Skip to main content

Database Help: Home

Database Help

You can use this LibGuide to find videos, PowerPoint, and other medium to help you navigate your way in the databases and learn all of the features available.

Many of our databases use the same platforms.  If you do not see the database you are looking for, use Ctrl + F to find the platform your database uses.

 

Academic World Book

     Academic World Book

Academic World Book is a comprehensive reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. 

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives Inc.     Accessible Archives

 

Developed by dedicated instructors and students of American history, Accessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books in a user-friendly online environment.

Databases: African American Newspapers [collection] / American County Histories [collection] / The Charleston Mercury / The Christian Recorder / The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective [collection] / The Civil War Part II. The Soldiers' Perspective [collection] / The Civil War Part III. The Generals' Perspective [collection] / The Civil War Part IV. A Midwestern Perspective [collection] / The Civil War Part V. Iowa's perspective [collection] / The Civil War Part VI. Northeast Regimental Histories [collection] / The Civil War Part VII. Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books [collection] / The Colored American / Frederick Douglass Paper / Douglass Monthly / Freedom's Journal / Frank Leslie's Weekly / Godey's Lady's Book / History of Woman Suffrage / The Liberator / The Lily / The National Era / National Citizen and Ballot Box / National Anti-Slavery Standard / News of the Day / The New York Herald / The North Star / Old Post Union / The Pennsylvania Gazette / The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog [collection] / Pennsylvania Newspaper Record [collection] / The Pennsylvania Packet / Provincial Freeman / The Revolution /
Richmond Enquirer / Scenes from the Life of Harriet Tubman / The South Carolina Gazette / The Gazette of the State of South Carolina / The South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal / The South Carolina and American General Gazette / The Stars and Stripes and Old Post Union / Twelve Years a Slave / Vincennes Courant / Vincennes Weekly Courant and Patriot / Vincennes Gazette / Vincennes Weekly Gazette / Weekly Vincennes Gazette / Vincennes Times / The Virginia Gazette / Weekly Advocate

Accounting Research Manager

CCH, a Wolters Kluwer business     Accounting Research Manager

CCH's Accounting Research Manager® is the most timely and comprehensive online database of expert-written analytical accounting, auditing, governmental, internal controls and SEC information as well as primary source data. Updated daily, it provides current, complete and objective resource for your financial reporting needs. RUSSELLVILLE CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY

ACLS Humanities E-Book

     ACLS Humanities E-Book

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies and include many prize-winning works. Users may also access online book reviews from leading journals.

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)

     ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)

ACS Publications publishes 50 journals for the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.

African American Heritage

     African American Heritage

A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

Image result for logo readex    American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this collection of the American Antiquarian Society offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.

American National Biography

    American National Biography

Biographical information for more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography

        American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  

The stories of American slaves as told by the former slaves themselves. 

Accounting Research Manager

CCH, a Wolters Kluwer business     Accounting Research Manager

CCH's Accounting Research Manager® is the most timely and comprehensive online database of expert-written analytical accounting, auditing, governmental, internal controls and SEC information as well as primary source data. Updated daily, it provides current, complete and objective resource for your financial reporting needs. RUSSELLVILLE CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY

Artemis Literary Sources

       Artemis Literary Sources

Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Arkansas Tech has access to:
• Contemporary Authors Online - Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors Online and Contemporary Authors Online New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors Online allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
• Literature Resource Center – LRC - Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Cabell's Business Directory

       Cabell's Business Directory

Allows researchers to search for journals that they can submit their work to for publication. Gives contact information, manuscript specifications, and information on the review process. RUSSELLVILLE CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY

CLCD-Children's Literature Comprehensive Database Company

     CLCD-Children's Literature Comprehensive Database Company

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database provides reliable one search access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 books and media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12. Their goal is to connect subscribers with information about books, authors and illustrators around the world, and to connect children and young adults with the books that will make a significant difference in their lives.

CultureGrams

        CultureGrams

CultureGrams contains up-to-date reports detailing daily life and culture, history, customs and lifestyle from an insider's perspective.

 

Digital Sanborn® Maps, 1867-1970: Arkansas

     Digital Sanborn® Maps, 1867-1970: Arkansas

Property and land-use maps of everyday life from 1867-1970. The library has access to the ARKANSAS maps only.

