Business Market Research Collection contains industry reports from two main sources: Snapshot Series Industry Reports and Barnes Reports. The Snapshot Series offers mostly historical market reports from 2001-2008, on industries from around the world. Each report includes market segmentation, market share, forecasts, and socio-economic data for the specific country. Barnes reports (U.S. Industry & Market Reports and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports) include more recent data (2014-present) on industry ratios, establishments, employees, and and sales broken down by country or state and municipality.
To find an industry report here, search by keyword. For best results, do not search by NAICS code. [Barnes reports are NOT searchable by NAICs code at this time.]
Narrow results on the left menu by going to DOCUMENT TYPE and choosing "Industry Report"
Narrow results further to specific types of industry report using PUBLICATION TITLE
You also have all of the other options of sorting by publication date or limiting by date range, title, and more.
Use databases such as ABI/INFORM, Business Market Research Collection, and Mergent Online to find industry information.
ABI/INFORM Complete contains thousands of Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry reports and First Research reports. BMI reports are country-focused industry reports with SWOT analysis, market trends, forecasts and competitve data for each industry. First Research provides industry reports focused on the U.S. with data on products, operations, technology, competition, indicators, finance, regulation & news.
To find these industry reports, start by opening the database ABI/INFORM Complete. [Off-campus users may have to login using their Tech username and password].
Select "Data & Reports" to limit results to just reports.
Search for a country and industry name or keyword. Group terms together with parentheses. Select only "Industry reports" below the search box.
You can also browse reports from the homepage.
You can browse each BMI report by subject, title, or location. You can only browse First Research reports by industry.
Mergent Online contains industry reports for 29 major industries.
To view an industry report, open Mergent and click: "Industry Analysis" tab.
Search for a company or click on one of reports in the list of major industries. You can also limit to reports within a particular region.
Download full report as a PDF or view just sections of the report.
