansas can also be found in the general statistical sources for the nation. The links below are often summaries from federally collected statistics that can include tools for data visualization and mapping.

Arkansas Profile - U.S. Census
A quick page of demographic statistics about Arkansas
Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture
Free source of information about Arkansas history and culture.
Aspire Arkansas
Includes easy-to-use charts, tables, and graphs displaying current data on Arkansas issues relating to health, education, racial equity, demographics, and more. A project of the Arkansas Community Foundation.
Arkansas Economic Development Institute
Provides data and data mapping based on census data and the American Community Survey (ACS). Also publishes economic forecasting and Arkansas-focused economic research.
Arkansas Crime Information Center
Includes UCR information for Arkansas. While this information comes from law enforcement and includes the number of arrests and incidents known and reported by law enforcement agencies, it does not include any data relating to prosecution, adjudication or corrections. Includes data back to 1998.
Discover Arkansas
Find fast facts about Arkansas unemployment rate, labor statistics, wages, and publications on the Arkansas labor market.
Arkansas Code
Laws that govern the state of Arkansas
Arkansas Department of Health Statistics
Includes vital statistics (birth, death, and abortion details by year), county health profiles, and other health related data for the state of Arkansas, either supplied by the CDC or the Arkansas Department of Health
LEA Insights
An up-to-date overview of the state's Local Education Agencies (LEA) data for the state's enrollment, demographics, graduation rates, and more information concerning elementary and secondary education in Arkansas. Information is arranged in charts but can also be downloaded as tables.

Crime Statistics

NCJRS
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Includes links to several resources and statistical databases.
Uniform Crime Reporting (FBI)
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. It is a clearinghouse of data reported by over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies participating in the program.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. Not only will you find crime statistics but also corrections data as well as the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). Includes data analysis tools for mapping statistics across categories, time, and locations.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Developed by the University of Albany, this electronic resource includes statistics on crime, victims, arrests, courts, prosecution, sentencing, parole, jails, prisons, and the death penalty as supplied by multiples sources including the federal government. This resource also include statistics on public opinion in relation to crime, corrections, and the law.

Public Opinion

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Oldest continuous series of survey data investigating electoral behavior and attitudes in the United States (since 1948). The focus of the survey includes voter perceptions of the major political parties, the candidates, national and international issues, and of the importance of the election.
General Social Survey
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Pew Research Center
Includes datasets and publications on a variety of public opinion surveys ranging in topics from social trends, technology, science, religion, and more.
World Values Survey (WVS)
Surveys over 100 countries using a common questionnaire about human beliefs and values. Began in 1981, this survey is used to help scientists understand changes int he beliefs, values, and motivations of people throughout the world.
Gallup Poll
Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.

Economic & Labor Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Valuable source of labor statistics including economic outlook, labor force statistics, wages, unemployment, and more. Freely available through the federal government.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers company SEC filings and business executive information. Contains a wide variety of information about public and private companies, industries, countries and more.

U.S. Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook contains information about hundreds of different types of jobs, including the training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job and working conditions. A subsection of the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
FRED Economic Research
Download, graph, and track 509,000 US and international time series from 87 sources. Including GDP, CPI, Unemployment Rate, and more.
Yahoo Finance
A free source of up-to-date stock and market information.
Survey of Consumer Finances
The Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) is normally a triennial cross-sectional survey of U.S. families. The survey data include information on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics. Information is also included from related surveys of pension providers and the earlier such surveys conducted by the Federal Reserve Board.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Important resources for national economic data including GDP, Industry information, national data and personal income for the United States. Includes interactive tool to create custom tables from economic data.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
This authoritative, free government resource offers valuable information about consumer spending in the US, along with related items such as consumer characteristics and product types.
Eurostat
Statistics and data on trade, transportation, population and social conditions, environment, and more for the European Union.
FDIC State Profiles
Use for quick facts by state on current banking and economic information like employment growth rates, banking trends, capital and earnings. Most recent available quarter only. Easy to use--just click a state.
FRASER
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. Used for largely historical data.
Penn World Table
A table series tracking information on the productivity of different countries. A project of the Groningen Growth and Development Centre.
Tax Statistics
Wide range of tables, articles and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. Published by the IRS.
Treasury Bulletin
The Treasury Bulletin contains a mix of narrative, tables, and charts related to treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, and financial commitments of the U.S. government. Published by the Bureau of the Fiscal Service
Inequality Project
A repository of data and presentations on estimated household inequality from around the world.
OECD iLibrary
The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods. Great resource of international data.

Sociology

Statistical Tool Help

Books and Ebooks

Online Tutorials and Help

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Finding General Statistics

Arkansas Statistics and Information

Crime Statistics

Public Opinion

Economic & Labor Statistics