It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find books of different kinds in Find It by searching for author, title of work, or other keywords. Because books tend to be broader in scope, try searching for more basic information before narrowing by facets.
Availability: Limit to "Available in the Library" for physical books on the shelf which have not been checked-out. Note: This will exclude ebooks.
Resource Type: Select "Books".
Subject: These terms will limit results to articles ABOUT the selected subject or in the GENRE of the subject. Find subject terms like "Literary Criticism" as well as terms such as the author's name or the title of the work.
Author/Creator: Exclude workswrittenby the author by clicking the 'Exclude' box after the author's name.
PRO-TIP: Use The Index
Scholarly books tend to be broadly focused on either an author or some aspect of an author's works or life. To jump into the section of a book discussing a specific work, concept, person, or place, use the index at the back of the book to quickly navigate to the correct section. Each index contains an alphabetized list of terms, titles, and names with page numbers referencing where in the book that topic, name, or term can be found. Save time--use the Index!"Index" by Ben Weiner is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0
Search Everything with Find it...
Finding books the library owns is simple with Find It. Enter keywords, author names, and titles of works.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities. [American Council of Learned Societies] ACLS Humanities E-Book Help Page
Fields currently covered include Area and Historical Studies in the following: African, American, Asian, Australasian/Oceanian, Byzantine, Canadian, Caribbean, Central European, Comparative/World, Eastern European/Russian, Economic, Environmental, European, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Middle East, Native Peoples of the Americas, Science/Technology, Women’s Studies. HEB also encompasses the fields of Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Musicology, Performance Studies (theater, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs. [EBSCO] EBSCOhost Platform Help Page
Ebook Central provides full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage information.
Subject area(s): History, The Arts, Social Sciences, Literature & Language, Health & Medicine, Business, Science & Technology. [ProQuest] Ebook Central Help Page
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Locating Books In the Library
If you have narrowed your search to books "Available in the Library", you are searching physical books in our collections. Here is what one result might look like:
By clicking the title, you can see more information about the book, including an area detailing loan policy, type of material, and a map where the collection is located in the building:
Use the call number to find the book on the shelf and bring it to the Circulation Desk on the 1st Floor to check it out. See information about borrowing privileges on our website. Be sure to ask a librarian if you have trouble finding your book.