Early World of Learning

      Early World of Learning

Produced with advice from experts in early childhood development and education, Early World of Learning is an online resource for young children, offering three interactive learning environments designed for easy integration into classroom and library programming: Trek’s Travels, Welcome to Reading, and Know It.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

      eBook Collection

EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation. eBooks available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines

ebrary

      ebrary

ProQuest provides libraries with scholarly ebooks from leading publishers on a modern, user-friendly platform designed for ebooks.

EBSCOhost

         EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching. With links from the full record display to related articles by subject, magazine issue or author, users can further explore their topic. In addition, EBSCOhost allows patrons to print, email or download multiple articles.

Databases: Academic Search Complete / AHFS Consumer Medication Information / America: History & Life with Full Text / American Civil War, 1855-1868 / American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955 / American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884 / Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) / Business Source Complete / CINAHL Complete / Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877 / Communication Source / Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost) / Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 / eBook Academic Collection / eBook Business Collection / eBook Clinical Collection / eBook Collection / eBook Education Collection / Education Source / Engineering Source / European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 / Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide / Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia / GreenFile / Health Source: Consumer Edition / Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition / Historical Abstracts with Full Text / Hospitality & Tourism Index / Legal Collection / Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts / MAS Ultra - School Edition / MasterFILE Premier / MEDLINE / Middle Search Plus / MLA Directory of Periodicals / MLA International Bibliography / Music Index / Newspaper Source / Philosopher's Index / Primary Search / Professional Development Collection / PsycARTICLES / PsycINFO / Regional Business News / Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 / SPORTDiscus with Full Text / Teacher Reference Center / TOPICsearch / Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

eLibrary

        eLibrary

eLibrary—the user-friendly general reference tool—delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support every range of user, including elementary students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can even search for resources that correlate to state and national standards.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book Spanish-language Encyclopedia)

     Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book Spanish-language Encyclopedia)     

A colorful, fun reference site for Spanish-language beginners. There are thousands of easy-to read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities designed to build key language and research skills.

ERIC Documents

     ERIC Documents

Government site containing ERIC education literature.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

     Gale Virtual Reference Library

Reference e-books covering many subjects.

Health & Wellness Resource Center

     Health & Wellness Resource Center

Integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.

HeritageQuest Online

        HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online provides genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s.

History Study Center

      History Study Center

History Study Center offers valuable historical reference material that spans from ancient times through today's current events. It houses more than 40,000 documents that showcase significant historical events

JSTOR

     JSTOR

Articles from journals in JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, I, III, IV, and Life Sciences collections.

Kanopy

     Kanopy

Streaming video on a variety of subjects.

LearningExpress

     LearningExpress

LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.

 

LexisNexis Academic

      LexisNexis Academic

Access to national and regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. 

Literature Online (LION)

         Literature Online

Literature Online is the premier online resource for literary research today. Primary texts, criticism, and reference works are made available in a tailored research environment to provide a one-stop resource for the study and teaching of English literature.

Literature Resource Center

     Literature Resource Center

Comprehensive online literature database which includes biographical information about authors as well as literary criticism on author's works.

Naxos Music Library

        Naxos Music Library

Classical, folk and jazz streaming audio.

NoveList K-8

      NoveList K-8

Reviews of books for elementary and middle school students. 

Nursing Reference Center Plus

      Nursing Reference Center Plus

Nursing Reference Center Plus™  is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. With Nursing Reference Center Plus™, you get all the content in Nursing Reference Center and much more including videos, images and new topics covering nursing management and leadership.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

     Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Online resource covering today’s social issues. Provides pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistics, articles, and images.

Ovid

     Ovid

Medical information for nursing students

Oxford English Dictionary

        Oxford English Dictionary

Information on the meaning and history of words. 

Oxford Music Online

         Oxford Music Online

Access and cross-search multiple music reference resources.

PBS Video Collection

     PBS Video Collection

Streaming videos of PBS shows and documentaries. 

The PBS Video Collection is on the Alexander Street Platform. 

PressReader

         PressReader

Digital newspapers and magazines from countries around the world. (The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is included.)

Project Muse

        Project Muse

Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, education, philosophy, political science, and more. Updated continually. 

Pronunciator

     Pronunciator

Pronunciator provides both guided and self‐directed instruction for 80 foreign languages, and ESL for 50 non‐English languages, along with a Course Designer which allows for the creation and deployment of custom courses by educators.

