Research Guides Home: History Help- Ozark Campus: Journals and Databases

Print Journals available in the Ozark Campus Library

Full-text eJournals

More titles available through Find It!

Magazines through Libby

History Databases

More available through A-Z Databases.

Accessible Archives - Collection This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives provides full text searchable databases of primary source material from 18th and 19th Century publications. Included are Colonial Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, African American Newspapers, Women's Magazines and Newspapers, and more.

Collection List

African American Newspapers
- The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)
- The Colored American (1837–1841)
- Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863)
- Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829)
- The National Era (1847–1860)
- The North Star (1847–1851)
- Provincial Freeman (1854–1857)
- Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
- The Freedmen’s Record (1865-1874)
- The Negro Business League Herald (1909)
America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers
America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers, Part II
American County Histories
- Central
- Mid-Atlantic – Parts 1 and 2
- Midwest
- New England – Parts 1 and 2
- The Southeast
- The Southwest
- The West
- Complete County List by State
The Civil War
- Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
- Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective
- Part III: The Generals’ Perspective
- Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective
- Part V: Iowa’s Perspective
- Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories
- Part VII: Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books
Frank Leslie’s Weekly
Godey’s Lady’s Book
The Liberator
History of Woman Suffrage
National Anti-Slavery Standard
The Pennsylvania Gazette
The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County
Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
South Carolina Newspapers
Twelve Years A Slave
The Virginia Gazette
Women’s Suffrage Collection
- The Lily. 1849-1856
- National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
- The Revolution. 1868-1872
- The New Citizen. 1909-1912
- The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
- The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
African American Heritage This link opens in a new window
A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
Collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath.
American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources collection chronicling the prevailing social, religious, political, and benevolent movements between 1815-1884.

Gale in Context: College: History

HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
ProQuest Research Library: History This link opens in a new window
This resource covers publications on history for researchers of all levels. Subject coverage: civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, US history, and world history.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.