Resources for current events are commonly published in newspapers and magazines. Newspapers include traditional news stories (factual accounts of events with little analysis), editorials or columns (opinions or reflections on current events from journalists or guest writers), and feature stories that may provide more analysis, historical context, or humor to a topic that may not be current. Content in a newspaper source is usually updated daily, and length is generally short.
News magazines cover current events with more analysis, in-depth reporting, photographs, and detail. Similar to newspapers, they feature letters, editorials, or opinions alongside more factually related content. Magazine articles tend to be longer, and content is updated on either a weekly or monthly basis.
Articles from newspapers and magazines are often written by credentialed journalists, though some articles feature letters from the general public or guest columns from other figures or experts.
America’s News provides full text content from thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, news video, and news blogs. Find information on business and economics, international events, political issues, social issues, STEM, and other topics.
Included in America’s News is the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (Little Rock), The Courier (Russellville), Times Record (Fort Smith), Log Cabin Democrat (Conway), the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, and 56 more Arkansas newspapers.
U.S. & international newspapers with selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Provides the most recent premium U.S. news content, including archives as far back as the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Newswire content available from around the globe.
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada. Collection includes African Newsstream, Asian Newsstream, Australia & New Zealand Newsstream, European Newsstream, Latin American Newsstream, Middle East Newsstream.
Not sure how to begin? Browse the topic pages of Opposing Viewpoints, and scroll down to the News section of each topic page.
Online resource covering today’s social issues. Provides pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistics, articles, and images.
Hunting for news closer to home? Check out these titles of popular news and magazine from around the state:
The library has access to thousands of magazines from the Libby app. Download the app from Overdrive and read high quality news magazines from your phone.
Multidisciplinary database of ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines. [This resource is only available to ATU students, faculty, and staff.]
Here is a list of reputable and popular newspapers and news magazines available online at the ATU library:
