Finding Market Share information at Ross Pendergraft Library will involve finding sales information for specific products, companies, and markets. You can find total market sales from industry or market reports. To find sales for specific companies or products, try trade journals, and specifically these resources:
Market Share is essentially the ratio of sales for one company's product or product line to the total market sales of that product or product line, expressed as a percentage of the market. This is something that can be calculated whenever total sales and specific product (or company) sales information are available.
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
The Business Market Research Collection provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots Series.
Collection of bibliographic and full text business journals back as far as 1886.
Covers company SEC filings and business executive information. Contains a wide variety of information about public and private companies, industries, countries and more.
You may often see "NAICS" numbers appearing alongside database results for industry-specific information. NAICS stands for the North American Classification System which is used by federal statistics agencies to classify business establishments for standardizing the collection of data for statistical purposes. Each industry has a specific NAICS code. You can look up NAICS codes for all industries at the NAICS homepage. Many of the business databases, including Business Source Complete and ABI/INFORM Complete support searches by NAICS numbers, which can be helpful in finding more articles.
SICS stands for the Standard Industrical Classification System. Developed in 1937, this system is slowly being replaced by NAICS throughout most government agencies. However, it is still used by the U.S. Securities and Trade commission. LexisNexis Academic also uses SICS instead of NAICS for industry classification.
There are several internet tools to convert NAICS to SICS and vice-versa, such as SICCODE.com.
DUNS, or D-U-N-S, refers to the Data Universal Numbering system developed by Dun & Bradstreet, a private company, used to identify every unique business entity. Business Source Complete and LexisNexis Academic include a method to search results by DUNS numbers or display DUNS in their search results.
