Research Guides Home: Environmental Anthropology: Find Articles in Databases

Basic Database Searching

Search Tips

These tips are meant for use with the library's subscription databases. The search mechanism works differently and more efficiently than an Internet search engine such as Google.

use keywords or phrases (two words) that are most relevant to your research
- cats AND dogs
brainstorm for synonyms or other words that define what you are looking for. Put the OR between synonyms
- cats OR felines
use the quotation marks to ensure that the words in your phrase are searched together and not treated as two separate words
- "domestic animals"
nest by grouping sets of keywords between parentheses when using more than one Boolean operator.
- (cats AND dogs) OR "domestic animals" AND expense

Databases A-to-Z

Did you need something different? Not sure which database you are looking for? Or did you have a specific database in mind that's not listed here? Search all our databases by going to our A-to-Z Databases page. Search by Subjects, Name, Type, or Vendor.

Best Bets in Anthropology and Current Issues

Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering scholarly articles and other material in anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, social work, and sociology
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database in social sciences. Heavier in newspaper. reports, and gray literature content
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today’s social issues. Provides pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistics, articles, and images. [Gale]
Gale Platforms Help Page
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available. [Gale]
Gale Platforms Help Page
EthnicNewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles. [ProQuest]
ProQuest Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Databases

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more. [Gale]
Gale Platforms Help Page
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Students, researchers, teachers, and professionals benefit from the precision and comprehensive discovery the database provides through peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings. [ProQuest]
ProQuest Help Page
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Some links to Open Access full text provided. [EBSCO]
EBSCOhost Platform Help Page

Interdisciplinary Databases

Search these databases for articles from a variety of areas. Use these if you're not really sure what topic to pick or if you have a topic covering multiple subject areas.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. [EBSCO]
EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. [ProQuest]
ProQuest Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. [GALE]
Gale Platform Help Page
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals in JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII collections. [JSTOR]
JSTOR Help Page
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexing of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books pertaining to education. Some full text available. [EBSCO]
EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
More than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States, including Arkansas Business.