Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resources: Home

Follow

Suggested Syllabus Text

Do you want to help advertise the library's services to students?  Here is a suggested paragraph you can copy and paste into your syllabus to help inform students about the free resources they have available from Ross Pendergraft Library:

The Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center, located on the north edge of campus and just across from the Hindsman Tower, offers a wide range of services and collections freely to students.  Some of these services include:

  • One-on-one research and citation help
  • Audio and video production labs
  • Reservable study rooms
  • General access computers with printers, scanners, and office supplies
  • Check-out of materials such as laptops, webcams, calculators, headphones, most required textbooks for general education classes, books, DVDs, boardgames, and more.

Any books, articles, or other materials not available at the library can be requested through interlibrary loan at no charge.  The library’s website also offers research guides and databases for all subjects, and access to peer-reviewed articles, streaming video, ebooks, and other online research materials.  For more information, including hours, go to http://library.atu.edu/.  You can also contact the library via email, text, chat, phone, and search FAQs by going to: https://libguides.atu.edu/research/help/askus

Syllabus Text (Online Courses)

If you are teaching online courses for students who may not be on campus, we have adapted the text specifically for those students:

The Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center, located online at https://library.atu.edu, offers a wide range of services and collections freely to online students.  Some of these services include:

Any books, articles, or other materials not available through our library’s website can be requested through interlibrary loan at no charge.  We can even mail physical books needed for from our library to your home.  For more information, including hours, go to http://library.atu.edu/.  You can also contact the library via email, text, chat, phone, and search FAQs by going to: https://libguides.atu.edu/research/help/askus

Chronicle of Higher Education

 

Loading ...

Course Reserves

Students face barriers to success when they cannot afford or access required textbooks.  The library is able to place faculty copies of textbooks, DVDs, or course materials on reserve at the circulation desk.  You can specify how long the students can check out materials--2 hours is the usual limit.  We can also reserve materials within the library's collections.

To get started, fill out the FACULTY REQUEST Form on our homepage: http://libguides.atu.edu/services/faculty/reserverequest

Image text: Course Reserves (Faculty Request) with arrow pointing to the terms Faculty Request which will lead to a form

Remember, the library also strives to include a copy of every required textbook for all general education courses on reserve.  If you have copies of textbooks to donate or place on temporary reserve, please bring them by the library before classes begin

A-Z Directories

Using A-Z Databases - Choose from several options for finding a specific database by name. See examples.

Using A-Z e-journals - Type in the name of a journal or a word that is in part of the title to search for journals that are available electronically. See screenshot. 

Next...     Choose the title you desire to see and click on it. See screenshot

Then...    Choose which database to view the journal in. You can see if there the coverage of the journal in each. See screenshot. 

Journals & Databases

Most electronic content that the library subscribes to is discoverable by using our find it... search. The library subscribes to over 300 different databases.

Our Research Guides (LibGuides) feature databases and journal titles that are most relevant to specific subjects or courses. Ask your Subject Liaison Librarian how you can have a customized guide for your course. 

Quick Handout for Faculty

Need a quick handout for new faculty or returning faculty on everything the library has to offer them?  Feel free to download these PDFs: