Criminal Justice

Search for journals in our library collection by title or ISSN. NOTE: If you want to find articles, go to the page for Databases.

It is the professional membership publication of the American Correctional Association and serves as a forum for presenting and discussing issues related to corrections promoting practical information, rather than presenting research articles

Published by the American Corrections Association, it aims to advance the corrections field. Includes a monthly national survey of correctional systems which include statistical data.

An official publication of the FBI and the U.S. Department of Justice, its articles explore current issues facing law enforcement in the U.S. and throughout the world. Police techniques, crime problems, personnel and management, equipment and training are covered. Articles are written by law enforcement professionals.

The official publication of the International Association of Chiefs of Police, it provides a forum for the latest trends and practices in law enforcement and includes discussions of processes, procedures and concepts for increased operation efficiency and effectiveness.

The Vera Institute of Justice (vera.org), established in 1961, is a large organization with a long history of research and advocacy across a very broad range of criminal justice issues. Its database contains nearly 1,000 items, including many hundreds of research reports and smaller collections of other documents and videos. The database can be browsed by topic and source type and searched by title keyword and author.

Founded in 1986, this non-profit organization advocates for reforms in sentencing policy. Its Publications database contains several dozen documents, including research reports, issue briefs, and position statements. Its News database provides links to relevant items from a variety of news and commentary sites. These two collections can be browsed by broad topic and resource type and searched by topic, resource type, and keyword. Its Racial Disparity section features the Race and Justice Clearinghouse, a large, separate database that contains more than 500 reports and studies on the intersection of race and the criminal justice system. These resources are from numerous research and policy organizations. Documents in the Clearinghouse can be searched by title, abstract, author, subject, and date.

The Justice Policy Institute was founded in 1997 and has a wide range of research and advocacy projects. Its Research database has almost 140 items, including reports, fact sheets, and briefings. Includes a podcast, news briefs, and topical pages on 6 main issues.

The Prison Policy Initiative (prisonpolicy.org), founded in 2001, explores issues related to mass incarceration. It covers this topic widely, but gives particular attention to prison conditions and injustices. Its content includes dozens of research studies; videos, maps, and other graphics; and a blog. These sections have limited browse and search functionality. The initiative also produces two separate databases of criminal justice information: Research Clearinghouse and Legal Resources for the Incarcerated.