ProQuest

         ProQuest

ProQuest databases provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks. Renowned abstracting and indexing makes this information easily navigable, while content tools, including instant bibliography and citation generators, simplify management and sharing of research.

Databases: ABI/INFORM Collection / Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection / Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database / African Newsstream / AGRICOLA / Agricultural & Environmental Science Database / Aqualine / Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources / Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources / Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality / Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 4: Aquaculture Abstracts / Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 5: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts / Arts & Humanities Database / Asian & European Business Collection / Asian Newsstream / Australia & New Zealand Database / Australia & New Zealand Newsstream / Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) / Biological Science Database / Biology Database / Biotechnology Research Abstracts / Business Market Research Collection / Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database / Canadian Newsstream / Career & Technical Education Database / Computing Database / Continental Europe Database / COS Conference Papers Index / Criminal Justice Database / Dissertations & Theses @ Arkansas Tech University / Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database / East & South Asia Database / East Europe, Central Europe Database / Ecology Abstracts / Education Database‎ / Entrepreneurship Database / Environment Abstracts / Environmental Engineering Abstracts / Environmental Impact Statements: Digests / Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text / ERIC / Ethnic NewsWatch / European Newsstream / Family Health Database / Health & Medical Collection / Health & Safety Science Abstracts / Health Management Database / India Database / Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) / Latin America & Iberian Database / Latin American Newsstream / Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) / Library Science Database / Linguistics Database / Materials Science & Engineering Database / Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts / Medical Database / MEDLINE / Middle East & Africa Database / Middle East Newsstream / Military Database / Nursing & Allied Health Database / Oceanic Abstracts / Physical Education Index / Political Science Database / Pollution Abstracts / ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection / ProQuest Aquatic Science Journals / ProQuest Central / ProQuest Environmental Science Journals / Psychology Database / Public Health Database / Religion Database / Risk Abstracts / Science Database / Social Science Database / Sociology Database / Sustainability Science Abstracts / Telecommunications Database / Toxicology Abstracts / TOXLINE / Turkey Database / UK & Ireland Database / US Newsstream / Water Resources Abstracts

ProQuest Learning: Literature

          ProQuest Learning: Literature

ProQuest® Learning: Literature provides more than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world. This unique resource also offers secondary sources such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticisms, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.

RefWorks

         RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

RefWorks [New Platform]

         RefWorks [New Platform]

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Rehabilitation Reference Center

       Rehabilitation Reference Center

Rehabilitation Reference Center™ (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides physical therapists, occupational therapists andrehabilitation students with the best available evidence for their information needs

Research Companion

      Research Companion

Developed to help students do more effective research and assist educators in teaching the basics for information literacy core principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.

SIRS Issues Researcher

      SIRS Issues Researcher

Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. 

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

    Slavery in America and the World:  History, Culture & Law

 

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Statista

       Statista

Broad range of statistical reports, including Industry Reports. 

Web of Science

       Web of Science

Research platform to access information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. World's leading citation database.

World Book Advanced

     World Book Advanced

A powerful reference tool designed for high school students and adults that includes an encyclopedia, multimedia, ebooks and primary sources. 

World Book Discover

      World Book Discover

World Book Discover offers engaging reference resources for students reading below grade level because of language or learning difficulties, with content and tools specifically developed for these students.      

World Book Kids

      World Book Kids

This is a reference website developed especially for young students. It features an intuitive user interface, thousands of easy-to-read articles packed with stunning illustrations, videos, interactive maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities.

World Book Student

      World Book Student 

Database designed for students in elementary and middle school. The resource has special features like Behind the Headlines (which uses today’s top new stories and puts them into context for kids), Biography Center (featuring more than 10,000 biographies of important figures), and a built-in Dictionary and Atlas. All of the information you find in The World Book Encyclopedia is available within this database

World Book Timelines

     World Book Timelines

425+ unique timelines plus functionality which allows users to create, customize, collaborate, and share their timelines, with more than 12,000 events built directly into the product. Timelines includes synopsized historical notes and a wealth of engaging images and videos to craft stunning presentations. Great for visual learners.

World eBook

     World eBook 

For patrons in K-12, World Book eBooks is a premier collection of highly illustrated, engaging titles that supports a span of curriculum areas and reading levels. Also included is World Book Classics, spanning drama, literature, poetry, and more.