Research Guides Home: Human Resources: Home

Getting started with resources in Human Resources

This guide will help introduce Business students to basic resources in the library for Human Resources and related fields. The resources below fulfill some of the most common research needs like, "How do I find an article?" or "How do I find out information about laws, journals, books, and other resources in the field?"

ABI/INFORM Collection (now part of ProQuest One Business) This link opens in a new window
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
Databases provided by the Arkansas State Library [ASL] Traveler project are funded by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (Grant LS-00-14-0004-14) and the Arkansas Department of Education.
Collection includes:
ABI/INFORM Dateline
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Collection of bibliographic and full text business journals back as far as 1886.

The Essential HR Handbook, 10th Anniversary Edition by Sharon Armstrong; Barbara Mitchell
Call Number: 658.3 A767e, 2019
ISBN: 9781632651396
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management by Michael Armstrong
Call Number: ONLINE and PRINT: 658.301 A767a, 2016
ISBN: 9780749476823
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The SHRM Essential Guide to Employment Law by Charles H. Fleischer
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781586444709
Publication Date: 2018

Associations

Use these links below to connect to professional and non-profit organizations, learn how to join, or browse their resources pages for more news, research, and statistics.

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
Includes a wealth of information and resources on SHRM certification, issues of HR Today, news, surveys, trend, employment law, toolkits, and more.
Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI)
EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits.
Academy of Management
Includes resources for members, as well as a videos, teaching and learning resources, and The Ethicist Blog.
HR Policy Association
This organization's members include top HR executives. Read its Policy Briefs on HR topics.
Arkansas SHRM State Council
The Council provides leadership, communication, and supports thousands of human resource professionals who are either members of a SHRM chapter or at-large SHRM members in Arkansas.
Arkansas SHRM State Council
The Arkansas SHRM State Council is the communication link between members, chapters, and the SHRM organization. The Council provides leadership, communication, and supports thousands of human resource professionals who are either members of a SHRM chapter or at-large SHRM members in Arkansas. The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) has more than 300,000 members and is the global voice for the human resources profession.
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP)
Organization for the science and practice of industrial and organizational psychology.
Includes membership information as well as a variety of news resources, white papers, webinars, a podcast, and more.
World at Work
A non-profit organization focused on "Total Rewards" framework for motivating, attracting, and retaining employees through different methods of compensation.

What's in the News?

What's making headlines in Human Resource Management? Check out these news stories for ideas and research topics to explore further.

Human Resources

Subject Liaison

Topics, Subjects, Keywords

Getting started with resources in Human Resources

Associations

What's in the News?