Research Guides Home: History: Home

Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

Reference

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Biographies of influential people around the world.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books covering many subjects.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly content the most significant people, events and topics in world history.

History Databases

Accessible Archives - Collection This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives provides full text searchable databases of primary source material from 18th and 19th Century publications. Included are Colonial Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, African American Newspapers, Women's Magazines and Newspapers, and more.

Collection List

African American Newspapers
- The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)
- The Colored American (1837–1841)
- Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863)
- Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829)
- The National Era (1847–1860)
- The North Star (1847–1851)
- Provincial Freeman (1854–1857)
- Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
- The Freedmen’s Record (1865-1874)
- The Negro Business League Herald (1909)
America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers
America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers, Part II
American County Histories
- Central
- Mid-Atlantic – Parts 1 and 2
- Midwest
- New England – Parts 1 and 2
- The Southeast
- The Southwest
- The West
- Complete County List by State
The Civil War
- Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
- Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective
- Part III: The Generals’ Perspective
- Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective
- Part V: Iowa’s Perspective
- Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories
- Part VII: Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books
Frank Leslie’s Weekly
Godey’s Lady’s Book
The Liberator
History of Woman Suffrage
National Anti-Slavery Standard
The Pennsylvania Gazette
The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County
Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
South Carolina Newspapers
Twelve Years A Slave
The Virginia Gazette
Women’s Suffrage Collection
- The Lily. 1849-1856
- National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
- The Revolution. 1868-1872
- The New Citizen. 1909-1912
- The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
- The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

HeinOnline’s U.S. Academic Core+

HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
ProQuest Research Library: History This link opens in a new window
This resource covers publications on history for researchers of all levels. Subject coverage: civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, US history, and world history.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, indexing /abstracts, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
EBSCOHost database access This link opens in a new window
List of EBSCO databases.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of periodical content.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.

General Humanities Databases

JSTOR Journals and Primary Sources collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project MUSE Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
A platform for scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

ATU History & Political Science Faculty Publications

Faculty Publications - History & Political Science
This is the home of a collection of faculty scholarship and creative works from the Department of History and Political Science at Arkansas Tech University.

Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)	LGBTQ+ Rights
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)	Military and Government
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946	Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law	NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)	Open Society Justice Initiative
Civil Rights and Social Justice	Pentagon Papers
Code of Federal Regulations	Religion and the Law
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present	Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Criminal Justice & Criminology	Session Laws Library
Democracy in America	Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Executive Privilege	State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Fastcase Premium	U.S. Code
Federal Register Library	U.S. Congressional Documents
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)	U.S. Congressional Serial Set
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions	U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America	U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
History of Capital Punishment	U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
History of International Law	U.S. Presidential Library
History of Supreme Court Nominations	U.S. Statutes at Large
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection	U.S. Supreme Court Library
Law Academy Project	U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Law Journal Library	Women and the Law (Peggy)
Law Library of Congress Reports	World Constitutions Illustrated
Legal Classics