Research Guides Home: Sociology: Home

Getting started with resources in Sociology

Welcome to the Sociology Research Guide. Here you will find general information for conducting research in Sociology. Search Find It to start discovering articles, books, journals, videos, and more.

Find articles in Sociology

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today’s social issues. Provides pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistics, articles, and images.
ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
This resource covers publications on social science information. Subjects: sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts (SASSA). Includes full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.

Encyclopedias and Reference

Not sure where to begin? Need to identify terms or learn more about a subject? Start with reference sources like Encyclopedias and Handbooks. These can provide quick background information and broad overviews of topics without going into too much detail or taking up too much of your time.

If you are looking at an online encyclopedia, use search features or the table of contents to find the entry you are looking for. Books in the Reference collection are located on the first floor of the Ross Pendergraft Library. If you need help locating the volume, just ask.